Lead Guitarist that only wants the name

all i can say is, live and let live.

back to the point, at the end of the day, the problem is very simple... if u got any unhappiness, voice it out to the band... if u think u r better and they did not choose u, so be it.. nobody told u life's fair right?

sometimes u probably be better off playing with others... its all about the chemistry... and one more thing, be humble :)

the problem is simple, u did not get selected for whatever lame excuses they can come up with, dun assume they do not call u just because that guy wanna be the lead guitarist :)

can i clearly state ur initial post as a very big assumption?

Have u been for an audition for a guitar slot and then the guitarist ask u to play what he plays? he's aware that you're many times better than him but only ask u to play rhythm for the band. You know if u play lead u can create better melodies out of simple note for note lead/fill-ins that he plays. I can even play lefthanded better than him. Then he said he'll call u but he never did becoz he wants to be the lead guitaist for the band. WTH.

I guess nowadays the trend is all about glamour.

Okay 2 assumptions now. Unless u can prove these 2 points, your argument right from the start is flawed and basically u r just being sour that they did not pick u into the band because u r better.

On the hindsight, it isn't so bad that they did not choose u. now u got the freedom to choose whoever u want to jam with and create ur wonderful melodies with. isn't it better?

instead of people picking, now u pick them :)

obviously u didn't read the whole thread. my friend is in that band. we know the facts very well and we are sure about it. why should i tell u? i shouldn't be telling u. the discussion is abt someting else. I might as well tell u where he lives, what band it is..tell u every single thing rite? but that's not the whole point. got it? understand the title please.

what are my arguments? what am i arguing about?

"Okay 2 assumptions now. Unless u can prove these 2 points, your argument right from the start is flawed and basically u r just being sour that they did not pick u into the band because u r better.

On the hindsight, it isn't so bad that they did not choose u. now u got the freedom to choose whoever u want to jam with and create ur wonderful melodies with. isn't it better?

instead of people picking, now u pick them"

i did not make any comment on the abovementioned. sour? did i ask is it bad they didn't choose me? did i ask for any suggestion/solution? is there any problem in the first place. where did u get that? pls create another thread for your own story.

maybe u r another weirdo. stick to the topic.

It seems like you're always asking everyone to refer to the title of this thread/rejecting whatever they say. Could you please state whats the purpose of this thread and what do you really want to accomplish, since this isnt a rant, or is it?

yeah me too. a few of my frens gone solo...hmm...late jimi, satch...man...the old days...sobs...

Wtf?
lol...

hmm oh well, i guess someone better close this thread before peopl start hating each other. spread music and not love people.

you see i always view things this way "as long as it doesn't bother my ricebowl, im OK-GO with it" go ahead do your best. Im still alive and well. just a bump on the road.

Have u been for an audition for a guitar slot and then the guitarist ask u to play what he plays? he's aware that you're many times better than him but only ask u to play rhythm for the band. You know if u play lead u can create better melodies out of simple note for note lead/fill-ins that he plays. I can even play lefthanded better than him. Then he said he'll call u but he never did becoz he wants to be the lead guitaist for the band. WTH.

To me, a guitar player is a guitar player. There is no such thing as lead guitarist or rhythm guitarist/ 1st guitars and 2nd guitars. Just give the name guitars and then whoever create the solo/fill-ins he play the lead lah for that song. why got such ppl like this huh? Why cant just give and take. Share and care so can learn from each other?

obviously they are looking for a rhythm player.

and yes, there IS such a thing as a lead guitarist or rhythm guitarist/1st guitar and 2nd guitar. when 1st guitarist solos, 2nd guitarist plays rhythm. when 2nd guitarist solos, 1st guitarist plays rhythm. when both solo, the bass or keyboards hold the rhythm for them. understooded?

not sure about the glamor part though

It seems like you're always asking everyone to refer to the title of this thread/rejecting whatever they say. Could you please state whats the purpose of this thread and what do you really want to accomplish, since this isnt a rant, or is it?

because they are out of topic. its just a topic for discusison, nothing to accomplish. somebody even said its an interesting topic.

obviously they are looking for a rhythm player.

and yes, there IS such a thing as a lead guitarist or rhythm guitarist/1st guitar and 2nd guitar. when 1st guitarist solos, 2nd guitarist plays rhythm. when 2nd guitarist solos, 1st guitarist plays rhythm. when both solo, the bass or keyboards hold the rhythm for them. understooded?

not sure about the glamor part though

im wont repeat anymore. he's looking for someone who can play both lead and rythm. refer to previous post.

to each his own. i play what i feel. i dont play only lead or only rythm. so wat is that called?

