extended non smoking areas

You should go visit those countries where you see black fumes from exhausts every few junctions.

India's among the culprits. Thank heavens Singapore adopts relatively high standards for emissions. Nothing, of course, trumps European emissions standards.

I hate cigarette smoke but hey, let's give the smokers some space. Back them into a corner and you can expect a rather... undesirable response.

aiyahhh!!jus let us smoker have our freedom to smoke lah...at most only die faster..for 2nd hand smoker..if u smoke our smoke..den too bad lah...smoke here cannot...smoke dere cannot..haiyah!!those who want to quit/or already quit..good for u lah.. jus leave us smoker alone lah..smoke die..no smoke oso die..no difference mah..

hidop pon susah..mati pon susah...haiyah!

for 2nd hand smoker..if u smoke our smoke..den too bad lah...

that is a bloody selfish comment which reflects mankind's selfishness.

which will eventually lead to the downfall of humankind and has been what causing civilizations to fail, just cos one man's desire and selfishness can lead to repercussions that are far more serious that might have been expected.

its like saying if i drive recklessly and hit you and you happen to be in a coma, i will take no responsibility and its just too bad that you were there.

for 2nd hand smoker..if u smoke our smoke..den too bad lah..

bro... dun say till like tat la...

to me its like a give and take kind of thing.
but it seems to be the losing end for the smokers lol
i personally feels it is unfair but wat to do? gahmen seh so... take for example,smoking corner at kopitiam,sumtimes even occupied by non smokers... tat to me is selfish oso. at least give smokers face a bit la... lol

i nvr did blow out my smoke at people on purpose,but if the smoke goes to the person then i'll blow sumwhere else... if still kena,blame the wind

I find some of the comments here really ridiculous.

Nothing against smokers. I know most of my smoking friends respect the fact that I don't smoke and respect the space I need. I, in turn, respect their habit and return the courtesy by not making a big fuss when they are smoking while I'm around. In fact, to cover my nose and mouth to cigarette smoke is just plain rude to me. If need be, I just move away.

However, smokers who keep comparing something else to be worse than smoking and how nobody is complaining about it ought to try sucking up a bus. Even if something else may be worse, doesn't make your habit any less bad.

Smoking is a choice that many accepted. You wanna smoke, you pay for the expense and you make do with the restriction. The alternative is to stop smoking. It's a simple a-or-b answer. Don't try to make sound any more complex than that.

Some people are complaining about how the government is getting rich from the taxes they get from tobacco. Let me then point out that Philip Morris is belly bloated to the throat from the profits they get GLOBALLY from a habit that is causing more harm than good.

And to think that tobacco was harvested by the Native Americans as a sacred herb in shamanic ritual, now its degraded to a socially accepted narcotic. I feel a little dismayed by this; the real value of PURE, unprocessed tobacco lost because of lack of understanding of it.

really. smoke or no smoke, is really a matter in the brain. yes there are some people that are allergic to this smoke and yes we should respect them. not flame them just to give smokers more breathing space. We can't do anything can we? Government is push hard against you guys and we understand as non-smokers. just respect us in turn too

also all these 2nd hand smoking crap. seriously. you're breathing in pollution everyday, adding a little smoke will not kill you. don't tell me you're gonna stick to the smoker and smoke his 'used' smoke are you? have you ever seen someone in the middle of orchard road died of smoking used smoke?

