Alternate Palm Mute

Status
Not open for further replies.

fauxhawk

Hi, I've been playing electric guitar for 4 months now and have been learning some songs by Blink 182. I have problems alternate strumming, and also alternate strumming when palm muting. I need some tips on this. If i do a normal strumming while palm muting, my hand tend to get tired easily and will have cramps.

One song, for example, is Aliens Exist by Blink 182.
Look for the verse riff which is the palm mute part.
And also give me tips on perfect alternate strumming or whatever it is called.

Forgive me for my noob/nub question.

I have problems alternate strumming, and also alternate strumming when palm muting. I need some tips on this. If i do a normal strumming while palm muting, my hand tend to get tired easily and will have cramps.

Huh...? Normal strumming plus palm muting and normal strumming without palm mute no big difference what...

Huh...? Normal strumming plus palm muting and normal strumming without palm mute no big difference what...

I'm talking about Alternate. Up and down while palm muting, I can't get the right sound from it. I get some stupid sounds which is unnecessary like as if the bottom strings i strummed has not been palm muted.

For alternate strumming without palm mute, I can do it when ONLY the Low E string is included. If it is the 3 strings below it, I will cock up and get unneccesary sounds as well.

its supposed to be tiring. youre on the right step
playing master of puppets when i learned it was really tiring at first. slowly gradually, it becomes easy
practice makes perfect haha

Well actually, for me, alternate palm mute strumming looks cool. Thats why I wanna learn it and perfect it.

For alternate strumming without palm mute, I can do it when ONLY the Low E string is included. If it is the 3 strings below it, I will cock up and get unneccesary sounds as well.