I am just TOTALLY PISSED OFF with service in Singapore

Penta-is gary foo the guy with the specs....cos the guy who have me pathetic service fits ur description....

incidently...when i was working at Citigroup....Shirt and tie was normal...and ofcourse then I was looking at immideate attention...go there in my Slash t shirt and suddenly the staff is too busy....even though i am the only one in the shop...

I definitely agree that a strongly worded letter to the management is essential....

now how do i reach the management :lol:

hes the short one with the really dull look on his face. hes a keyboardist so i guess he tends the areas around the keyboards but sometimes helps out with the amps and guitars too. yeah he also wears specs. pretty thick ones if im not mistaken.

bluepowder said:
...go there in my Slash t shirt and suddenly the staff is too busy....even though i am the only one in the shop...

Slash is passe. Slash uses Gibsons and Marshals, neither of which are foudn in the shop right?

So... you wouldn't be interested in anythign there lah.

:lol:

Yeah the tattooed guy and bernard are really nice guys, but I dunnoe about this Gary guy.

Best way to solve the problem is 1.ask The new paper to go undercover and irritate the staff 2.drink beer

Who says Slash is passe?!!!Jack Daniels all da way! :D

Ranking Sports @ Bras Basah

Hang on....i got one...RANKING SPORTS @ Bras Basah...

I was there with jeans n tee looking to buy test/buy SMARVO amps coz highly recommended by Paul D (the amps not the shop).

Came into the shop and spoke to auntie @the counter.Told her my needs (the amps, not sexual favours) and was directed to a Malay salesman in his late 30s (i am not prejudiced against any race, just nd to make a distinction so we know itz the right person, anyway i'm half Malay/Chinese).

This guy looked "busy" smoking and trying to set up a strat on a workbench outside the store.

I approached him nicely, told him my needs (same thing) and he told me to have a look inside (he didn't look pleased, in fact gave me kind of a sneering look).

I look around inside and i see the the guitars/amps they have.

After 10 mins, i'm wondering if the guy is ever gonna come in at all.

I go back out to the store and he's still there looking busy.

I tell him that i wanna test the 40 watter SMARVO as well as the half-stack.

He says "ok" and tells me that he needs a minute....FINE....if he had been serving me with a smile all this time i would not mind at all, but since he hadn't been nice to me at all, i was starting to fume...still, i go back in...

Abt 3 minutes later, he appears and asks me which amp i wanna have a go at.I tell him i would go with the 40 watter 1st. He powers it up, puts in a patch lead and tells me to pick any guitar i want.

I pick up a cheap looking Scorpion guitar, hooked it up and started on my fretboard gymnastics.

Next thing i know, he is abt 2 metres away from me, he powers up another amp, hooks up a strat and starts noodling away...at a higher volume than me! I'm like...WTF are u doing???You wanna guitar-duel or something???

At this point, i had had it...i put the guitar down, went back to the counter and nicely told auntie tat i'd be buying a SMARVO amp but elsewhere coz the Malay dude's service sucked big time, not to mention his attitude.

I leave the place, go to Music Theme at the basement of peninsula and I'm served by this really nice Chinese dude with blondish hair if i remember correctly...30 minutes of testing and i even got to bring out my own strat from my car to test the amp.

Needless to say, i bought the 40 watter from him, and he gave me a lower price than @Ranking when i told him my experience.How's tat for service and customer retention?

Thumbs down to Ranking (on the account of that silly Malay dude) and a huge thumbs up to Music Theme, man!