"I guess nowadays the trend is all about glamour."

haha very glamourous meh? i rather rock out on rhythm guitar, its so much easier to be a better showman on rhythm than on lead. Stage theatrics wise, unless of course you are Angus Young or Slash.

anyways i see this thread nothing more than a rant thread than a discussion. Why? Everyone here is contributing suggestions and all you'r doing is taking a defensive stance, steering away from people asking you questions and simply saying it has nothing to do with the topic. I know that you are using your above case scenario as an example but why cant we question more about it? Oh and btw, it aint off topic cos its related to your case. Did i just randomly type something from another thread and copy and paste it down here? Obviously not. its seems very much to me you just started this thread hoping that it would go your way, by dissing such "wierdos" as you label them.

No offence to threadstarter but i hope you could address my points above. Peace.

point #1 when conversing with rockito: never try to out-talk him because he is rather strong in protecting/imposing his points and all other suggestions/replies are mere out-of-topic discussion.

i don't understand the nature of the thread, but i am just gonna respect the threadstarter and let him continue his "discussion".

the day when u stop thinking about such an issue and just continue playing on the guitar, is the day when you realized you have matured and grown out of such trivial matters.

so what if the band did not choose u just because the guitarist wanna be a lead guitarist?? nobody promised u a fair life, so just live with it. i mean what can u do about it? go bash the guy up? or challenge him to a guitar battle? discuss about it? sorry bro, no offence, but it seems like a thread for u to rant.

maybe you dun see it yourself but it's okay. enjoy ur discussion,

rockito.... Life is unfair, get over it!!!!!

Put urself in the lead guitarist shoe, imagine u have a band and u need a second guitarist, and the guitarist is better thn u and he wanna play lead, do u let him?

Seriously, do u let him? Seriously..

I know your ego is bruised, chill ma fren..

Bro rockito, what music style u play uh? my band !DETSAW still looking for guitarist..
Hhahahahhaah.. interested? but i dunno whether u can play lefthanded better thn my lead guitarist.. if u can thn u be the lead.. lmao..

point #1 when conversing with rockito: never try to out-talk him because he is rather strong in protecting/imposing his points and all other suggestions/replies are mere out-of-topic discussion.

i don't understand the nature of the thread, but i am just gonna respect the threadstarter and let him continue his "discussion".

the day when u stop thinking about such an issue and just continue playing on the guitar, is the day when you realized you have matured and grown out of such trivial matters.

so what if the band did not choose u just because the guitarist wanna be a lead guitarist?? nobody promised u a fair life, so just live with it. i mean what can u do about it? go bash the guy up? or challenge him to a guitar battle? discuss about it? sorry bro, no offence, but it seems like a thread for u to rant.

maybe you dun see it yourself but it's okay. enjoy ur discussion,

my view on the subject. and i repeat to each his own. to me, i prefer sumbody who can play lead as well as rythm. Not only rythm or only lead. And i prefer the band to put just 'guitars' for both instead of 'lead guitar' and 'rythm guitar'. Im not saying its wrong.

about ppl who only play for entirely glamour, fame or babes, im against it. sum ppl play for passion and love for music.

anything wrong with my views? u have yours then post yours. but not a fairy tale story.

neuro obviously dont understand but some ppl who posted here do understand. its just a discussion. read the thread carefully. not all are out of topic discussion like yours.

neuro said its seems like a thread for me to rant and let him tink dat way.

cliff, somebody in dis thread said earlier. it all depends who u end up with. for me, i want somebody who can play both. so can play stuffs like arch enemy, iron maiden, kse and many more. listen to these bands, nice rite? i tink the members in these bands can put aside ego for the good of the band. obviously to achieve this, i wont call up sumbody who only plays rythm. if its for oasis kind of song, its fine. no offence but oasis is reali realli a good band with nice songs. if the person is better than me im fine with that. he's not in my band for a shredding competition. he's there to play together with me. to contribute for the band. i shld be grateful.

