angmo sibey ho,
english very goot

tan si,
but

yi lang ka ki eh dialect tio machiam tio piek ka jia lat jialat,
their own dialect kena forced until terrible

jit teh jit teh.
one piece one piece

Cho lang wu si ah gak ah gak tio ho liao.
Become a human, just moderate yourself

Li kong ji tua tu,
You talk so much

wa tiah wu tum pok,
I can understand a bit

tio sibey ho liao.
is very good already

Kong ka lai,
All in all

wu si uhm si kong machiam li kong chuea,
sometimes its not that even you talk so much

lim peh tio liao ka.
father will understand.

Wu eh lang eh sai ka li kong,
Some people can tell you

kong ka tuas kao pasir ris,
tell from tuas to pasir ris

mah tiah boh kui ku.
also can understand only a bit.

Woah lann dey,
My dick

sibey jialat ah,
very terrible ah

limpeh ka li kong.
father tell you

sia dee hor, tio machiam kong wei,
"huh?" is like talking

wu s boh s,
got matter or not

ko leng si boh simi tua eh tai chi.
maybe nothing much

Siong tong yao, tio si li, ai zai yieah wa, ka li kong simi
Most important, is you, understand what i'm trying to say

ka li, ai ming, wa eh yee si.
And must understand what i mean

eh ming boh?
Understand?

Buay ah, buay hio kin,
Cannot, nevermind

cho lang ah machiam chen lei chiu eh gua ah ni kuaen, hua hee tio ho.
become human is like the song Thunder sing one, Happy Can Already

li hua hee, wa hua hee, long chong eh lang mah hua hee
You happy, I happy, everybody also happy.

wu s boh s, tio kua li liao
Got matter or not its up to you already.

my thoughts on gear and gears

"Gear" is the another words of equipment. Equipment already means tools or all the thing we use..I am agree with thread starter. yeah.. We can't use " stuffs ", it we must use " stuff " .

About the discussion on English in Singapore, I am not a native speaker but i am try to polish my English everyday and the accent as well. We, non native speakers can ignore the accent but we can not ignore the grammar. As every language has its own grammar which we can't ignore. Otherwise, it will mislead the other person or wrong interpretation or the communication will not success 100%. I know English, Burmese, Chinese and i noticed that our languages doesn't have specific verbs for past, future and current. We use another words to show that we are going to do or we already did or we are doing now. In English is different as everyone know and we should care about that.

A lot of locals doesn't care about grammar, i guess. I am also the same at the first place but now i am not. A lot of my country man come and they also use "Singalish" which i do not like. I do not care about the older generation. But young generation need to improve their English in all skills. Yes, in this case, parent should have improve their English to improve their children. I just heard a thing in this evening while the kid told her parent with the wrong grammar usage and they did not care. Again, i told my friend to improve his English. He replied to me that he doesn't has any problem in his office. So what more i can say . I noticed that a lot of locals can write quite good but when they speak is different. What i think is that people don't want to change because they can communicate with the wrong grammar. Again I always hear a lot of " also, can, already, actually " in Singapore.

just my thoughts

Hahahah Edders rock!

I founds it amusings that got peoples here who tried to correct but themselfs also use wrong spellingums.

ok ok, as long as we are all working towards the better, it is all good. Let's give fellow SOFTies a pat on their post for making SOFT a funny place.

* pls edit your post if you purposely made those spelling/grammar mistakes

I is not very the free these days to posts in here.

But I is quite the agreeing with some the stuffs my bludders have say here... But I never studies much before so some parts I is cannot know. Neh mind.

All I is asking is anyone want to eat some cow with me or notch?

I is not very the free these days to posts in here.

But I is quite the agreeing with some the stuffs my bludders have say here... But I never studies much before so some parts I is cannot know. Neh mind.

All I is asking is anyone want to eat some cow with me or notch?

Must make it sound natural la!!:lol:

Actually.

If I understand correctly, the definition of "guitar gear" would be similar to the usage for machinery or clothing.

Which I would paraphrase closely as "a collection of guitar parts/equipment".

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/gear

So
Gear = "a collection of guitar parts/equipment".
Gears = (More than one) "Collections of guitar parts/equipment".

Which would mean that using "Gear" or "Gears" is both correct as long as you actually mean what you want to say.

In other related news, the President of the United States/his scriptwriter uses the term "childrens". Go figure. :rolleyes:

wow, this thread really quietened down.... thanks for your research thor, i never knew those things......

i just saw some channel u ad on central, JJ Lin's english beats channel u, he said something along the lines of "uncovering hidden talent" and at the bottom of the screen there was some sort of subtitle shit (what an insult) that read "uncovering hidden TALENTS"

well when you say "hidden talent" you're referring to the collective talent of the people, when you say "hidden talents" you're refering to each individual person :)

I love this thread!

I feel that language is very subjective and intuitive, like music, there's no right or wrong grammar, just like there's no right or wrong chords, it's only wrong when it's not what the communicator wants to express.

Example, I used to get irritated when people say "irregardless", but now i'm hearing it so often that it seems quite natural, and sometimes I even say it out myself.

Language is like the agreement between human beings to use certain symbols and sounds to represent certain concepts, so that we can understand each other. If, across the world, we all agree to change "I was here" to "I were here", and use it often enough, someone will update the dictionary to include both versions as the "correct" one.

Example: American and British English, probably the Americans are the wrong ones seeing as English originated from England, but they have such power and influence that they have the clout to force the world to accept their version as well.

FYI, anyone know how the "F" word came about?

In the past, court scribes used to write in short for crimes and court proceedings, and in sexual assult cases, they'll write:

CHARGED: For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge

Which got shortened to it's initials, which later became the world's most versatile word that's reflected in dictionaries as a noun, verb, adjective, prepositions, etc.

So you see, language is as fluid and changable as music...

when i'm online at home chilling out in forums, i don't care about proper grammar, spelling, etc... as long as people understand me and i understand other, that's what it matters.

i'm too lazy to go through a spell check and grammar check and too lazy to press that backspace button to do corrections, as long as i can be understood, i don't care how i say it.

and i'm not in grammar school nor interested to go through one, so i don't bother...

jaycomposer:

that story seems nice and plausible, but the F word has been around long before that. English is a bastardized language that steals from the various anglo-saxon languages around it such as German ficken (to copulate), Dutch fokken (to thrust, copulate, or to breed), dialectical Norwegian fukka (to copulate), and dialectical Swedish focka (to strike, copulate) and fock (penis).

I challenge you to find a case where the acronym is used ;)