Recent influx of eye candy gear

Hmmm... why is it... when gear comes in the picture, people must always (or at least, very likely to) bring in the audience?

What about the guitarist? How come his preferences, tastes and needs/wants seem to be thumbed down in view of the audience?

What abt the bedroom guitar player leh? All the fella does it play at home... strum a little. Say he has over-the-top gear-age. Crazy stuff. But he really likes it... he finds it nice and pleasing to the ear when he gets to chill and play.

No audience.

And what's there to fault? Over-indulgence?

Same reasons as the dude with 3 cars... zhng-ed to the max PCs... audiophiles... ?

Perhaps... but then you might as well slam a Stamp Collector - collecting useless pieces of paper.

I dunno abt you guys but... lately, I've been thinking... some guys who own ridiculous gear-age, and they post abt it... they really just want to share lah. They don't know a lot but they do what they can, share what they know. The gear section is the community to share such things so ... yeah.

There will always be some who show off lah... but aiyah, key word - some.

Yes, older guys who are now settled with a steady income may wanna enjoy good gear as they can afford it and become weekend warriors all for the fun and love of music.

But what annoys me are these *grommets*, just starting out and with their *internet* knowledge and mommys money to burn, plague forums with their porn and wise ass remarks !!

These kids showing off their new toy and talk as if they are doin a 7 nation tour ....irritating i tell you !!!

I find it all similar to this so called *financial advisors* who themselves have not built and run a business so as to give advice!!

It's nothing wrong if you can afford expansive gear at any age but please spend time using em and tell us about it later and don't exaggerate !

BTW please don't give the *tone or soul is in your fingers* ...thats *pride* talkin!
It's a fact touring musicians spend huge loads on gear which i wonder why if its all in the fingers ??!!

not all touring musicians get their gear free...anyway +1 to good gear and +1 to people not talking about not getting good gear. IF YOU GET WHAT I MEAN.

So... which... "side" are you on?

I am not taking any side.

On one hand I understand the need for gear for people like yourself, Shredcow, who are "bedroom guitar players" or "collectors". You are your own audience. The satisfaction of owning and listening to the gears you have and KNOWING that it sounds good cos of your experience through playing. And of course you can most definitely afford to get them. By all means, you would probably be the ones who has the best say in this matter.

What I am "thrashing" (when in fact, I see it more of "questioning") are those who think having a good gear is the answer to everything. A bulk of the people in this forum are young, still studying and rely much on their parents for finance. As goose puts it:

But what annoys me are these *grommets*, just starting out and with their *internet* knowledge and mommys money to burn, plague forums with their porn and wise ass remarks !!

All these showcasing of gears and stuff, it is not without side-effects. It creates and encourages the inevitable mentality that "you need such and such guitar and such and such gear to sound good", when in fact how good your song sounds encompass alot more than that. When you are in a band and you get on stage, you need to take account the soundman's equipment. When you are recording you need to take account the studio's equipment.

I think my rant is more focused towards guitarists who performs in band and who are looking to make albums or such.

Come to think of it, I think I posted my rant perhaps on the wrong thread. Also, I think I didn't word my posts carefully enough to explain what I have in mind. For that I apologise. But since PatheinRaindropMoe brought up the subject, I felt the need to add on is all :)

Come to think of it, I think I posted my rant perhaps on the wrong thread. Also, I think I didn't word my posts carefully enough to explain what I have in mind. For that I apologise. But since PatheinRaindropMoe brought up the subject, I felt the need to add on is all

THOA, no worries lah, forum = talking... just post! Need clarification, just ask lor... don't worry.

Btw, I don't really consider myself a "bedroom player" or "collector" because... I have played gigs before... and I still intended to, just that the musical direction has shifted somewhat. I'm no professional though - not in my plans.

Cos it's free?

Actually, is it really free? I've been READING (reading only ah) that pros are finding it hard to land free gear. Most of the time, its gear on loan or sold to them for a discount.

Not every pro out there gets a full endorsement...

Since we're discussing gear, here are my thoughts ....

1. posting acquisitions is ok to me. This is a community and we all can understand the joys od wanring to share our pride and joy with people of similar interests. For example, there is nothing worse than trying to explain why a person would pay premium for a banged up Relic to a non guitarist (or worse, your wife).

2. forum threads are made up of post containing good advice, honest gear sharing as well as post with blatant bragging, off topic comments and incorrect advice (although well intentioned). The trick is to recognise which forumites post qualified info and which dont.

3. Buying gear sometimes has little relevance to whether its used at gigs or in a bedroom and definitely not a gauge of people's playing ability. Its just the way life is - person has cash, person buys gear, the underlying pyschological intention is anybody's guess.

4. Whether boutique gear sounds better than mass market gear depends on the individual. In the end, if a piece of boutique gear provides more feel for the individual and gives him the confidence to play what he hears in his head, then thats really what making music is all about. If there weren't boutique guitar, amp and pedal makers, the world would be poorer for Choice and Innovation.

5. Support your local vendors!! Boutique products that we Singaporeans could only read about on US forums can be found in the greater numbers with local enthusiats. At the community level, we do owe it to the guys operating these boutique stores that import & sell locally. Importing such products is always a business risk given the size of the market and the slightly higher cost of production. If there is a product where you can get it locally, try doing so, if you think you can get it at a lower price than the Singapore vendor, give them a shot at your business thru advising them on the price and seeing if they can at least match (shipping & gst included),

6. Support your local artisans! I would personally consider it a pain in the ass if I had to send back my items to the US for repairs, or to be modded. The gear industry wouldnt be where it is now without the trouble-shooting and cutomisation services of people like Beez, Malcolm, Edder, Randolf and others.

yeah gear is gear, those who are jealous/envious shouldnt be, cause save up and work hard and u can afford it already..
owning boutique stuff is so okay with me... so long as u can afford it. even if ur a bad player, and u wanna buy ex stuff, go buy lor. that would be your problem, if anyone wants to say anything, say lor...

above all its still the love for guitar...

Commercial break! (I know you guys miss this heaps!)

Please support your local boutique builders. My pedals are available at Zen Guitarwerkz, TYMC and Eastside Guitars at Peninsula and Mrmisse at Clementi. However if you head towards Japan, its available at Psycherhythm in Shibuya, Tokyo.

:lol: :twisted: :lol: :twisted: :lol:

It's about getting the tone you want!

Nothing can really replace that feeling...

(I'm still looking)