Gun Shot in Outram MRT

the non lethal weapons are not practical in this kinda situations. pepper spray in an enclosed underground area? no way. taser shock, you need to be in contact with the criminal and you taking an unneccessary risk on your life.

Ummm... I think Tasers have an effective 'contact-less' range of up to 5 metres leh.

Taser - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Anyway, the report on Tasers usage in the US LE scene indicates that it is not as 'reliable' lah and the results inconsistent too. Maybe that's why the SPF is not currently deploying them.

It's just like security patrol on a Segway machine. Though you'd think it may be fast to on them and nab crooks but looking at the uneven terrain in most of Singapore, with small corners here and there and not many ramps - it is obviously not feasible at all for cops to be on them. Are they still being used in Changi Airport?

You have to ask the question about practicality of having an extra gadget (eg taser) on an already heavily laden belt. PR set, ammo, cuffs, gun, baton; bulky items that's already a clumsy affair to begin with. I served my national service in the police force and believe me it's not easy to run with those things around your waist.

If I may say this, I'm seeing almost a pattern in this discussion as with alot of discussion about the music scene in this forum: we are looking to the States (the West) as the 'standard'.

Things are just not the same.

Here, there's least 2 officers to an FRC most of the time. The states usually have one officer per car, hence options for self defence is significantly higher. The kind of work that police officers here face are mostly community based; some of which can be really ridiculous eg Neighbour wanting police to shoot dog cos it's barking too loud (ok, that's an exaggeration, but you get the picture).

The hazards from criminal situations are also significantly lesser. It's not everyday people carry weapons in the streets, let alone a gun. In car chases, patrol cars can't break a certain speed limit. They can't do manouvres you see in COPS to stop the vehicle you are chasing after. They can't even draw out their gun and say "Freeze" if the suspect is not armed at all.

Psychologically, a better armed law enforcement personel may equate to a less approchable/friendly civil servant. Would you go up to Rambo to ask for directions to Orchard?

In short, it is an altogether different system we are talking about.

However, because of the place where this incident occur, the possibility of an undesirable incident involving a member of public is pretty high. Fortunately enough nothing of sort happened. I do agree that non violence is the ideal outcome that can possibly be achieved in the situation, and hope that sucha solution can be looked into.

In the meantime, though, such is the way things are.

And he could have aimed at the leg or hand if he is in a Hollywood movie.... :P

i think our cops do carry tasers. i saw a cop with two pistols. one was his standary issue gun and the other one looked bulkier like some kinda shock pistol or smtg.

we got psycho ahpek murderers running around looking for a doublekill, and we want to have weapons that don't injure people

=Godspeed64;568791Btw, aren't the cops placed at MRT stations from SOC?

not soc la... its the new team the make to rounding2 the mrt.
they wear the same like soc but they dun go for the basic course and riot training.

It was a good decision I feel, to follow the rules. At least he won't be considered in the wrong by the court.

But I seriously think that shooting the man down was better than the outcome if he hadn't. Like Godspeed64 said, this isn't the USA. Here in Singapore, guns are not a norm. In the US, almost everybody has a gun.

It is only fair for policemen to carry loaded guns, because safe as Singapore may be, we still have murderers, terrorists and who knows what else out there?

Here's my analogy: If a suspect who has taken a life is approached by the cops, and he charges, its reasonable to assume that this man was the murderer, because in his mind he is thinking that the police know he was responsible, and he decided to fight back. If he wasn't the murderer, would he have charged at them? He would have pushed his innocence instead.

So he charges at the policeman, who is not sure what to do. But he follows the rules, warns the fella and since the fella doesn't stop, opens fire. If he didn't, or was too slow, the fella, who was only 3 metres away, would stab him, perhaps grab his gun as well, and might kill the other cop, or a number of bystanders.

So, it is definitely reasonable for the cop to open fire. He might have saved many innocent lives (including his own and his partner's as well, and many families from heartache) by firing this single shot.

