The Real History of the Mat Rockers

well some of us grow up..changed when got family,commitment etc...some of us still wasting away..here or there(drc/prison)..
mat rock and ah bengs,at that time, sure can mix..no problem..there was no division as all grew up same ol' kampungs/ol' HDB estates..

there was no poorer/richer among us at that time..common enemy was at that time "pei hun kia"..we have mat rock who can speak hokkien and ah beng with fluent malay..important saturday must enjoy..

I grew up in Mat Rock town: Tanglin Halt... I learned guitar from some of the finest players around - ppl who could "gentel" Blackmore stuff on $20 kapok guitar with 2cm high action.

I donno about Hells Angels here in but Graveyard 1887 was the "gang" of choice in Queenstown among Mat Rockers. Old stories about Hells Angels trying to "cuci" Tanglin Halt but kena from a combi of gangs in my neighbourhood area are plenty and legendary...so were cop raids with black maria vans.

Lets not forget Tanglin Halt back in the day was the "weed central" where the merchandise was commonly available....

A common feature left out was the traditional "hanging out" in Orchard area - either Macs or Wendy's at Far East Plaza. Pickin up Minah Rock for an evening of entertainment at East Coast Park was another favourite.

Levis bootcuts with leather belts & ornate buckles. Rayban aviator glasses. Red bandanas used as hankies and custom shaped (normally pointed) combs.

Ah the memories linger ..... :mrgreen:

Like bro fuzz - I Mat Rock no more ... except in my mind's eye;)

tanglin halt--yeah bro fgl..chap lau and chap lak lau.."tarik" place near the the railway track..right??

graveyard,kingdom in rock,rainbow...hehehe mat rock geng that time..

yeah bro fuzz - U know ur history .... tarek GALORE down there ....

Recently I went down - things had changed so much & are gonna change even more ... I'm not the sentimental type but things like this a part of your life, u cant forget.

The lingo, the lingo:

"Alamak lu tak gerek lah" (Later changed to Lu tak Rock"

"Eh, Lu relax sua (later evolviing to Lu relax one corner sua)

"Eh, boh ka apa?"

"gua pun stunt katak aje"

"Dia bukan Minah Rock, dia electro-minah lah"

"puas hati, boleh pakai"

"Gua pun pi stunt kodok kat East Coast lah"

"apalah dia macam mat kental bodek aje"

mmmmmmmmmmm ... the memories smolder ... :mrgreen:

as some of these terms are pretty graphic, pls PM fuzz, me or your friendly neighbourhood Mat Rocker for translation.

my dad used to live at brickworks
he spoke tons of his glory days
black sondol and all
haha

mullet and bangs.
slua koyang sampai besok takde slua.hahaha.mat rockers!

but now harder to tell the rockers from the posers.

wow tanglin halt nvr knew the story were true

what my dad says....he grew up there lotsa abang2 lepak there.play guitar..

hear some songs using some cassestte player or somthings smoke things out just lepak2 hahaha

glory days huh for the rockers...

but well things change now over change

seem quiet...cos everyday i pass by there mah work there haha

yep - Tanglin Halt was one a kind ...back then .... however, she also produced some of SG's finest musos ...

No Mat Rocker story can be complete without a Minah Current!

I was 14. She was 19.

The rest of the story, as they say, is rock and roll!

While Tanglin Halt is "historic" in the Mat Rock world, it still cant beat the hey days of Boon Lay/Taman Jurong.

Growing up there is stuff made of legends I tell you... :twisted:

"Lu jangan lupa babe, rock never deatthhh brudder...."

While Tanglin Halt is "historic" in the Mat Rock world, it still cant beat the hey days of Boon Lay/Taman Jurong.

Growing up there is stuff made of legends I tell you... :twisted:

"Lu jangan lupa babe, rock never deatthhh brudder...."

Aww damn can someone translate all the malay stuff to me. Seems damn interesting la lol. I never knew about all these stuff until now :(