Is there a local music scene

INSANE!!! Talking about magic mushrooms on an Internet public forum?! There are minors around!

I can do food tasting. If there were one thing I was born for in life, it's food tasting! And beer tasting too. And whiskey tasting too. And... yeah, will add on when I can remember.

The cari makan bands can pull in quite a decent sum for their work. It's about 2 - 3 hours of real work every night. Some bands play 4 nights, some 6. However, you have to work on weekends and public holidays, etc.

But not everyone can play 'Sweet Child of Mine', 'With Or Without You' and 'Summer of '69' night in night out!!!

I can do food tasting. If there were one thing I was born for in life, it's food tasting! And beer tasting too. And whiskey tasting too. And... yeah, will add on when I can remember.

food tasting... my wookie also can do... but then hor... are your tastebuds reliable?

there's one blogsite that goes along the lines of he eat he shoot he post... haiyorrrr... his tastebuds is out of this world one... 9/10 recommendations my friends all pui chao nua.... :mrgreen:

hmm.. i thought i eat i shoot i post blog is not the definitive food blogsite? hows about hungrygowhere?

"9/10 recommendations my friends all pui chao nua....:mrgreen:" only good pictures not good food recommendations!

hungrygowhere must see which reviewer... some tastebuds also kanasai one....

these days any yau kwee with a camera and a blog is a foodblogger!

did i say portobello tastes bloody? where got?! haiyooooorrrrr....

but its damn good lah.... got chance can go seletar farms there behind Jalan Kayu and buy damn fresh and HUGE portobello mushrooms from Mycofarms. Love their shrooms too bad they never cultivate magic mushrooms! :mrgreen:

Maybe with your homemade beer it'd go down better :D No lah, must bloody then got kick. I lub mah meats too much to give it up like pinkbox... But must support fwendxz mah!

living the dream......

I agree with a lot of the points in this thread.

I have a few points from past experience when playing in an original band, recording, touring etc.

In my opinion, if you play an instrument and want to express yourself in a band you need the following.

Like minded people to play with and a musical concept you all share. If you have a song idea, these guys must be able to further this idea, not pull you down and inhibit you or be afraid to try something a little foreign. If it sounds good to the guys in the band THEN IT IS GOOD. Spending time caring what other people may think, or that its not metal enough then your'e basically in trouble before you put a set together.

Ones musical ability, to be honest is not that important, I can think of so many amazing bands that have changed music as we know it and there were dudes in the band who could barely play. But there mental input, charisma and personality just gelled the band together and somehow brought the best out in there fellow band members.

Once you have the above I QUARANTEE that every time you hook up to jam its such a pleasure. You will look forward to just sharing ideas and spending time in there company, fulfilled by having a platform to express your feelings in a musical sense (which is why I assume you join a band).

When you eventually get songs down you will be desperate to get them out there for people to listen to,hell, you will play in someones kitchen given the chance to play a gig. I tell you this, I have seen sooo many bands play live. When a group you have never heard of gets on stage and play a musical genre you may not even like just blows you away with there passion and belief for what they are doing. Its the magic of music.

As far as the shitty excuses I hear about no support from venues, media etc etc in Singapore is just not true. Do you think for one minute just because you are in London promoters will give you shows, people will come to the show, journalists will come holding the hand of a record company exec just bursting to give you a deal. NO NO NO.

This is down to the band (and if lucky enough some good friends). A venue will let anyone play if you can get enough people in there and make them a profit on drinks, people will come if you flyer and promote the show by any means you know, if you kick ass and the night goes well you can generate enough buzz to do it again. If you start to create that buzz more people will hit your site, come to shows, want cds, tell there friends. I know this may all sound so simple, but if you are a good live band with good songs and are willing to get stuck in, there is no reason at all why you can't be a success in Singapore and beyond.

What people fail to realise is that, record companies are a money making institution. They will not give you love until you have made them heaps of cash. Getting signed is not a golden ticket and something to aim for. Playing the indoor stadium and tourning the world like you are on a permanent holday is a fantasy.

BE PASSIONATE AND ENJOY PLAYING MUSIC.

Okay, if we really get back on topic, then, the answer to the topic question is:

Yes there is. Though not a big one, but, its a growing one nevertheless... and a fast one at that...

Gotch what...

We gotch Stephanie Sun, Tanya Chua, Taufik Baptisa, etc. Can sell albums what. The musicians they hire are one kind damn top class... Quite a couple of our musicians tour with some of Taiwan's biggest pop stars. Chekkit with bro edder bro.

Is there a local music scene ?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quoting from what you mentioned, 'There are probably a few thousand more similar cases like this going on in the local music scene, talents dropping out after giving up hope of any signs of advancement in this industry.'

I believe that you are refering to the 'local music scene' as "an industry" like the engineering industry, Arts Industry, teaching Industry etc. Meaning catering to individuals who would like to pursue a living or career out of it.

The local music scene is existent. There are many full-time musicians locally, like our very own kit chan, stephanie Sun ,music teachers, pianists @ lounge, etc. could you not call these people musicians?

