How to DIY practice room

ala_carte

could someone give me a possible way to turn my room into a practice room? dimensions: 4 X 4.5m. i'm a total noob at pa but i've settled all my guitar stuff (amps, guits and pedalboards).

My other band members consist of 1 bassist, 1 keyboardist doubling as backup vocals, 1 drummer and a lead singer. As mentioned, i do not have anything needed to play their roles in a band(no bass amps, no drumsets. starting from scratch).

i'm on a VERY tight budget but i would not mind giving a bit more if the quality of the item is standard or above standard. need someone to explain the difference between active and passive systems, terminology, brand recommendations(diagrams to facilitate explanation would be great).

if explaining on the forum is too lengthy or it has been done before, kindly pm me regarding the related materials.

thx a bunch guys!

1 vocalist, 1 guitarist, 1 keyboardist , 1 drummer , 1 bassist.

well i cast my vote on a "headphone jamming" based mindset.
[vocalist] > [microphone] > [mixer]
[guitar amp] > [microphone] > [mixer]
[keyboards] > [direct line in] > [mixer]
[bassist] > [direct line in] > [mixer]
[drummer] > [nothing. drums are loud]
------------------
[mixer] > [line out into...] > [6 channel headphone amp]
[headphone amp] > [guitarist/bassist/keyboardist/drummer]

there you go. you can hear each other.

you probably need to buy alot of cheap headphones and a couple of mics, a headphone amp , a 6 channel mixer and quite a few cables. check out www.behringer.com.sg or other brands if you got more $ $ $.
and make sure your headphone/earphones have long cable wires, otherwise you guys will look "intimate" standing so close to each other while jamming. you can buy extension audio cables from simlim or harvey norman.

P.S : when you've got all of the above. next time you can do
[mixer] > [headphone amp] > [stereo audio cable out into your computer sound card and record yourself.]