Also, government has done so many thing that changed our lives. for example, they push you to study a 2nd language, no one really ever complaint about it? just only the first few people think its crap after a while everything's okay. so why should this be any different?

fellow softies members, we should not blame each other that we don't have enough breathing space. but look around, non-smokers wants breathing space, smokers want breathing space. why not just avoid each other when they are smoking if you're all so concerned about smoking in 2nd hand smoke and allergic reaction. we should always respect people's decision whether its good or bad, is not what we are able to change it ourselves.

and please, smokers are not evil for crying out loud. stop thinking omg he smokes, ok he's a bad guy in nature too, you'll never know their personality unless you really know them.

good to be stricter cause with the previous rule, many still don't care at although not all....

anyway it all boils down to the thoughts of individual whether how considerate they are, some are indeed very considerate indeed....just level of maturity within each individual..

it may be tough for smokers but it is a good time to really try to excercise control over your mind and body.....I have seen smoker quite immediately, that is my good friend and he is a heavy smoker but so far only one case, hehe, but it show that is possible, just see whether you have enough will power.......

Smoking places ban for the following places

1. Amusement Park
Ok, we should not smoke in front of children and lets be more considerate and excuse ourself from such places.

2. Aircon places/bus/school
Ok...ok noted. smokers are like dinosaurs at such areas.

3. Designated Area not exceeding 20% of total floor area @ Foodshop
No issue, understand this as well. As long as non smokers do not get lost amid the second hand smoke and land themselves in these areas. It isnt too much to ask for if the area isnt conveniently placed at area that has no shade from the glaring sun and rain as well.

4. Any Sports facilities areas/void decks
Old folks who meet to tcss at open air basketball courts after dinner are not allowed to enjoy a quiet evening chill out with their friends. For older district where there isnt any old folk korner, what is the alternative? Ah Pek house party? nice idea...

Anyway, I think smokers should just abide by the "common sense rule"
- Be considerate and move away (or at least try to blow into the other direction) from non smokers no matter where

- If you see someone who cover their nose and act like they have been gassed by the nazi in smoking areas, then the more you should gas them out.

Smokers should get used to "logical" rules like this comparing it with the reasons given over issues such as public transport fee and $2 LED Beams

Going to start my shamanic ritual soon to conjure up a means to communicate with Mr Ray. Remeber when its time to go, a falling flower pot will find its way.

i dun mind ppl smoking as all my friends and family members all smoke la....except me...haha....bt ah, i tink the gahmen should make a room at every shopping centre where all the smokers cn smoke in the room...that way, those non-smokers, cn avoid that room....:p:mrgreen::cool:

There's always a chain reaction to such situations.
When tax goes up for tobacco the more expensive it gets.
But don't you think the government is also encouraging more illegal dealers for cigarettes cause of the high prices.

DAMN THOSE PEOPLE WHO DISCOVERED TOBACCO. haha.

back in those days where u can smoke everywhere and cigs are cheap, it was probably cool...

kids (my definition of all under 21),

dun smoke please. u think its cool, attitude, rocker huh? its stupid, seriously

the self-destructive uzi suicide rocker era is over... those are the brainless ones, let's move on...

That's a very sweeping statement which holds barely any truth at all. Of course there are those who smoke because they think it's cool, like how some play music cause they think the rocking lifestyle is cool.

PS: Not all who smokes are trying to be cool, or being brainless. It's statements like this from the public society that make smokers become outcasts and frowned upon.

Im a non smoker but this new rule reeks retardation of the brain cells.Its as good as saying no smoking in singapore...

oh wait,that seems to be a case,isnt it?Whats next,smokers have to find a yellow box to smoke?

Before discussing on the space cordoned for smoking, we must establish what is our stand on smoking. Is smoking good for ourself, our family and our community?

Smoking is a known cause for many illnesses. Is our reason to smoke greater than the reason to have a healthy life for our loved ones and ourself?

oh wait,that seems to be a case,isnt it?Whats next,smokers have to find a yellow box to smoke?

I do think that's gonna happen pretty soon.

But do recognise that Singapore is not the only one who are implementing no smoking areas. We are just a few steps ahead. Other countries are slowly following suit.

I do think that's gonna happen pretty soon.

But do recognise that Singapore is not the only one who are implementing no smoking areas. We are just a few steps ahead. Other countries are slowly following suit.

err i think its more like we are a few steps behind countries like aus and some EU nations