Militant escape- Security in S'pore?

is there anywhere we can make big noise over this issue(of minister credibility) other than making loud noise in a forum like soft where majority of those in the thread here is making these seem like a joke?

I mean, its hard to be serious when i want to be, in a forum where majority are minors...
Other than looking good/serious in starting a thread like this, is there anything we can do, to make a difference? Or dont care, just try to be intellectual can liao

the bottom line is TERRORIST ESCAPE FROM DETENTION

SECURITY COCKUP

MINISTER KENA SOUND

so do you think there really exists a valid excuse?
sure, people make mistakes. but one only needs to make one mistake for there to be grave consequences, sometimes resulting in life and death. are you gonna justify the in those circumstances, then?

if you have a dangerous mind, it doesn't matter if you are armed when you escape. the fact that there is a league waiting for your return further aggravates the matter.

i think it might possibly be an insider's job too, cos the guy cant even walk properly..he limps around! And wth, they lost him in the toilet?! Sounds too impossible to be true...

ah bros

this one-skilful PR at work..must weigh into account all the factors before making such a statement...
if say serious..business at stake,stocks and shares might affected,mass paranoia etc
if say not serious..confirm kena butter but least public know govt handling this issue

heads will roll lah for this incident..to account this incident by saying its not serious enough but govt still handle better than saying serious enough and creating paranoia

is there anywhere we can make big noise over this issue(of minister credibility) other than making loud noise in a forum like soft where majority of those in the thread here is making these seem like a joke?

I mean, its hard to be serious when i want to be, in a forum where majority are minors...
Other than looking good/serious in starting a thread like this, is there anything we can do, to make a difference? Or dont care, just try to be intellectual can liao
one one hand people are scared, advising others to 'watch their words'

on the other hand we are saying that discussion here won't make any difference

?

hehe, it doesnt hurt to be careful i guess...

as for some of the responses that wont make a difference, coz its really too dumb for people to even bother with it..but then, iam rather dumb as well, thats why i bother, sometimes

heads will roll lah for this incident..to account this incident by saying its not serious enough but govt still handle better than saying serious enough and creating paranoia

it would be more prudent not to deny the gravity of the matter; it's not a race horse that jumped over the Kranji Turf Club entrance gate...

I think that since the Home Minister is not directly involved in this matter (He did not purposely open the gate for Mas Selamat, etc.), he should not be held responsible..

But if you look at it from another perspective..Since he is the Home Minister and all these matters are under him, he should be punished to a certain extent.

What do you guys think?

that i agree bro sub

there is a lot of scholars in the civil service..so they might craft out something for the minister to say as such..
a lot of thoughts are put into it before a statement is issued..
from the top down-almost everyone involved sure kena butter but its a matter of how much butter can be spread around..

the Opposition sure likely to bite on this incident..
the common folks surely say that the Govt is losing touch with the feel of the ground..
minister say not serious but the common folk say its serious

I think that since the Home Minister is not directly involved in this matter (He did not purposely open the gate for Mas Selamat, etc.), he should not be held responsible..

But if you look at it from another perspective..Since he is the Home Minister and all these matters are under him, he should be punished to a certain extent.

What do you guys think?

pay cut.
no bonus and next election replaced by young blood

No, he isn't at fault. Shouldn't blame him at all.

It's the security at the detention centre that should be punished. I mean, there's definitely a certain protocol for security measures and if Selamat is able to penetrate through the security measures unscathed, it's the security's problem.

The minister is not one of the Gurhkas. Furthermore, we have to take note it's a detention centre, not a prison.

And this feels like Harry Potter. -.-

not true- the Ministry of Home Affairs is directly responsible for this, this is why the minister was questioned in parliament today. it's not a matter of 'should' any more, he is.

this is the mechanics of authoritative hierarchy. if you are at the top, you can't say you don't know what's going on way down there, it doesn't work this way.

was he ever a convict to be imprisoned in the first place?

so it's not a crime to plan acts of terror? if he wasnt apprehended in time, what would have happened? read page 8 of the home section of today's straits times. all that should give reason for him to be locked up and the key to be thrown away.

i am guessing that since singapore's security is 'so good', the fact that he still hasn't been found probably suggests that he has fled the country. after all, he had a nice 4-hour window to do it.

i will tell you right now why there was a 4 hour lapse: it took 4 hours for them to try to save themselves from embarrassment, and realise that they couldn't clean up their own mess, and a cover-up was not possible.

the same thing happened at mandai camp. if that david tan fella discharged his rifle at orchard cineleisure, can you imagine how many lives would have been lost? and it all happened when the public were not informed

what kind of reasoning is this? why would the person above be any less liable than the person below? are you suggesting they find some kind of scapegoat?

from Singapore apologizes for jail escape of an alleged terrorist - International Herald Tribune
Musa Hassan, the police chief in Malaysia, said his forces were on the lookout and had informed the border authorities but had not received a broader request to tighten border security.
"We have not received any special request from Singapore as yet," Musa said.
sheer arrogance on the part of the authorities. i'm sure 'everything is under control', hence we don't need help, much less from malaysia

not true- the Ministry of Home Affairs is directly responsible for this, this is why the minister was questioned in parliament today. it's not a matter of 'should' any more, he is.

this is the mechanics of authoritative hierarchy. if you are at the top, you can't say you don't know what's going on way down there, it doesn't work this way.

Agreed! this applies to everywhere in the business world

so it's not a crime to plan acts of terror? if he wasnt apprehended in time, what would have happened? read page 8 of the home section of today's straits times. all that should give reason for him to be locked up and the key to be thrown away.
it is not for you, i or the straits time to decide whether he should be locked up. it is for the judicial system in singapore to decide. and have they decided? no. he has not been determined to be guilty of planning acts of terror, or as subversion already mention, not convicted. that is justice. so don't be so easily swayed by media sensationalism

bro jeepers

just an understanding of how the system works

mas selamat is detained under ISA.
for convicted prisoners=prison.serve a time and sentence as passed under Sub Courts,High Courts..

for ISA detainess=whitley detention centre
why?
they are not convicts per se as they are never brought to Courts of Law
they are detained under an infinite amount of time whereby their cases are reviewed for 2 years periodically..till then they are detained at the President's pleasure

No, he isn't at fault. Shouldn't blame him at all.

It's the security at the detention centre that should be punished. I mean, there's definitely a certain protocol for security measures and if Selamat is able to penetrate through the security measures unscathed, it's the security's problem.

The minister is not one of the Gurhkas. Furthermore, we have to take note it's a detention centre, not a prison.

And this feels like Harry Potter. -.-

if the security is not doing their job, whose problem do you think it is?