Perhaps you are looking at a very different 'music market'. True to words, certain genres of music like for eg, Metal, Punk, experimental may exist fewer opportunities in the music industry or scene as you may like to call it. But again, it all goes down to passion for that particular thing you are in for you to create opportunities.

Like many forumers had shared in this thread, passion is the key.

Its is not only in the Music Industry or scene as you call it, that this happen. Take for eg, in the teaching industry, I believe that there are some certain subjects which are higher in demand and more 'popular' in conjunction with employment & promotions in the working society. That said, if Maths is a hot favourite as to compared to a subject like literture, why would someone still study literture as a major? Passion is the key.

Quote "Recently i dropped bass guitar because i couldnt find like minded individuals who want to create a new style in music and travel around the world.

Another friend of mine has decided not to pursue his dreams of becoming a professional drummer because of the lack of opportunities available in this country. "

No offence really but you must understand that ESP in singapore, spoon-feeding is not encouraged nor practised. If you are passionate about certain thing, it is up to you and yourself to find opportunities and to create them! Coming from someone whos extremely passionate about music, it does seems from your words that the level of passion you had for music is kinda shallow, no wonder some of the harsh posts. However if I mis-interpret, I apologize.

We cant surely sit down and complain, expecting channel 5 to air more local music acts, tourism board to promote our local bands etc. If nothing is done, we try and try and try to get something done.

10 years back, I believe the opportunities present to our local talent Shirlyn Tan is scarce. But did she give it up because of the lack of opportunity? Look how far and how much she accomplished because of her undying hard work, belief and passion in her music. Our young and aspiring musicians should learn from her.

Dreams do come true u know, if you really try. and never say never or impossible.
Talk about the surge of overseas band performing in singapore. 10 years ago, when i was happily blasting slayer in my CD player, who would have thought that slayer would one day perform in the stage of sunny singapore. That materialise on Oct 13th.

My thoughts:
As many forumers in this thread shared, it really takes 2 hands to clap. The audiences had come to play an equally important role in promoting local music. As a musician/performer, how often had you been guilty of calling out to the crowd to 'stand up' and support your band but sit down/leave the gig after your set? If you want people to support your music, basic courtesy is to do the same. Unless you are some big-shot superstar ha!

Busy as I am, I make time to support local music acts, events even though most of the time the genres are not really my cuppa tea. Buying EP/album of local bands that I feel is good even though again their music may not be my cuppa tea. I still buy them, why? because they (the band) their music are good and me being passionate in music and supportive of local music, should`nt I support them? Also, I do if I find the time, to support a local band whos playing out of singapore.

Having seen too many of the 'I claim I love music' but due to the many reasons like family, old liaw etc and etc of reasons I DUN listen/support/play music anymore makes me a tad cynical of the local self-proclaimed music passionate pple & local music supporters. You can be too busy to jam, you can be busy with work, you can be tied up with your family but tell me, taking 10 or 15mins to listen to music? Buying a $20 album takes up too much of your time? It all goes down to efforts & passion.

Just look at FGL, at his age does he ever stop his passion for music because of the above reasons? ( dun angry ah fgl ;p)

Soooory for the long post.

I know this is irrelevant but ARSENAL RULES BIG TIME!!!! since 1995.

Gotch what...

We gotch Stephanie Sun, Tanya Chua, Taufik Baptisa, etc. Can sell albums what. The musicians they hire are one kind damn top class... Quite a couple of our musicians tour with some of Taiwan's biggest pop stars. Chekkit with bro edder bro.

hur hur hur...

there's Joshua Wan, Daniel Chai, Bong and probably more... all top class musicians that gigs up north....

haiyah... talk so much for what... as claimed by averal, our posting no intelligence one... i rather talk about portobello and chunks of juicy minced beef!

Maybe the question should be "is there hope for talent-less wannabe musicians in the local industry?" Passion without talent can't make it in Singapore unlike some other places?

My teacher is Bong btw.

Yup, Bong is arguably the best bass player in SG. He teaches at YAMAHA and does recordings occassionally for the chinese music industry. Then again, i feel that there is a limit of how far we can go in the music industry.

Let me explain "limit"

An aspiring band in Singapore can perform in gigs, pubs, live concerts etc.
If they are more adventurous they can do some tours.
In a way they are "limited" as there is a "limited" market.

Unless they break out of the cycle and do something radical to shock the chinese and english music industry worldwide. (Which i hope to see someone accomplish it one day)

The chinese music industry has been quite successful so far in producing local artists, that is undeniable. Not quite yet for local bands although.

Then again i applaude Electrio for its dedication... they have been very inspiring... they managed to do a tour in Australia. That is remarkable.

An aspiring band in Taiwan can perform (same as above) and hong kong, taiwan, china.
They have a HUGE chinese market that would buy their albums and such.
They are not as "limited" as there is a BIG market for their works.

To put things in perspective, there is a limit... and i hope that one day someone is gonna prove my analogy wrong.

To some people, being able to perform in front of an audience is a dream but to others, it is the world.

^^

got heart to play can already. no need to play until hong kong and china and taiwan. if the motive behind a person taking up music is to be famous, then forget it lah.