Tone is everything <fight starter>

vernplum

When I started playing the guitar, one of the players I really wanted to sound like was Billy Gibbons from ZZ Top. Dunno how many of you are familiar with ZZ Top, but he always had a killer guitar sound; fat, singing, sustaining and 'bursting with flavour'.

I went to the guitar store and said "I want to sound like Billy Gibbons from ZZ Top!". At this time, I had no idea what 'tone' was.

The guy said. "Ok, here's a chorus pedal" and he gave me a cheap Strat and plugged me into a solid state Marshall practice amp.

It sucked. I didn't sound like Billy Gibbons, so I told him. He said "ok - try this - it's an overdrive pedal."

I tried it. It still sucked, but it was 'kinda metal' sounding so I bought it. I didn't know better. I still didn't sound like Billy Gibbons, but a genesis had started in my head. Over the last 19 or 20 years, I've spent loads trying all kinds of multi-effects, pedals, rack units, guitars, amps etc and only in the last 5 years have I really known what it is that I should be looking for. That is, tone.

What is tone? It's hard to describe. We don't have many good words to describe it. Everybody seeks a slightly different sound, but me, I seek a sound that sustains, where each note is distinct in fast passages, has a ringing treble register, a round fat middle not muddied by too much bass and a nice overall 'buttery' smooth sound where the notes meld into one another when you want them to. I learned this the hard way, by listening to all my favourite players, and wasting a sh*tload of money on stuff that never improved my tone. Of course, I didn't know what I was looking for, so how could I find it? I know now. Know what you're looking for.