If the lives of the innocent and the enforcers of peace at one side, and the other is a murderer, whose life is better taken from who?

another simple question to throw at people who disagree with the shooting. WHAT ARE THE GUNS FOR? for show? all of them blank isit. cannot be what that way the cops in sg are doomed, if criminal groups find out.

singapore is becoming more cockier than ever.mas selamat gone.shooting at outram.whats next?niggas and mafias?

Well, it's not as if life is perfect.

Even when you think you are doing things the 'right' way, the proven way or whatever - things can and will go wrong someday, somewhere.

As long as man still inhabits this planet earth of ours, I don't think we can see a day of peace and love in every single moment anywhere at any given time.

And the terrorist farkers have caused us little conveniences here and there, and make us look at each other differently.

I remember vividly September 11 2001 as we were preparing for a meeting in the morning and my director came up and sat next to me and smiled, quite smugly, and said "The World Trade Centre twin towers had just been destroyed. A couple of Muslim terrorists most likely, the reports said." I knew about the news cos I saw it on television in the morning.

And this director of mine is like one of those holier-than-thou God-fearing Christians who preaches to everybody all the time, sending SMSes to everybody in the office saying "Jesus loves you." during CNY, Hari Raya and Deepavali, and of course Christmas lah. No kidding.

So, when he told me that, I thought to myself "What the f**k has that got to do with me, asshole?". His face really read like "My religion is better than yours!". The words were almost written on his forehead.

Anyway, since 9/11 I remember cursing in my mind when I had trouble finding dustbins because at some point, some terrorist farker put a bomb inside a rubbish bin somewhere, and so the Singapore authorities said to themselves - no rubbish bins for Singaporeans! Either that or you risk dying from a rubbish bin bomb!

Goodness, what else? No turbans for Sikhs and no songkoks for Malays cos some terrorist idiots managed to hide a bomb in his headgear and came up to some minister and bombed his head off, and killing others in the process?

Ridiculous sia...

This is exactly what terrorists (no, not just the Muslim terrorists) want. For us to live in fear, to cause disruptions in our everyday lives, for us to view each other suspiciously, for us to eventually hate each other.

I had a meeting with an American client yesterday and he has stayed here in Singapore for like 7 years and he says he loves it here! He doesn't miss New York at all (crazy! Hahaha!!) he says. Well, maybe because he's like 60 years old and his two kids are here (wife is Chinese Singaporean). He loves Malay food (me, I can do without it) but the one thing he said to me that struck me was that he viewed each and every Chinese, Indian and Malay as Singaporeans.

He said that in the US, everyone is viewed as either white, black, hispanic, native indian, and so on. He says in Singapore, he's proud to observe that the tolerance level here is quite admirable. Even if people are not happy with each other, they don't take it out on the streets and shout all those racist remarks and labels. Thats why he loves Singapore although he says the current government practices need a rethink. He's damn pissed off that such a rich country like Singapore still has homeless people, and children who go by somedays without lunch money. That the men in white can still sleep at night when poor children are going without education and proper nutrition, and 90 cents of a dollar donated to NKF goes to 'administrative costs'. And people are committing suicide every other day due to money problems.

Ok man, I wish I can write more but I need to prepare for a jam session now.

Have a good weekend, peeps!

another simple question to throw at people who disagree with the shooting. WHAT ARE THE GUNS FOR? for show? all of them blank isit. cannot be what that way the cops in sg are doomed, if criminal groups find out.

+1

This made me rethink about the empty and loaded magazines that a certain group of guard duty personnel carry when on operational duty at a certain airport. The whole 'no loaded magazines' in weapon think sounds so spas especially with a terrorist running aroun these days.

^^ nice, insightful post by a softie named after a gun :mrgreen:

Sonofagun, where got a gun named hecklerkoch sia?

It's only that I have two distant uncles who live in Germany and they are founders of a slingshot factory that makes very good slingshots that can help eliminate your pigeon problems.

Hehehehehehe...

:mrgreen: