What was, is or you hope yr NS vocation wud be?

fgl

NS vocations ...

me - armskoteman - from after recruit till end reservist...sleep & play guitar in the bunk all the way...

the best vocation imo is MP (military police)

150 bucks combat allowance (now maybe more) and can act as though you are damn powerful. the best part is, you can stay out.

i repeat. pes a/b. combat allowance. stay out

if you like dogs maybe can play with the labradors at dog unit. really a useless dog can't do anything

doomzz - armskoteman is in charge of the company's weapons, rifles, saw gun, m203, gpmg, 84mm etc..

morrning open armskote room - men draw weapon..

then go canteen, makan, play video games, go back bunk - koon...

lunch - go back bunk - play guitar

evening men return weapon -close shop & go home...

BTW I'm Pes A FIT but donno why still kena armskoteman - only thing I can think of is that I must have dun a good job during active days & in my army class 1 exam I got distiction lah...

my ippt take $$$ sumo... strange ....

PES C1 from enlistment...so after BMT, vocation is Admin Assistant.
Wasn't called up for reservist for a couple of years, then suddenly kena transferred to Civil Defence...as Signal Ops assistant (or whatever that means) handling Somerset MRT shelter :lol:

Well....for me, I was in the RSN Band. Everyday play the guitar or the trumpet. Went overseas with the 'War ship'. Play music on the deck....suddenly it rains....hehehe....!! I only save my guitar. The rest is gament property....

The only 'siong' part is the NDP parade if we're involve. From Jan start practicing and we march poorly while playing. If they let us sit...we'll play well. Hehehe...!! The RSN Band was well known for that the last time. The proudest moment is to be selected as one of the Trumpeters for the fanfare in the NDP '88 which was held at the National Stadium. But due to limited Trumpeters selected, we can't be heard and they don't have any mics to support. So, we fake playing it. Hehehehe......!!! Practicing the fanfare for half a year and never got to play it in the real event.

Reservist, I was a sharp shooter. Wonder why they select me for that. Shoot anyhow lah....failed IPPT....go for RT...go overseas for work and all that stopped. Now back in Singapore ...no more reservist cause they found out that I'm already too old to join the army. Hehehe...!! What a relief.

So that's how my National Service story. Hehehe....!!

Saluti!
Tetragrammaton

wah so far alotta softies had relax ns like me ...

any SIONG STORIES...?

e.g kena Riflemen, Commando, Guards etc et?

wah got such thing as never kena call up for a few years ah?

i rather not disclose my vocation. but it is service, and i am pes B (despite all my attempts)

after i ord i just cabot, no letter no posting no nothing (touch wood)

before you all get too carried away. any confidential stuff MUST be kept confidential.

we dont want to be called up to lim kopi.

hahah unless your unit no more like mine James... :lol: :wink:

ahem -yes of course confidential military secrets MUST remain as such - big brother is wtaching...(?)

hey wats YOUR vocation Mr Soft?

i was a soundman with mdc. ha..ha.. one week at least 3 shows. weekend something also got show.

you all go gig, see all those amps, speakers, mixer, lights ... right? ya, we got to push all those stuff up two 3 tonners. go to venue and set up within 1 hour. sound check. rest for dinner. showtime. tear down everything. push up 3 tonner. go back camp. unpack everything.

go home about 11pm.

but it was fun.

woah James..next time if Retro Groove need roadie...oppss never mind...

yes, in retrospect army days were kinda fun

I even remember at one point every weekend sat night stay out all night carousing with the guys, pick up "Minah Rock" ad "electro Minahs" then overniting at East Coast Park Beach - those were the days .... sigh...

then during RESERVIST period - all the guys were just PLAIN HORNY!

wow fgl ur 1 like damn power. i kenna pes A but havent get enlisted yet... still waiting for letter. hope to kenna ur vocation man! LOL. then can up my guitar playing skills! LOL

doomzz: donno leh...more like luck... but u never can tell...

b4 enlistment - I kena police force. Then I itchy backside I differ for studies..

After that kena ITD TEKONG - infantry then supposed to go Safincos for NCO training - donno what screwed up somewhere? After temporary injury kena posted as perm store then armskote...maybe they had shortage of ppl those days?

tetragrammaton - yeahhhhhh!!!!!!! i was SAF band B bro, or the airforce band was wat it was called back when u were there. i have soooo sooo many gd memories. 30 drummers to learn from and ask. just practiced drums everyday.

my best moment was the first time i put on tht number 1 and marched out on orchard rd for the changing of guards. family and friends were all there. aiyoooo so gd man, esp when u march out with "bandstand" captain yusri was our conductor. was he there then? and crazy staff tay and master mike taught me on tanglin camp. words cannot descirbe it when i first walked into tht lush greenery after finishing my scout course. words cannot describe.

my last parade was army open house, tht was a gd closing to a gd NS life. i was really really lucky to get into the band man. i owe someone something for the honour.

gd times

just FYI only ...my saxaphone player in retro groove - Dan - was also in SAF band - but it wasprobably a generation b4 u guyy - and yes I heard alota fun stories from him about "fake" playing, chabut from camp to play niteclub etc....

yeah U guys had it good didnt cha?

oh yah man we had it soooo f**king gddddd mannnn, it was insane!! i got so much out of my army. alot of the stuff i practiced back then i still use today. it really never leaves u once i put the time in it.
it was a tough fight getting myself transferred to the band, but once i learnt how to "play by the rules" i pretty much cld get wat i wanted.
oh yesssssss