What do you guys think of Sg scene?

then we now have the influx of another wave of foreign talent musicians, the ang mo expat type. they hold expatriate jobs, live the expat life, play a little guitar, great network of other expats and are now ripping the gigs off from what little the local muso has.
yeah, its nice to walk into a pub and see an angmo playing the blues for you but does he have the right to be there?
he already has that well paid fat salaried job with the condo perks....now its our gig they want.....does 'mustang sally' sound different with a white dude singing it?

Honestly... Oftentimes the people who come to Singapore as musicians to gig and fall in love with Singapore, those are truly great players. They're people who are really good at music. I have yet to hear a bad music import, but that's just me.

But actually one of the biggest questions of the day right here in Singapore is: How exposed are we to good music? How much do we actually know about the music that is played around us and how do we gauge whether a person is brilliant or just plain marketing? Most people don't know the difference. Honestly, even here. What defines good? Chops? Groove? Feel? Skill?

Everyone should reflect on whether their music -should- make it big or not. I mean, honestly, listening to these Singaporean bands live, do they even come close to the international bands who come to Singapore? Sorry to the fans of MCR, FOB, etc bands, but they're not a good gauge. We must aim high and hit high before we can ask our own people to support us, before we complain that we're good and still, no one's listening to us.

So the question at the end of the day, for the Singaporean music scene, are we good enough?

people who do music for living or living the life in music do music coz they like. Talk to them if having the chance, i think most of them wont tell us whats good or bad, but just do it

more than often, its us the outsiders that talk about good and bad in music while living the life of 8 to 5

imho

sg scene cmi due to the comprehensive broadband internet infrastructure. as a result all the musicians visit online musician forums to trade gear and talk about how it could have been... and loving it

mwahahaha, those not musicians in locale scene. those are part of the internet warrior music clan. Iam part of it too.

Most of those who are really in the scene and rather known ones, dont even talk much on internet forums..ask them bout the forums happening, most prolly they wont bother and rather do something useful for thier music, their bands etc.

Hahaz. I do talk to them quite a bit.

My aim is to help the music scene here in Singapore anyway. Actually what was mentioned beforehand about funding the local music scene is what I plan to do.

a circle is the key to whole thang, like circle of fifth/fourth

as much as there can be good bands playing every weekend, every month or so with top equipment, top venue. No constant paying audiences will see death of everything.

the sudden burst of flourishing aint a good sign, its more of how to maintain over long period of time where audiences regularly pay to watch locale bands play that matters, imho

Problems -
1) Too many bands playing at free gigs
2) Too many free gigs for listeners
3) Adults are not targeted in most of these gigs - IOW gigs are mostly for teenagers
4) Need better musicianship. I can't count the number of times I hear bandmembers talking about their ipcoming album when they really should be working on more basic things. And they all seem to head to one studio, to one producer, both obviously overworked and I can't fathom how they fiind the time to produce so many albums. I want to add that whereever Lunarin did their recording, it was IMO, the best sounding guitars amongst all local recordings that I've heard, to date. Very ballsy and it shows that whoever the engineer was, he/she certainly knows their work. Instead of heading to some weeded place, I'd much rather head to this, 'alternative' studio.
5) Need better songwriting. Most bands either have one or at best, two good songs. That's it. Not enough!
6) Bands need to look out for producers to work with. Professionals and even great bands work with producers. Yet local bands seem to want to do it all on their own. And when they look for a producer, they inevitably find someone that 100 others have in mind, or worse yet, the producer is already producing 10 other bands - concurrently! DUH!
7) Bad taste runs too rampantly
8) SG musicians really have to stop thinking that they are God's gift to music. If they were, they would be playing in diapers or worse yet, in polo t-shirts, tucked out, like some 9-year old on their first day at little golf school! Get real people! If you can't appreciate the music you play then you should be doing something else or be playing another type of music. Mostly, people listen to a particular type of music or perhaps two or maybe even three genres. The music is oftentimes reflected in their lifestyle and if you can't appreciate these people, your audience, their lifestyle, then something is drastically amiss. So, if you appreciate your music, which your audience listens to and lives by, then bloody well show it. People want to see it as much as hear it. And when they see and hear, they experience something unique and special and it is incumbent upon local musicians to ensure that the experience is unique, lasting and bloody good.
9) Bands play for the sake of making friends rather than for the love of the music.
10) NS kills creativity and sucks out 2 valuable years
11) Foreign bands, the good ones of course only come here once in a ocuple of years, or maybe even once in a lifetime. Local bands actually have a distinct and true advantage over foreign bands when it comes to palying live music. you are here. Make it happen. DO sometihng positive. Don't prostitute yourself to death by playing free gigs for any two bit promoter that turns up at the door!

