MDC? music and dance company

soft said:
... keep your focus in music and take every oppountity to indulge in it.

Very true. If you really love music, then you'll want to spend as much time with it as possible... and where better for a first taste than MDC? MDC was sheer indulgence for me.

Oh yeah, point to note... MDC did show me that being a full time musician isn't as rosy as it seems. Many things behind the jamming and playing...

unsane said:
RockEagle said:
all those assumptions about MDC are ridiculous.
All these rumours that most of the people are homosexual, physically unfit are nothing but rumours without solid proof.
First and foremost, yes, there are gay people in MDC HOWEVER, this is a very small minority and we're like talking about less then 5 people out like 60?

i asked a friend currently in MDC whether this was true. his reply? bullshit, at least 20-30,and thats just those out in the open about it.

disproved.

RockEagle is in MDC no? :)

Anyway, 20 - 30 would mean that all the artistes are gay, and some of those in the Male Vocal Ensemble, Combo Band and Chinese Orchestra are gay too, to make up the number.

ShredCow said:
madmonkeykungfu said:
get ready for the denials. 8)

haha... deny it? If what unsane's friend says its true, so be it. In my case, I joined to play music, who cares about the other people there?

Oh point to note... Unsane, is it gay gay, or gay as in gentle? :D

flaming homosexual. just to clarify,neither my friend or I are homophobic in any way.
i'm sure its a great place to play music if you're so inclined but personally, i just wouldnt feel comfortable spending 2 years in an enviroment like that..

unsane said:
...i'm sure its a great place to play music if you're so inclined but personally, i just wouldnt feel comfortable spending 2 years in an enviroment like that..

Well, they don't disturb you ... and they know better than to try anything funny. I seriously doubt your friend's approximation (exaggeration more like) but it didn't matter to me when I joined. They don't try to court you. Or anyone else for that matter.

MDC must know jazz?

Shredcow... sorry just to ask, for MDC, it is a must to know Jazz music?
i dun know anything abt jazz music leh!!!

wad kind of sight reading they are looking for?

classical tao gays or chord chart?

thanks alot

i going to army soon , i also hope i can play everyday!!!

b4 or during BMT?

sorry, one more ques i forgot to ask

u stated to go during BMT... but i tot we cannot come out even on weekends when we are in bmt?

how to actualli apply for mdc during our bmt?

thanks a thousand, u have been very helpfull.

Shite man, if I could spend my NS days doing nothing but play music and perform, who cares if I'm surrounded by homosexuals. Beats all that other crap I went through in NS anytime!

I respect any and all MDC musicians. They have at least 2 years worth of experience ahead of me. Those that I had the pleasure of being acquainted with (yes you Daniel and Jon da bass masta) are highly skilled and very humble. Respect!

stillwater said:
it doesn't in any way make u a better musician than others who need to carry rifle out there.

Au contraire, Mr Stillwater, they have been practising more than us who have had to carry rifles so I would say that yes, they are probably better musicians.

stillwater said:
for nsf, all the ah kuas and weaklings are in there... i wouldn't feel proud and go bragging abt it if i'm from MDC, like some who enjoy doing tt here.

A word of fairness for Mr Stillwater. He's just making a broad generalisation which I'm sure is the image the MDC has in some people. C'mon, the roadshows that we NSFs have sat through featured mainly the dancers and the singers and some were obviously homosexual (there was also one transexual dancer during my time. highly entertaining in a disturbing way). Also I remember all the super kengsters during BMT flocking to the MDC auditions even though they can't do anything! Thus you can't really fault him for having that perception BUT dude, the way you voiced it was just wrong. I know you're not being personal but this IS a public forum after all.[/quote]

Re: MDC must know jazz?

kennchu said:
Shredcow... sorry just to ask, for MDC, it is a must to know Jazz music?
i dun know anything abt jazz music leh!!!

wad kind of sight reading they are looking for?

classical tao gays or chord chart?

thanks alot

i going to army soon , i also hope i can play everyday!!!

Yeap! MDC's combo band plays mostly jazz. :)

You don't need to know how to play jazz, like me, i walked in playing only my own stuff, which was not applicable to MDC, except when we played School schows with songs like I love Rock n Roll.

classical tao gays?

You need to be able to read both score and chord charts.

Re: b4 or during BMT?

kennchu said:
sorry, one more ques i forgot to ask

u stated to go during BMT... but i tot we cannot come out even on weekends when we are in bmt?

how to actualli apply for mdc during our bmt?

thanks a thousand, u have been very helpfull.

