Reverb units

ShredCow

What's a good reverb unit?

Note: Strictly reverb, not the "combo" units like the Boss RV-3.

I'm looking for something that is authentic sounding and, hopefully, in a pedal enclosure. (Racks, later lah hor?)

I would love to have more options and tweakability - "wacky" is not a bad word.

Price isn't an issue - your experiences and comments are what really matters.

I have tried the EHX Holy Grail, very nice little toy and for the price, it sounds great - though it tends to really sound like an effect, just not that natural. Its not a biggie but its cool to see whatelse is out there.

I heard the EBS Dynaverb is great stuff. I see Dr Scientist has a cool reverb pedal out. EHX Holier/Holiest grail?

What say you?

RF1.jpg

and @ $160, its like... DAMNNNNN...

But dude, the Holy Grail clicked better with me than that leh. :( The Holy Grail sounded more "real".

The tone control on it is a REAL PLUS though.

hehehe...

No lah.... I like Danos, esp the PB&J Delay, but I really want some tweakability and weirdness.

Btw, lets not forget the Line6 Verbzilla - I'm more interested in how it fares against other reverb units in terms of authenticity?

Hmm.

You'd be surprised what you can get out of that little mother :wink:

Too bad I have no space for it on my pedal board already.

The Line6 Verbzilla has ben raved over at the Seymour Duncan forums by all the guys who's opinions are most respected when it comes to vintage tone.

They're the ones who have the desirable Fender amps.

yo broshrewbro, crossing over to reverb as new gain?

anyway, for reverb, i really cant say enough for L6 verbzilla. Want it strong as ethereal as within your own kingdom to that slight tinge of space in between the music and solo to 100% wetness, its all good

Other than that, i uses digitech digiverb. Imho, its just a sad weak reverb(in the case of how i use it, its really a weak reverb). Only saving grace is the reverse reverb which i have been using extensively

as for the holier grail/holiest grail. Unless you like the size or going to use reverb as your main tone pedal, it might be a bit too much for just basic reverb space. Especially the holiest grail, it a noise machine/tone generator/over the top reverb and space taker on the board. But then, if you like it strong and ability to control the reverb on the dry signal with expression pedal, the holiest grail has it.

imho

yo broshrewbro, crossing over to reverb as new gain?

:lol:

Not really... just looking up some info for a pedal i might just purchase in the next 3 mths... or 6... or 9...

I like to have lots of delay and stuff nowadays, very fun... so I thought, a return to reverb would be nice and refreshing for me.

Digiverb's reverse reverb ah? I could use the Marshall Reflector... but man, jsut for the reverse reverb?!

L6 Verbzilla, how does it fare, using normal-ish kind of reverb levels, against the Holy Grail?

The Batu Cave Reverberator (complete with bird's nest shifting sounds - separate knob) will ship when one of the modders here spends enough time on it.

My Line6 UX2 Toneport has great reverb - I couldn't live without it. And it does have a setting called Cavernous.

Cheers
RoRK

not too sure for the marshall reflector. But according to one of my bro in arm who uses reverb like gain pedal, one gripe was not able to achieve the 100% wetness which we like for reverse reverb.

heh, i cant remember on too much for the holy grail coz i didnt try it out for long. But for the verbzilla, the tone control is useful and more responsive than the digiverb one, if you into tone knob on reverb that is. Perhaps one reason why i like the verbzilla much, not for how authentic the reverb is, but on how strong and over the top it can be. Heh, pardon many, coz i havent been too big into authenticity of tone.

oh yeah, side track a bit, aint you any thoughts to get the goose pan pan? Just wondering