Big difference between 9s and 10s?

coldshot76

the reason im asking this is because im gona send in my Ibanez for a etup soon and was wondering if i should change the string gauge to 10s.

Im currently playing 9s on my Ibanez. Its my main guitar for rhythm and lead. I play mostly rock/blues some pop.

So if the tonality diff is not that great between 9s and 10s, i dont mind sticking to 9s since im pretty use to it.

Would like to hear you guys out

you will only know if you try it yourself.

basic thing is

1. 10's string tension is tighter = more stiff, slightly harder to bend and everything associated with higher string tension
2. 10's may be slightly louder than 9's. may or may not.
3. 10's may have heavier chugga bass riffing, thicker string = thicker sound.

you will only know if you try it yourself. :wink:

both d'addario and curt mangan same price. $5.50
i've fallen in love with curt mangan strings eversince subversion mailed me a free set. they dont rust as brutally as d'addario

maybe the oil from ur greasy fingers la bro...eat too much prata...that the strings are lubricated nicely...cnt rust that easily..

i need to get some Curt strings too...

used to play 9s, bt the high e keep breaking when i do bends...then switched to 10s, find out tat 10s sounds more full to me. go and try and see if u feel the diff

String gauges are a very sensitive thingy especially with floating bridges. Just move up or down a gauge between 9s to 10s will throw the tremolo spring against string tension balance totally off. Also the intonation will need readjusting.

Basically for me I think of string gauges effects as

8s: Bakwah
9s, Luncheaon meat
10s Ramli Burger
11s Medium done premium steak
12s and beyond: Msochistic Barbarian who's also cannibal (Chiak Kaki!)

Btw anybody tried "Cleartone" strings on acoustic and electrics?

:D

Ahh.................that will be a pork chop well done bro. I have heard Cleartones on a bass, though not an acoustic or electric and i must say that they are quite gd. I dunno how 2 say, go try it out at Standard Value www.standardvalue.com.sg.

"then .95s is what sia?
Ramli burger with extra luncheon meat patty?"

Oh cannot cannot! that's cheatin! hahahaha u must decide halal or not halal.... no in betweens pls it's already confusing enuff for us geetar players!

:wink:

ok la...i settle for ramli burger with extra sauce...and egg...that would be what .95s are

even the smell is that appetizing..

Ah Beng's e-meow

Dear Ah Lian

Thanks you for your letter. Wrong time no see you. How everything? For me,
I am quiet find.

You say in your letter your taukeh soh want you to chain your look?
Somemore you must wear kick kok soo, hope you can wok properly.

You know, Ah Kau Kia working in a soft where company now. Last week, he
take I, Muthu & few of his friend to May Nonut to eat barger. After that
he take we all go to kalah ok.
Muthu sing and sing no stop until the sky bright.

Next week, my father mother going to sellerbread 20 years annie wear sari.
My father mother going to give a fist to all the kampong people. So you
must come with your hole family.

I only hope one day we no need to write and send letter to you and to me.
Better I e-meow you, you e-meow me. I will ketchup with you soon. And when
you got time, please few
free to call me. Goo bye.....

Worm regard,
Ah Beng

wow, another thread strayed off the topic. hmm... i'm on .11s nice tension, good tones. i have always wanted to try curt manga strings but i have too much d'addario strings to spare.

I went from 010s to 090s. Very easy to bend, feels like playing air. But then u try ur vibrato and u dun have enough tension for a decent vibrato... Oh at least it was for me.

Now I'm using 011s... at first it was painful, but it was hell of an experience. Your tone is fuller, bass chuggier, all stuff. Now it feels like as tho it's only 010s...

There are GHS progressives that are 010s for the first 3 strrings, but 012s in the 4th, 5th, and 6th sttrings. Compromise!