Suggestions for cheap and good guitar for overall use.

throatinfection

Ok I'm basically new to playing guitars and I intend to get an electric for general usage. I don't play specific genres of music but definately not death metal or anything that heavy. My budget is below $300. Any suggestions guys?

Non-metal...hmmm...well u have lots of options to chose from. Do u favor a light or heavy guitar?Is comfort an important factor and how would u want the guitar to sound like?

The are numerous threads regarding new guitars do check them out.

throatinfection said:
Ok I'm basically new to playing guitars and I intend to get an electric for general usage. I don't play specific genres of music but definately not death metal or anything that heavy. My budget is below $300. Any suggestions guys?
you may want to check out Nirvana's Kurt Cobin, he used an array of cheap guitars but he made them
sing and gave them life. Cheap doesn't mean no good.

for me, i would get a strat copy. maybe buy a cheap but good strat first, then u can slowly upgrade the pickups, and if u decide on a better guitar, u can swoop the better pickups in

it's $300 at swee lee b4 disc.

to bongman:kurdt used cheap guitars but they're still like fender right?i read somewher he used 3rd hand fenders...

IMHO a stat copy would well suit your needs. Its relatively light and sounds clean. try out some of the strat copies. lots of second-hand ones available on Luther's and yahoo auctions. from there u can decide if it suits your style.

Consider the Squier 51. A single coil and a humbucker, with an option to split the humbucker, that retails for 400. Versatile, no frills, highly moddable.

I believe you can try to bargain to 300 at Sweelee, or wait for another 50% sale.

bin4christ said:
thor:we can bargain at swee lee?