ized, i dont play music for glamour.

guys i need no suggestion coz i have no problem or watsoever. u r forcing me to admit im i have problem? what problem? i dont need suggestion coz i know what i want in a band. what i want? read above or previous threads.

its just a discussion about those who are in for only fame, name, glamour, babes. if u r so offensive in your post, i guess u are one of those who 'feel' it.

you totally left me speechless.

ur topic started out as u not being not chosen because another wants to play lead. 2nd paragraph u discussed why the naming of lead and rhythm when sometimes rhythm can play lead and vice versa. 3rd paragraph u made a totally big assumption (or guess) that the current trend is geared towards glamour.

Let me break it down for you :)

Rant alert!! Woah what's with the capitalized WTH? haha.

To me, a guitar player is a guitar player. There is no such thing as lead guitarist or rhythm guitarist/ 1st guitars and 2nd guitars.

my view on the subject. and i repeat to each his own. to me, i prefer sumbody who can play lead as well as rythm. Not only rythm or only lead. And i prefer the band to put just 'guitars' for both instead of 'lead guitar' and 'rythm guitar'. Im not saying its wrong.

Oh really? There is no such thing as lead or rhythm guitarist? Then why later change ur mind bro? You had an enlightenment? First you say no lead or rhythm, then you acknowledged the position of both and said why not just put 'guitars' instead? (how childish can?)

[Discussion] People, what do you think about lead and rhythm? Should we name them as such or just call both of them guitar player?

I give you a fake scenario as follow:-

Slash: "Hi Guitar Mag, I am Slash, the guitar player of Guns & Roses."
Izzy: "Hi Guitar Mag, I am Izzy, the guitar player of Guns & Roses too."
Reporter: "Hi both of you. So who plays the lead?"

Food for Thought - How would you expect them to answer?

Just give the name guitars and then whoever create the solo/fill-ins he play the lead lah for that song. why got such ppl like this huh? Why cant just give and take. Share and care so can learn from each other?

Complains never end :)

Are you sure? I agree to a certain extent only. Once you are in the limelight, hard to not feel the fame, fortune (maybe) and glamour.

cliff, somebody in dis thread said earlier. it all depends who u end up with. for me, i want somebody who can play both. so can play stuffs like arch enemy, iron maiden, kse and many more. listen to these bands, nice rite? i tink the members in these bands can put aside ego for the good of the band. obviously to achieve this, i wont call up sumbody who only plays rythm. if its for oasis kind of song, its fine. no offence but oasis is reali realli a good band with nice songs. if the person is better than me im fine with that. he's not in my band for a shredding competition. he's there to play together with me. to contribute for the band. i shld be grateful.

I think I am beginning to understand rockito's point a little. I have been to the bands' website (those you listed). They did not specify who plays lead or rhythm, so it means both can be playing either parts in different songs. I guess you shouldn't let the position restrict your creativity. Okay, I am a lead guitarist, but that doesn't mean that if the rhythm guitarist can whack out something good, then I rip his idea or tell him to just strum chords while I play what he came up with. So what if you are the rhythm or lead? It doesn't make a difference so long as @ the end of the day, the band churns out good tunes.

I'm not one who bothers alot about the names or leadership role in the band. I would be better off spending quality time improving on a song or write new melodies/progressions than to be concerned over such trivial issues. It's yours to agree or disagree.

Woah, that is quite a lengthy one. Apologies.

you totally left me speechless.

ur topic started out as u not being not chosen because another wants to play lead. 2nd paragraph u discussed why the naming of lead and rhythm when sometimes rhythm can play lead and vice versa. 3rd paragraph u made a totally big assumption (or guess) that the current trend is geared towards glamour.

Let me break it down for you :)

Rant alert!! Woah what's with the capitalized WTH? haha.

Oh really? There is no such thing as lead or rhythm guitarist? Then why later change ur mind bro? You had an enlightenment? First you say no lead or rhythm, then you acknowledged the position of both and said why not just put 'guitars' instead? (how childish can?)