Possible Solutions??? -
1) Segment the island into North, South, East and West. This will create a sense of ownership amongst listeners and allow for a tighter fan following
2) Cut down on the number of free gigs. Start charging for gigs witihn 4-6 months or once a good lineup can be had. There is not a lot of difference between free gigs and payings in most of the gigs that abound. There are rare occasions but that's not sufficient. More prominent bands should refrain from playing at free gigs. Leave those type of gigs to newer bands. There are possibly a handful of bands that can demand a paying audience, and so be it. But a standard has to be set and adhered to. Organisers should look overseas for alternative gigs for these bands - more frequent overseas gigs will be good for experience and exposure and to actually preclude good bands from over-exposure locally, especially at free gigs.
3) Ship out bands, IOW stop having them in gigs, that do not meet a certain standard. Producers and gig organisers should start this ASAP.
4) If you can't appreciate that music, for the last 40 years+ has an important visual aspect then you should be a radio DJ. Dress up your part. Live with-in your music or you will never make it because it'll be crystal clear that you're just a wannabe. Nobody except your friends and hanger-ons will appreciate what you do.
5) Find ways to market local music to SG adults. They are the ones that need to be within the scope
6) GET MDC to setup a separate platoon to cater to local bands to help ease the NS nonsense that has killed or side-tracked possible innovators in the local industry.
7) Everyone has to ensure that the cream of the crop gets up there. To do this, EVERYONE should stop ass-kissing their friends or some they know or want to know and crap all over as to how good a certain band/musician is. Stuff like this just kills everything. Just think of the story of the boy that cried wolf.

------------

So much for the rant. I am hopeful that there are no hard feelings from my post. It is no doubt that being in a band is great - friends, chicks, music, etc etc etc. BUt let's face it and realise that even in USofA, no more than 1% of bands there make a great or even a decent living - if you count decent living as driving from town to town, day after day, then that's a different story; perhaps the percentage will be over 1%.

The chances of making it is really, truly slim, even at best, for the bests, here or anywhere else. The most important thing is to ensure that the best here have the best opportunity to make it outside of here. Strange, ironic, but so true. But first they have to be the best here.

Peace to all and continue making music but please do it from the heart, with lots of soul.

RoRK

i agree with some of it

bro rork, you rok and rok neber death!

Bro! ROCK never die! And RoRK neber diest. RoRK maybe just burnout! N den wat??? No moore fasen poris?

So how bro? You with me or you with the "golfer"? :-)

Tell you wat bro, RoRK got good lobang these days. She give me a suspended fore,, er I mean a suspended fourth. And then she show me an extended 6th, coupled with an abrasive 9th. Wahpiang! RoRK neber die bro!

Woah! Bro, RoRK fight back with an elongated 13th stretch and then with a yet to be discovered (choirt) position.

How? My FR? :-)

Hur hur hur

RoRK

i dont side with anyone, i seek entertainment online thru forums and offline thru tcs(especially late nite re-run of old sbc serials and scv taiwan news channel). Both make me happy and keep me entertained!

for your musically erotic FR, i up your points by .5, but by the time sun is up and people surf by, i hope there wont be too much zapping!

If not, by end of today(25th jann2008 ) we can all chill out at the nearest tui na or health center.

Like what my hokkien friend wud say, *sonng sonng kao jurong*, aka * shiok shiok till jurong*

=PatheinRaindropMoe

Was only kidding about the golfer thingy - taking sides thingy bro. But I speaketh my mind(s(. I take what I give. I live long long, limpei bua see lorgh!

Bro, limpei have a good ger lei! I donch understand about tu na other than sashimi. Maybe you donch rikes the extended fore- but at leat try the expanded 6ths and 9ths. And if you lucjy, the elongated 13th will lead (not solo yah bro) you into new horizons.

Anyways, my FR needs practice, but my jabelak sure cuhn chun one bro. Maybe we meet at B-Qs gig?

i can understand where you cumming from, be it elongated, extended, retracted, up down in out left right!

yes yes, i will be at the b quartet launch defintitely, but in order to make it a special day, musically and extended pleasure of unfamiliarity, i can only watch you from afar and knowing that we are in the same venue, thats all that matters! Surpassed the moment of seeing each other physically, left eye to left eye, right eye to right eye!

Wah;iaio! You throw circle of 5ths and such but then you have probs with 13ths? Same what bro!!!

OK, lah. I get it ;ah. I go to B-Qs gig and donch frend you.

=aquanaut

et tu Brute' ... ? I voluenteered too and didnt even get a reply .... for the last time perhaps

Warner Music is Abang Ramli's record company BUT it's a complicated situation bcause his legal tie ins are with Warner malaysia ONLY. It was a smart move on his part. Warner SG and in fact most local rec co dont reallly give diddly these days about local artiste, let alone compilation releases of old.

Having handled other aspects of bang Ramli's issues here in SG at thattime , I can say
HE IS THE HUMBLEST, NICEST AND BEST LOVED rock star ever that SG has produced bar none. Up and coming artiste can really learn a great deal from this aspect of the great man.

well they may want your gig but not the $$$ as some play for burgers & beer, depending what the place is serving ...does mustang sally sound any diffirent when E Gana sings it?

How about softies coming up with their suggestions in dealing with such issues?