What was, is or you hope yr NS vocation wud be?

yah man SAF day is sibei jialat!!! my band i dunno why always kenna OCS as well. hey u guys know on youtube theres vids of COG?
i remember one ocs where the L rods holding my drum to my brace fell out and the whole parade i was holding my snare and not playing. next day my arms damn sore man

i served 5 months in a high level RSAF ops room as an ops spec

The ops rooms was once filled with regulars, just nice the year i join they started to bring in NSF.

You'll get to know alot of dirty secrets within the RSAF, the underhand stuff they do to protect Singapore. Cant say much.. super top secret, i have to open 4 doors to get to my work place.

Ops room, super cold air con, tv, dvd player,computer with internet access, foo,d projector to screen movies, play ps 2, tired just sleep dont have to be afraid or wayang to my boss. We have immunity from mp security raids. So u can imagine all the interesting stuff we do... The best part is we work 1.5 days, off 2.5 days. Monday i report to work at 9am, tuesday go home at 3pm,wednesday and thursday off, friday 9am go back to work again. Its a 24/7 duty u might kana weekends and public holidays.. but its a good trade off.

This is the BEST deal i know of for any NSF. but too bad it only lasted 5 months, before i got posted to another sqn.

combat medic is pretty siong too..... trust me... i hv walk side by side with the combat medic, although they dun hv to be involve with fire fight, but the stuff they carry is very very heavy.....

i am from the infamous 4SIR 11th mono, if u guys heard of the stories from my unit. i am a LAW/MATADOR/sharpshooter....

imo infantry is siong siong siong, i follow thru the unit, been to 3 countires, train with thai army and stuff.... juz came back from reservice... still siong.... so guys, pray hard dun go infantry....

best unit: singapore shooting contigent and MDS, i pass the trial and everything joining the SSC but my unit pull me out due to some stupid reason....

Was a combat engineer, otherwise known as the SAF constrution workers, we do all the sai kang that no one wants to do...haahahaha.. :lol:

Use to have a company mate who is part of the SAF water polo team, whole NS life is go for water polo training, seldom see him in camp... So if u are good in sports..u noe wat to do :lol:

Seems like not many rifleman here... I am currently serving in Alpha Coy 3 SIR as a rifleman. Originally when I POP from BMTC I wanted to be posted to SISPEC as an INF LDR but later kena posted to 3 SIR, so now lan lan suck thumb serve NS as a rifleman lor. But the friends and buddies I made in 3 SIR made the experience less painful la, got chiong sua, got relax time.

<--- still noob rifleman

any fun chao keng tricks people used?

Many - I'm sure you know them. But we got tricks up our sleeves. Sorry, can't tell our "tricks". But diarrhoea won't work. Putting cigarette ash and tabacco into eyes to make it look red also doesn't work. Many other things don't work either - so don't try them...

funny how no matter how super top top top secret saf secrets are, they can still make nsfs do the job. i think no money to pay regulars alr

quite disappointing though that saf values secrecy and sensitivity even at the expense of widespread 'justified' racial and religious discrimination. if you can't even trust singaporeans to defend singapore, there is really no point in protecting the land.

aiya... lets dont turn this into another saf bashing thread hahah

saf is like that.. u or me can't change it. it's here to exist. and it's they way they do things. wad to do? i guess those who went thru ns will see their far share of things 8)

i remember my unit... the clerks were fitter than the men. cos all the clerks are those ppl who were actually fit but kena some horrific injury, like PTI OOC. the men on the other hand were all the CMI :roll:

i was tank mechanic posted to brunei for 1 yr and 3 mths. was based in the jln aman camp, not the lakiun one in temburong. earned a pile of cash while twiddling my thumbs during that period :)

I was from 35 SCE, combat engineers.We build floating bridges or rafts on rivers/sea

Loved my time there, sun sand and the sea, really have a lot of good memories there,

That camp(SELETAR) really got mojo lah!

wah overseas posting. my ex classmate got more than 1k a month and ord-ed a cpl doing that. and he got his driving license from brunei too

Served NS from June 83 to December 85. BMT 3 months in Tekong, another 10 weeks at SMP. Then posted to Artillery Reserve Admin Unit in Amoy Quee Camp as a clerk :lol: .

There were few busy periods, but when lull periods.... really nothing to do, so play guitar and listen to music most of the time. Signed a total of 4 extra weekend duties in my active NS. Officers, Chief Clerk and BSM bochap me unless they really needed me!

i use to be in 3SIR as well, support coy with the scouts back in the old bedok camp. the hawker center outside was killa man

I felt my voc was ultimate.. i was a DRIVER... but if a chick were to ask i'd slur and say driver so that is sounds like DIVER.. haha .

Siok come out got liceanse somemore :wink: