Selecting a Electric Guitar for a newbie

hackernox

Hi guys

Can anyone share what is good for a newbie. What to look our for?
Also please recommend on the Amps as well.

We don’t know:
· What you have in mind- which guitar shape do you fancy? How many pickups you like? How many frets? Etc…
· What kinda music do you listen to? So that we can match your preference…
· What’s your budget? most important of course…

Geez... this is tough.
:(
I am a complete newbie, so when I went into a shop they ask me what I want. I said I am a newbie, then they said I must know what I want so they can recommend. But then I am a newbie how do I know what is available.

So I come here, then you ask me what I want........ :cry:

Geez this is real tough.

Subversion listed down some questions which are the beginning and most basic questions for a newbie looking to buy a guitar. It those question cant be answered, iam afraid that it be difficult to help you. You need to have some basic ideas of :

-Most important, how much $ are you willing to pay

-what sort of guitar you like to get, for what style of playing(metal, punk, country, pop, hardrock etc),

-any guitarist/band that you like or listen to(easier to judge what is suitable for you)

-electric guitar, acoustic guitar, classical guitar or a bass

If the above few question still make you blur, hmmmm i also cant help much. Imagine if i have $100k in my pocket and i go to a car showroom and tell the salesman/women, I want to buy a car, but i know nothing bout cars, can recommend me?? Wont they think that i must be 1 screw loose. For the things you like, you got to find out more about it yourself first, if not, it's really difficult to help. Hope you understand.

Cheers