[Discussion] People, what do you think about lead and rhythm? Should we name them as such or just call both of them guitar player?

I give you a fake scenario as follow:-

Slash: "Hi Guitar Mag, I am Slash, the guitar player of Guns & Roses."
Izzy: "Hi Guitar Mag, I am Izzy, the guitar player of Guns & Roses too."
Reporter: "Hi both of you. So who plays the lead?"

Food for Thought - How would you expect them to answer?

Complains never end :)

Are you sure? I agree to a certain extent only. Once you are in the limelight, hard to not feel the fame, fortune (maybe) and glamour.

read my previous post. he's looking for sum1 who can play both lead and rythm. so WTH. he can just look for sum1 who can play rythm only rite?

to me, one should not just play only lead or only rythm. in MY dictionary there is no such thing as lead guitarist or rythm guitarist. only guitarist or guitar player. to me a guitarist or guitar player can play both rythm and lead. y cant u just accept my opinion? its mine. not yours. i understand, to you there is such thing as lead or rythm guitarist bcoz maybe u r a lead guitarist so i let it be. I play both so what do u call me then?

then what about the Amott brothers of Arch Enemy? who is the lead guitarist? who is the rythm guitarist? both of them are the lead and rythm so call them 'lead and rythm guitarists'? the norm would be 'guitars' or guitarist.

"why got such ppl like this? why can;t share and care?"
have u ever watch a forum or debate ? in every discussion, there is an intro. these are introductory questions for the title. u can share your views if u want. who's complaining?

"i GUESS the trend is ALL about GLAMOUR"
yes i agree ppl will feel the fame. but do u tink all rockstars or celebs think the same. DO u think all of them think its ALL about FAME. Some of them do it for the love and passion too..not ENTIRELY about GLAMOUR.

I'm not one who bothers alot about the names or leadership role in the band. I would be better off spending quality time improving on a song or write new melodies/progressions than to be concerned over such trivial issues. It's yours to agree or disagree.

i did not change my mind. u got it wrong.

i dont bother as well. the topic is about lead guitarist who only want the name. u can call yourself a lead guitarist or rythm guitarist if u want. me just a guitar player. i have no problem with that but i think u have prob with my opinion. if thats the case, i let it be.

Yes I got you on the part where u said the band is looking for someone who can play lead and rhythm. So you are able to do it I presume and you go on to tell us that they didn't pick u because the guy wanna be a lead guitarist. It is very confusing. So what is the real reason?

The guy wanna be the lead guitarist or that you are not able to play both lead and rhythm? Pardon me, but your posts are rather contradictory and confusing.

Then he said he'll call u but he never did becoz he wants to be the lead guitarist for the band. WTH.

And here we go again with definitions.. I play both rhythm and lead and in fact, I encourage my rhythm guy to go on playing more riffs and lead-works.. I am just called the lead guitarist for formality sake.. In real life, I am switchable in both aspects.. You can call me a rhythm guitarist and hell yeah, I will still solo on stage and play those signature riffs o' mine.. who cares seriously?

Maybe your way of sharing views seem to be endless complaints to me, but it's alright :) I am just airing my views. Up to you to agree or disagree. Here, I did not impose upon you to agree with me. Like you said, to each his own - I respect that ALOT, so please respect my views.

Now to the glamor portion.. I, for one, would not know their reason behind what they are doing.. like you said, some do it for passion and love of music, some just for music.

So my question to you is, how do you determine who are the ones really doing it for passion and love of music and who are the ones who do it solely for fame and glory and glamor??

Can you tell/differentiate? I can't and if you do, please let me know how to so I can see the world in a clearer light.

So until you can prove that a person playing music for the giltz & glamor, I suggest you should just chill and whack some nice tunes outta ur guitar.

To me, a guitar player is a guitar player. There is no such thing as lead guitarist or rhythm guitarist/ 1st guitars and 2nd guitars. Just give the name guitars and then whoever create the solo/fill-ins he play the lead lah for that song. why got such ppl like this huh? Why cant just give and take. Share and care so can learn from each other?

Correct me if I am wrong. I quote you on ur initial post (because that is where all the problems begin). You think that just because the guy didn't choose you to be in band because you are better than him means that he is the lead guitarist who only wants the name?

Is that it?