Recording through amps

Cheez

I have a question. Not being a recording engineer, I need some insight into recording electric guitars and basses.

What is the signal chain from the instrument to the mixer/DAW like? Do you record directly (analog) from the amp or do you record using a mic aiming at the amp? Or do you actually record the clean signal then process it using plugins?

The reason of me asking is because I don't actually record "real" instruments but softsamplers. I'm wondering if I should get processed guitars and basses samples (ie with amp already processed) or if I should get a clean sound and process the sound using modelled amp plugins. Wondering which will give me the best effects.

Thanks!

yo cheez,

yes for your questions, it's "yes" for all of them. sometimes I even use all aspects and combine them together (more mixing work)

the clean sound and process via software method gives you flexibility.
but the processed sound samples may sound better than what you can process as they probably gone through killer amps/mics/preamps etc and specially mixed before they were sold off as samples.

so depends on the genre you're composing, you may wanna still stick to what you do best "samples" on.vsts like virtual guitarist etc.

Problem with getting processed samples is that I will need to get various different types of them to make sure I can use it across genres. If I have a clean sample, an amp plugin gives me versatility. Of course, as you said, I'm concerned about the quality of the latter. Obviously, processed ones are probably better. I currently have NI's Guitar Rig 3 and I'm wondering about IK Multimedia's stuff.

Quick question on the signal chain - do you actually mic the amp? That means place a mic in front of the amp? Or do you connect the amp directly into your mixer? Do you do the same for guitar and bass or differently? Trying to emulate the real thing as close as possible without the actual instrument (ie samples). Thanks!

Hi Cheez!