O Levels Students 2009!!

I beg to differ. You're fine in ANY JC as long as you keep consistent and focused. I myself was from a lower-tier JC but I'm currently pursuing my undergrad degree in Engineering at one of the top 10 universities in the world. Guess, I turned out okay?

At the end of the day employers don't look at which school you're from, they look at
HOW WELL you performed in that school, and I speak from experience. So, I hope this might make some decisions easier for some of you guys. All the best with your applications.

Cheers

I assume you went there by getting a scholarship?

well, imho, the school DOES matter. but not as much as the results.

somewhat true, if you're picking a JC chances are you'll be picking your group of close friends for the next 10 years.

Results wise.. you dont have to be that good, just good enough will do.

Ajc wasnt fun and happening back when i was in there, and the teachers i had werent the best..

But i guess its pretty much the same across most JCs. There will be tons of muggers everywhere you go, and also many people with amazing last minute cramming abilities (somewhat unfair).
I've seen plenty of muggers who despite being consistently hardworking for the entire semester, still cannot make it for their A levels.

... JC and beyond is about studying smart, not studying hard.

I assume you went there by getting a scholarship?

Haha, I wish bro. Funding myself. Well, it's a very long and convoluted story but I'm sadly no longer offcially affiliated to Singapore (had to cancel my PRship). So, I wasn't eligible for any scholarships :(

i dont agree.. a good jc thinks that their student are good so they teach very little.. compare sr's notes to vj's and you will find their's are much more detailed

Sorry bro, but I had been to many different JCs from the top to the not-so-impressive(don't ask me why-it's a long story) and my friends around me all went to "top" JCs.

I can tell you that firstly, the environment is very different. Most students in "top" JCs definite pick up things much more quickly and they will learn more because of their better capabilities. Their notes may be minimal but it's good enough.

The environment in the lower-rung JCs is really different. People in these schools are of really different learning abilities. Some are really slow-learners but are hardcore and studious in their studies. Some are really just lazy bastards and some are just your average students. The range of students in these JCs is vast and you'll meet people of more different abilities and I'll assure that a lot of them belong to the average-learners and slow-learners while the "top" JCs have a larger group of fast-learners. And similarly, the notes they offer in the lower-rung JCs, they're minimal too.

And SRJC... Their GP exam papers are ridiculous. No offense to anyone though.

One more thing... My experience in AJ was really bad.

i dont agree.. a good jc thinks that their student are good so they teach very little.. compare sr's notes to vj's and you will find their's are much more detailed

I think it depends on the subject (hence the department and teachers). In my JC the chem department had a well organized system, good notes etc. The physics department was a bit.... not to say bad but a little disorganized.

I remember my friend waxing lyrical about the Hwa Chong bio notes, and she was real passionate about bio (biofreak :)). I can't really comment on this as I took physics :cool:

Haha, I wish bro. Funding myself. Well, it's a very long and convoluted story but I'm sadly no longer offcially affiliated to Singapore (had to cancel my PRship). So, I wasn't eligible for any scholarships :(

Well then my friend you must understand not everyone is rich enough to fund an overseas scholarship, especially the average Singaporean. So it's more or less local uni or private degree(in Singapore).

I never mentioned anything about going abroad to study. All i was trying to say was whichever institution you go to, just stay focused and motivated and the results will follow suit. Local or abroad, employers look at what achievements you've made. That's why I personally feel that which JC you go to doesn't matter.

However, emphisrow made a good point.

Commendable. :)
I think in your case though, because it's an overseas University, they look at your results much more than your school, since they are not likely to be in direct know-how of whether SRJC is better than TPJC is better than VJC etc. If you are studying within Singapore, however, what school you are from might matter to a small to large degree, depending on the relevant skill sets, especially when finding jobs (I.e. graduating with top grades from RJC is no doubt more impressive than graduating ITE). Same applies to International level schools. Saying you graduated from Cambridge or Yale will no doubt leave a greater impact than saying you graduated from Middlesex University or whichever.

P.S. I feel the pain of funding your own education. I'm about to do the same as well for my Ph.D. I had to work for a few years to even start to save up.

Does ur jc then matter when it comes to future job opportunities? Say A n B have exactly the same degree from the same uni. But A was a student from a top jc as compared to B who was from a average jc.Does A have a greater advantage then B?

Also,hw is meridian!?!

imho, from my view. the JC does matter. but depends on your job.

if it's a sale position, someone from a JC associated with a network of wealthier people or who would have better contacts, is potentially someone who can bring something a little better to the table..

Firstly,tks 4 all the help.Much appreciated.

Dun really need ppl to motivate me, bt living in the east the jcs nearest to my house would be tj n vj,both of which i am not eligible for. So next in consideration would be meridian which i hav heard is nt too bad from several ppl. (Although i oso heard their jc1 retain rate is high!!)

Jobwise,i hope to go towards engineering n my dad,who hires fresh graduates out of nus/ntu, tells me tat jc dosent really matter. Bt my teacher,who use to work in HR, insists otherwise...

Yes, consider MJC. And if you study hard enough and put in your best, it's not that easy to retain.. IT does affect lah.... if the truth is that it doesnt affect, why do people travel so far just to study in hwa chong or raffles. Lol. imo.

Mjc is not bad, or else how is it possible for them to have a COP of 10 after less than 10 years?

as a fellow SRjcian. please do not come to my school.

knowing how dumb we are(most of the people here), they choose to focus more on character development.
imo, i've been ostracized for wanting to put more efforts into studies than CCA given the fact that i screwed my o's and my foundation isnt as good.
well, the school condemns my actions for missing CCA cos i have extra lessons.
+1 for SRJC.

a dumb school, which is gonna get dumber with the poor management of the school edcuation system

if you do go mjc, just concentrate on studying. the ccas there are cmi. principal loves academic results too much. join a slack cca and enjoy ur stay.