What does singapore music need?

evilronin

Hey guys, I'm a journalist writing a feature story on the singapore music scene.

What do you people think is lacking/needed for it to really expand? Government aid or laws, maybe?

In other countries, it is a law for radio stations to have a certain percentage of their programming dedicated to local music. Is that what we need? Anything else?

Pls leave your real name and you age so I can quote you.

Thanks!

evilronin, what's your name and which publication are you writing for?

evilronin, we simply need the people's support, full stop. 9.33FM doesn't have that kinda "quota" nor rules. stepanie sun and huang yida's albums still sells like hotcakes.

Hmm I would say that the local talent need is its local supporters have the acceptance of diversity. Let the band be playing Pop Punk, Emo Rock, Brutal Death Grind or what so have you. If the masses has a certain appreciation for something they have never heard before then that to me is a good start for a long run. :?

singapore probably have all the music we need already. now what we need, is open minded audiences! i almost hit my friend when i let him listen to some sepultura and he laughed at max's vox. and how ppl think metal is just plain noise.

got 2 agree with nak...ppl have a bad impression on metal music...they should appreciate it more n listen 2 the songs more carefully..there's a story behind every song

The lack of media support is the main problem. We can see that from the fact that the contestants from Spore Idol and Project Superstar becomin household names overnight, all due to the huge media exposure they have.