Singapore Si Bei Rock'n'Roll: The Best of Singapore Underground Music 88 - 08

HAHAH after that its OMG i am a serious old fart wahaha!!! really, listening to quite some of those songs really brings tears to my eyes. Naked's ballad is so damn wonderful better than Rick Price anyday!!!

guys!

this is brilliant! haha. i'm sorry for not hearing about this sooner! have not logged in for quite a while. but this is just awesome!

once again, thanks to everyone who made this possible!

edit: am listening to the comp now. it sure brings back lots of memories. wonderful stuff.

hahaha.. anyone remember this?

hahaha.. the clothes!.. the hair! hahahahaa

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dhV0odbdVJQ

Thanks for the kick video :)

there was also tanya chua's colour tv set (though i prefer "you sorry ass" fr that same album) i remember seeing her performing on the same stage as padres on one new yr eve countdown (can't remember which year though)

thanks for bringing back all these nice memories guys...

cover-1.jpg

I'll upload this in the next few days. :)

"Singapore Si Bei Rock'n'Roll Vol 2: The Best of Singapore Underground Music 88 - 08"

1. Zircon Govt. Pawn Stars - Drop The Attitude, Fucker
2. marchtwelve - Dear You
3. Amateur Takes Control - Communication Downbreak
4. Radio-Active - Changes
5. Drill - Point Blank
6. Sherene’s Closet - Over
7. Stellarium - Any Day Is Fine
8. Etc - Trans*end
9. The Mother - Somethingshappening
10. Astreal - Stay Awake
11. ESP - For Peace
12. Typewriter – Enemy
13. The Moderates - A Blaise Process
14 Return To Fall - All I Do Is Leaving
15. Clothespeg - Dreary Daydreams
16. Plain Sunset - Find A Way
17. Lilac Saints - To Be The One
18. The Ordinary People - Not Alone
19. Concave Scream - Horizons
20. Global Chaos - The Mortals Must Be Crazy

i just found a few gems in my collection:

Still - turn in
Still - Found in thought
Ossuary - nothing but lies
Disko Bisquit - cultured pearl , Underneath (everywear mix)
concave scream - driven!!
Ecrus garage - oceans
Pagans - blank chord
My squared circle - alone
winterhalter - calendar boy
Zircon lounge - guide these hands
oddfellows - lost my head
the moderates - morning breaks (deeper underground vol 1)
suchness - spellweaver
and of course..

sherene's closet - french kissing / its a pity

will send it to you bro willy soon.
i think i have a whole lot more, will try to dig them up. should be those in the Bigo Compilations.. darn.

i think u can do like 20 more volumes if every contributes!
dig up guys!
Fariswan: any dyfectra stuff?

how about doing a 20 year retrospective compilation of tr00000 singapore *gasp* METAL ?? black, death, thrash, grind....whatever you can think of, as long as its influential, underground not metalcore, post hardcore, fashion core, or whatever core. think along the lines of: impiety, birdbrains, demisor, blood angel, bestial colony, nafrat....even sweet charity!

Huat ah! Like what 5for125 mentioned, if theres a vol 3, we can have something slightly different. More metale, hardcore, soundart kinda

i have some metal, hardcore and electronic/soundart stuff to put in.

Hopefully if theres a vol 3 or more, we wont get ourself into any problem for the clearance/approval from the musicians/bands themselves.

Where to find the downlaod links for both Vol.1 & 2?

I really want to hear these songs! ;D

Kudos to everyone who had a hand in putting this together.

Love the "covers" btw

I still have some 90s local CDs lying around - incl some Springroll comps/BigO Singles Club etc - see what I can dig up to contribute...

Well done again!

THANK YOU~!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This thread just made my day lah! :D

instead of Aging Youth compiling it, why not create a shared drive, whoever has what just upload it, and everyone will have everything... so each can go make his/her own "singapore si beh rock" compilation...:)

just my 2 cents

sharing the whole thing might result in messy copyright isses, aint too safe...

quietly behind the scene share share , no one knows....

sibei rock prolly just a tribute for some of the bands we listen to back then, to bring back memories when we listen to it now.

anyway, sharing publicly for something which some might have spent many years to collect, prolly aint a nice thing to ask for, for some that is. Imho.