When you get to BMT, ask your Sargent or Officer.

AvonRellets said:
...Those that I had the pleasure of being acquainted with (yes you Daniel and Jon da bass masta) ...

You know Jon? :) How's he doing these days? I should have a chat with him... he and his basses. :D

MDC dance

Hi i would like to ask a few questions regarding the intake of MDC coz im interested and want to join the 'artiste' section.
Have 4 yrs of dance experience in jazz, hiphop, freestyle, oldschool, new school and have a list of portfolios for performing events/productions/competitions/shows but little or no relevant experience in singing and acting

1)When will the next audition be held?
2)If im PES A status and combat fit, is it still possible to apply given my current records of dance experience?
3)As im serving NS in a unit and i've already finished my BMT phase, is it possible to have an audition appointment/slot a.s.a.p? coz otherwise chances of me getting into MDC will be pretty much low ?
4) who is the best person i can seek for help regarding this matter through hotline or email?

Many thx, wld be appreciated if you guys could help me on this.

Hi. Does anyone knows when is mdc holding the next auditions. I'm interested in joining n I heard they're quite busy now n they won't be holding auditions for a while.
FYI: I'm auditioning for piano

dammit i called mdc for an interview for technician but they havent even called me back ever since....

the guy on the line took a while to respond when i told him i was already in a unit...

funny huh...

maybe they're only looking for those fresh out of bmt....

decent technique alone would get you in if you're pes C. but combat fit personell would have to have decent technique, able to sight read, stuff like that.

Hi guys, i'm currently serving as guitar player in MDC. We're very busy now, preparing for a trip to rockhampton. Here are some things that may be hard to swallow.

If you're already in a unit, it's very hard to get you posted in, but if you're good, we'll try, and if your Pes status is above pes C2L2 it's even harder.

If you can't sight read AT ALL, you shouldn't come for the band audition. However, if you're able to play accompaniment based on a lead sheet in many styles with good tempo and taste, that can sometimes be a substitute for sight reading in the audition. But make sure you tell us this during the audition.

We've developed a kind of technique in the auditions to be able to tell if you can pass within the first minute or so. Our instructions from our direct supervisor during our auditions detail that we should keep it short. For example, if the bass player cannot simply play straight quavers and plays with bad tone, it's very difficult to believe that he can play alot of other stuff.

Keep in mind we're looking for people who can play anything, death metal is not really one of our performing genres, a brief list of styles:

Rock
Pop
Swing
Bossa Nova
Latin Styles like Samba
Funk
(This includes accompaniment and soloing)

I know it may seem pretty tense when you guys come for auditions but please keep in mind we're NSFs like you, being paid 400 dollars but not being provided with meals like other NSFs, and we have to deal with nonsense like White Horses who fail their audition and still come in with bad attitude and make things ridiculous. It's hard for us to be cheerful, but at least we'll try to be fair.

If you want to come for auditions soon, there's one in December, i'm not sure which day yet, or if you want to audition for the band ASAP, you can sms me at 98311244 with your name and your details and your instrument.

Keep in mind that we currently urgently need:

Guitarist (I need an understudy pretty quick because i'm leaving in Feb)
Saxophonist (He also leaves in Feb)

If you can sing as well as fulfill the above requirements, it's a plus.

Keyboardists have a decent chance of coming in too.

Bassists and Drummers will be considered but it'll be harder because currently the need for them is not so great. MDC is supposedly privatized now but they still don't believe in bringing in people until they realise no one's left. We had a big gap in transition from the previous guitarist, saxophonist, and bassist.

So sms me at 98311244 if interested.

hey !

wah this kinda sucks man after being injured at sispec and downgraded while serving my nation now i'm also labelled as ah kua and weak for joining mdc

on a more serious note, if you guys are audioengineers/technicians or lighting technicians and designers you can apply for a post as technician in MDC

but warning , the hours suck sometimes and it can be tough work and all , we're probably the most "shiong" group behind the artiste who have to work out all day long.

James was also a former tech , and at the end of the day life is pretty good at MDC although we can be overworked etc etc deal with management. I've had the chance to meet some of the best musical talents in singapore and attended some of the coolest events + *best food for NSFs at hotels etc etc :)

I just got my understudy ! but we still have one more slot available free

tsk tsk , xiao an , don't sound so serious leh ....musicians have better lives than us lor :)

but it's true , don't waste ur time for the auditions if u can't sight read or don't have the chops or don' t have any working experience/qualifications to show for ( if u're applying for tech)

heheh