The plural of "Gear" is NOT "Gears"

There's always a place for good English, as what our Prime Minister was trying to stress sometime ago. However for the sake of this forum (which encompasses people from different countries in the region, whose first language may not be English), I think we can relax a little. As what many pointed out - as long as the message is communicated, then the purpose is served.

Well, I'm glad that our common language here is music, even though it is open to different interpretations (not unlike English).

if thats the case should'nt we "guide" them?

so at the same time they can improve on their language (tho it may not be their main language)?

having said that, being too gramatically correct tends to make the forum a lil too "formal"..

now im confused.:confused:

jeepers

Im with you , i hate those singaporeans who try to speak english with an accent , i mean if u close ur eyes and cant tell its a singaporean its ok but most of them , once you hear one word you can tell its a singaporean already. eg i was watching president star charity and Hady Mirza ( dont know if i spelt correct ) was trying to slang , i wanna slap him..

den why are we even thought grammar in school??

i can speak in any fashion as long as it doesnt offend,yes?

as long as the idea is put across and is understood..it serves the purpose,yes?

i have nothing to say to that kinda mentality.if this goes on, we'll prolly be the little red "laughing stock" dot.

*shrugs*

deathism:-

We are taught English in school because English is an International Language

and yes you can speak English in any way here in this Forum as long as it does not offend others as long as it is put across so people can understand what you are trying to communicate (in a written manner) - as in this case (with intention as you wrote)...Hahaha

Just in case you are unaware - when a person do their basic qualification here in Singapore (as in Primary, Secondary, Pre-U) your written English & Grammer everything is important - When you do a Degree or MBA or even a Phd - Do you think the Examiner is looking at all these - - - NO ! of course when a person is at that particular level, there is already required minimum command of English as in written required from them (but not 100% Perfect English)...and Examiners have no time to look at all the (Pural kinda things, commas whatever if it's a 40,000 Words Dissertaion Project )...it is the Content that really matters....just for your info...anyway there is such a thing call Spell-Check in Words that they assume you've done it.

Anyway back to where we are -

When we say - - what is brought up here is a small & trivial matter - it is. First of all because we are the Moderators and we do have every reasons as to why is it so.

If everyone here were to be like you - pin-pointing on other forumer's mistake as in their Written English - What will become of Soft? Bashing and arguing over "ENGLISH" instead of sharing Music here. This is not what we want. (and furthermore this is not an English Teaching Forum get that clear) ...

So, try to be more understanding, more accepting over other people grammer mistakes, don't be so petty....that's is the kind of mentality you should have and adapt to this.

No one forum in this World has a stated-condition that all it's Forumers must be using Perfect English when communicating within their forum (even among the Westeners) - - - - Because it is not possible.

Live with it and move on.

hahaha! Nicholasim, totally man! but i try really hard not to watch local tv nowadays lol. maybe i'm more concerned abt the standard of english here in singapore cos i was brought up in a family with a pretty strong english background. my parents didnt really emphasise on chinese.

in western countries right, just take US for example, even the beggars on the streets can speak way better english than us!

that's why i say, native english speakers should be hired to teach english here in singapore! and starting from the primary school level. but it's all good, at least majority of singaporeans now can speak decent, understandable english!

no no no no no! deathism i think you misunderstood RudimentalDrummer there. he said

Anyway back to where we are -

meaning, back to the thread topic.

i'm pretty sure the threadstarter meant this thread to be an intellectual debate, not a heated squabble. we're all entitled to our own comments. this is neither the time nor place to establish personal vendettas. we're all here to have fun, chitter chatter about gear and find absolute bargains in the buy/sell section. HEH!

So, try to be more understanding, more accepting over other people grammer mistakes, don't be so petty....that's is the kind of mentality you should have and adapt to this.

I'm sure if it was a post or two, it'd be acceptable, but that isn't the case. I'm not expecting the standard to improve overnight but surely it has to improve. HC can sometimes be more enjoyable to browse even though they drift away from the topic most of the time.

post thread tis days need to write properry meh?
like some kind of test or exams conducted by james or sumtink?

tis isnt school la bros... even at work, some teachers i spoke to are like super broken. my 4 yrs old niece speaks beta.

i can kip on writting: stuffs, gears, peoples, 1 things..
if the msg is reached and understood, wats the prob then?

english on SOFT is just like music. if the other person enjoy listening to it, then it is fine. if most people have problem understanding you, then you need to improve on it .

Wow.
Come on, you are on a sg forum.
Singaporeans like to speak bad english even if they can speak good english. They treat it as a form of humor, or a formality so people who aren't so good in english can understand.

But personally, I dislike it as well, but what can you do?

Yes, see, it's a good habit to speak and write, or type in this case, good proper english. Don't forget to capitalise the first letter of your first word at the start of a new sentence!

It's it's, not its; capitalise, not capitalize; your, not ur; and ";", not ",". Okay okay, just practising some good habits here. Its really hard!

chuan sei kai wu si buay chuay kuaen eh lang, wu eh lang, angmo sibey ho, tan si, yi lang ka ki eh dialect tio machiam tio piek ka jia lat jialat, jit teh jit teh. Cho lang wu si ah gak ah gak tio ho liao. Li kong ji tua tu, wa tiah wu tum pok, tio sibey ho liao. Kong ka lai, wu si uhm si kong machiam li kong chuea, lim peh tio liao ka. Wu eh lang eh sai ka li kong, kong ka tuas kao pasir ris, mah tiah boh kui ku. Woah lann dey, sibey jialat ah, limpeh ka li kong. sia dee hor, tio machiam kong wei, wu s boh s, ko leng si boh simi tua eh tai chi. Siong tong yao, tio si li, ai zai yieah wa, ka li kong simi ka li, ai ming, wa eh yee si.

eh ming boh? Buay ah, buay hio kin, cho lang ah machiam chen lei chiu eh gua ah ni kuaen, hua hee tio ho.

li hua hee, wa hua hee, long chong eh lang mah hua hee

wu s boh s, tio kua li liao