Recommendations for 25-key midi controller

derrickkwa

hey all, was just wondering. do u have any recommendations for a 25-key midi controller? i'm a writer and keyboardist, and want a portable controller for recording purposes, like when i'm in school and all. yeah. any recommendations?

thanks,
derrick

Alesis Photon X25

http://www.alesis.com/product.php?id=15

photon_x25.jpg

derrickkwa said:
hm...i read somewher (i think on harmony central) that m-audio controllers aren't as good? any thoughts on that?

Don't quote me, but other forums seem to think that the lower-key versions are OK. The main thing is they are also cheap. However, the 88 keys one (ie Keystation Pro 88 ) has some issues with it - I think that's where most of the controversies with preferences are. I personally have some gripes with the Keystation myself. There must be a reason why this year's Winter NAMM saw a lot of people using CME UF8 keyboards but hardly any M-audio 88 keys.

Bongman's suggestion of Alesis is also good - maybe they are more expensive?

hm..ok...where can i get the alesis? m-audio can be found at sinamex, rite? not sure abt where alesis ones can be found....

also, wad do u think of novation? and can they be found on singapore? from their website n reviews they seem good...but from teh pics, they seem a bit bigger than the alesis and m-audio...any comments?

-derrick

Sinamex also brings in Alesis.

Don't know where to get Novation. When you said larger, you probably meant the Remote. Don't forget Remote has faders whereas the Oxygen 8 and Axiom of M-audio and the Photon 25 and X25 of Alesis don't have faders. Remote LE is smaller.

When you check out M-audio's Oxygen at Sinamex, don't forget that version 2 of Oxygen 8 is out.

And I'm wrong - the Alesis Photon 25 is not that expensive - $275 from Sinamex. You can compare the prices at Sinamex's website.