The Real History of the Mat Rockers

Wah bradders fgl and fuzz, you guys are the originals!!!!! Growing up in bedok you don't really see a lot of action, but i know there's some bedok south hdb they had to install security gates just so the junkies don't do it in those blocks.... Terror siak....

Very close for those who submitted their entries for the Aging Youth '7 Ms of a Mat Rawker' competition.

Close but no prizes.

1) Motosikal (sic: Motorcycle)
2) Marijuana (Matdrug also can)
3) Meh-tell-lee-ka (sic: Metallica)
4) Marlboro
5) Maggi Mee hair
6) Minah
7) Members

Now, anyone wanna join the Aging Youth 'The Must-haves of a mid-90s Chinese Ah-Beng' contest?

tanglin halt and boon lay/taman jurong mat rockers can gam one..no worry..
im from boon lay/tmn jurong old market no 2(demolished) but as they say "barang baik must share"..hehehe

CB, all skiving off work....... This is what i remember of a stereotype:

Ah bengs must have:
1. Long pinky finger nail
2. Pointed comb at your back pocket
3. Floppy aaron kwok hairstyle
4. JPG wallets
5. Ve-sa-se or Ah-ma-nee clothes
6. That whole squatting thing......

Feel free to add on...

Mat Rockers.....yeah man those were badass MFs who would boo ppl they didnt like at gigs (or if you somehow didnt play Metallica or hard rock) in the olde dayz. best. we're too darned polite nowadays wheres the konfrontasi when there shld be???

tanglin halt and boon lay/taman jurong mat rockers can gam one..no worry..
im from boon lay/tmn jurong old market no 2(demolished) but as they say "barang baik must share"..hehehe

Wah brudder.. I was also from Boon Lay.. Love that old market, esp the bakery that was run by this old uncle. Freshly baked french loaf man...

Yup.. Rockers can always gam as long we are united by the power of rock! I remember when Yngwie first came here to do a concert back at Expo, I was surrounded with authentic mat rockers, headbangin and lighter swaying happily together... It felt like home... Hahaha... :mrgreen:

Ah bengs must have:
1. Long pinky finger nail
2. Pointed comb at your back pocket
3. Floppy aaron kwok hairstyle
4. JPG wallets
5. Ve-sa-se or Ah-ma-nee clothes
6. That whole squatting thing......
7 Ah lians with Sonia Rekiel bags
8. Ace of Base and Dr Alban cassette tape
9. Fire /Octagon Disco Tea dance
10. Pager(memo jazz) for emergency piak
11. Dragon lost in cloud tattoo
12. Hush puppies canvas shoes but not putting on the laces
13. A good Macdonalds to hang out

1970s right? - People with long Hair, ride out on Motobikes, hang around Orchard (the Rock era in Singapore) , take Grass, fight in Trivoli ... back then? - Is that the period

hmm im still remember how the old rockers used to hang around world trade center, (now vivo city) get high and all. how they would run at the sight of police... haha..

1970s right? - People with long Hair, ride out on Motobikes, hang around Orchard (the Rock era in Singapore) , take Grass, fight in Trivoli ... back then? - Is that the period

Dude, do read the first post first..... its really in-depth and you won't be asking these type of questions......

from what i was told by my uncle, a fellow rocker, he was part of the "budak2 teban" back in the days.. and i've seen really good musicians although some of them were hooked with drugs..

I'm a chinese most mat ok la but got some especially those live CCK one always come kaopei ppl...

But then ah beng sometime worst la no reason 'oi gam lan diao simi' sian la...

There used to be the 2nd Chance rock gig at the old National Theathe at river valley rd every month in the late 70s. All the mat rockers will be there rocking to the music of Sweet Chairty, Unwanted, Pest invested, Heritage and many more . Those were the best local rock gigs so far wonder anyone remembers them .

To all the real old school mat rock braders, hope you'll share some pictures here of your glory days, sure would be interesting to check out for some of us who were too young back in the day.....

I GOT A PICTURE OF MY DAD AND HIS 'MEMBERS" ALL AT A BEACH when they were like my age (18+ like that). their hair was really... big.