I thought so, since they carry the same amps, guitars, etc, i asked the Chinese chap but he denied that the two shops are related...good move especially since i was very vocal when i related the story to him :D

Better still, I hope Malay dude got informed by Chinese dude just so he knows... :lol:

penta-tonic said:
oh yes i gotta add to this list since it is abt city music and our gripes with them. and incident comes to mind.

last year july i decided to get my dad a birthday present so my brother and i pooled money together to get him a martin acoustic. i went there a day before his birthday and tried out the acoustic for an hour den i called my dad down during lunch hour to test it and buy it.

almost a year later i go back cos i wanted to test out the vox tonelab SE multieffects pedal. i spend less than half an hour testing the pedal. but im a direct guitar > amp user so i found it pretty hard to dial in any kinda tone i wanted out of it. the name of the sales person who was attending me was Gary Foo. i tried to ask him a few questions abt the pedal but he was really impatient and brushed me off telling me that i should try the presets which i already did and didnt like. den he told me: "u look familiar. ure the one who always comes down to test pedal but never buy" so i told him nicely that he was mistaken and it was my first time testing out the pedal.

den just recently i went down with kx to city music cos kx was looking for a multieffects which was lighter than his current pedal which is the tonelab SE. so i just hung around while kx tested a few zoom and korg multieffects. i didnt touch the guitar, only aided in stooping down to help do some tweaking while kx savoured all the tones produced. we took a while, prob around an hour but then all the effects were pricey and we didnt wanna do a botched job of not testing out the effects full capability. then gary came along. when he saw me he glared and me and said: "u not paiseh is it? always come here try pedal but never buy?"

this time i couldnt take it and i told him to watch it as his so called service was shit. i told him i only tried the pedal once and on that day i didnt even try it but rather a friend was trying it. den he told me i was wrong and that he saw me b4 so i told him that yes, he was right and i was there a year ago and i bought the martin, and he kept insisting that i was wrong cos i was there b4. Gary Fool, u are indeed a big fool.

Service like that will always be remembered like the smell of urine after its long dried. i dont think i will ever go back to city music unless they fire him or do something abt such retarded customer service.

I received the same treatment.

It sucks to the bone... I dont go back to City Music anymore.

And I have bought quite a few things from them in the past.

An Email was sent out to their management. No reply at all.

Whats the word for it? Sh*t?

talking about city music..

i went to get my bass set up since i got the warranty or wadsoeva..

back den i was a greenhorn at technicalstuff like this..

i juz took out my bass after so long..and i checked the action..5 cm..

i checked my neck

it was bending over backwards..BUT..the service i received wasnt too bad. :smt011

the guy served me with a smile tho..

ofcourse he served u with a smile...he damn better well...after he F$^#ed ur guitar...

Bernard was nice to me all the time...except the one time he shouted..... :lol: but thats not really the issue....Gary was the guy who was really irritating....
they should really fire him... :?

Re: Ranking Sports @ Bras Basah

allstarguitars said:
Came into the shop and spoke to auntie @the counter.Told her my needs (the amps, not sexual favours).....
LOL. Unless it's Ranking Sports@Geylang Lor 18. :mrgreen:

My experience with Ranking Sports is.....I suddenly acquired superhuman powers everytime I stepped into the shop. I usually turned into the Invisible Man. 8O

As for that Gary@City Music, from what you guys put it, he deserves the termination notice. Unless he's the boss's son - die die never get sack one. :smt019

hehe, if wanna complain, then must make sure the sales person lost his job or kena pay cut over the incident. Oh, reject the chance for them to say sorry and demand to see action as the 2 above.

Not happy with them, mus make them pay back double. If not all the time be wasted in contributing to this thread

Pathein:as much i think Gary should really reconsider his career path....I think the best thing to come out of all of this would be customer friendly music shops...if a musician cant walk into a shop and expect to be treated without being passed judgement on...it just takes away the entire experience of getting a new guitar or anything else for that matter...thats the thing i like about shops like G77....once you have talked to the guys and they know you are not some random punk looking to create trouble....its just gr8..the number of times i have just sat there jamming with beez and a lotta other guys...good times.... :lol:

dont even need all that from other shops....atleast normal service... :?

A lot of members including myself have faced this kinda bad service....but this time i was just really pissed off ... just because they have a monopoly does no t afford them the chance to lie

haha...next time i'll blast the sh*t out of tat halfstack in a guitar duel (think dragon force) with mr "probably washed-out ex-guitar player for a band tat played in lorong 18 twenty years ago and still can't get over it"... :D

Wat a sh*thead...i feel sorry for him :lol: