Advice on which pedals I should buy.

ra1nforest

Hi i am a sec 2 student who just start playing guitar 3 months ago.My current guitar is a firebird copy which i bought it for 599 at blackwood.i need help on deciding what pedals i should buy.i am interested in overdrive,distortion,fuzz and wah.pls include the brand and where to buy it.i am ok wif any price.^^

I would recommend you SD1, DS1 from Boss for starters. No need to get expensive pedals. They are variations of the original design, which i've stated. The most important thing to get is a nice tube amp.

Get the vox wah. I forgot the model. 847 or something. I've stop chasing gears.

just hunt for 2nd hand on the buy / sell forum lah, these pedals are just stepping stones, u're most probably gonna mod them or sell them in the future

just hunt for 2nd hand on the buy / sell forum lah, these pedals are just stepping stones, u're most probably gonna mod them or sell them in the future

Well, he started playing guitar for few months, so i guess its approriate for him to get acquainted with these basics rather than jumping into $200-$300 pedal.

As I've said, get a nice tube amp 1st...

well i dont recommend tube amps for beginners.
The reason is that they are expensive to maintain.Replacing the tubes cost alot.and well hes kinda young to afford tube amps.no offence just my opinion.:cool:

i would recommend the roland cube 15x or 30x.
or the marshall 15watt amps/marshall 15watt micro stacked.

hey, check out the cool cat pedals by danelectro.
they are cheap and pretty darn good for most people to admit who pay high dollar for boutique pedals.

If you are looking for a overdrive pedal, try the cool cat transparent overdrive. you can get one from davis at $38++. It's not the best of lookers but it get's the job done.

lg_TRANSOD.jpg

This $38 cool cat tranparent overdrive put my $$$ hardwire cm2 tube overdrive to shame...

:)

Last edited:
well the biyang metal end king is not bad for a distortion.