Music made in Singapore

clownzee:
Yup I remember that one. Ger released her album "On my own" with that track in it some time ago. I think you can still find it at Roxy Records.

Sugarflies

Does anyone know whether the Sugarflies produced a recording before the band split? I only know of a couple of songs from the Teenage Textbook soundtrack...

sugarflies did release an album, the title, "and that's why"
most probably out of print or at most, at cash converters....

Beautiful album...

the track list:

1)sunday night
2)what about
3)conversation 256
4)escalator song
5)strudel
6)circle song
7)yoshiki
8)think about it
9)wanderlust
10)telegenic
11)birthday song
12)random picture
13)radio star
14)school bus song

Scream_ed said:
Morphy's latest album is worth a mention. Concave Scream's Erratic?

I believe Erratic is out of print but the band still has stock of the most recent album 'Three'. They will be bringing it down for sale at the merch table next week when they play at Bar None.

So far, we've helped them out selling the CD. The sales are pretty decent for an album which is 6 years old!!!

Power lah... Concave Scream.

i prefer concave scream's first release, the one with opening track caged... i remember during school days listening to that CD on one of the testing booth in tower records and went...wow, kick ass man! This one sure made Singapore proud.

stillwater doode, that's the 2nd album, Erratic released under Pony Canyon. Sigh, gone are those times when labels will actually pay money for local artists' recording.

Erratic had a sound leaned more to traditional rock and metal and of cuz, their standard U2 influences.

The self-titled (?) debut was self-released in '94. It's very folkish though.

I actually LOVE Erratic alot! hehehehhe.. Pann Once Gave a copy of it to my brother when we met them cos back then, Erratic is no longer in print and sale. Nice O Pann!!!!!!!!! :)

ooh..concave scream's Erratic. i bought that release..
one of my faves would be that Drive song..or driven..erm..

nice song to listen to on a rainy night.

lol ok emo.

but seriously..quality stuff!!

and my gf jst gave me a compilation cd called The Substation: 10 years & counting. dunno where she got it.

but amongst the names...Humpback Oak, Plainsunset, Concave Scream, Corporate Toil(Joe Ng!), One Man Down(one of the best rapcore bands at that time!), Oddfellows... :D

nsr.jpg

Big O's New School Rock Series 1 to 4.
compilation of original songs from local bands. a diverse collection of different genre's of music in each cd. its a yearly event spanning from 1991 to 1994.
series 3 and 4 is even sponsored by Levi's. and Levi's did a limited run of NSR t-shirts for series 3.

dunno if i'm outdated or late cuz the last post was on the 9th ...
but dunno u guys heard of kate of kale
man they rock
their album "This Hole We Call Our Heart" totally rocks
and their single in the "the 3 letter sessions" cd,"on that day" sounded cool ... they performed at baybeats this yr and were great ...
dun miss out on kate of kale!(though i dunno where to buy the album :P cuz i bought it at baybeats)

cheers,
alif

Anybody remember this Electro band called Club Ecstasy or something like that? Think the singer's a slightly effeminate guy called Kenny who acted in Army Dazed too. I quite like their music when it was on the radio :)

Concave Scream... havent heard that name in a long time! What happened to them? They sang so well in their songs.

Ugly In The Morning's cool too!

Saw Summer's Over in the World Battle of the Band finals. I'm impressed by their energy and fun.

My fav local artiste at the moment's this solo act by the name of Paul Ponnudorai. He's a world class act who plays and sings cheem stuff. All the songs in his albums recorded in one take with no overdubs. 8O
You guys should check him out at Harry's @Esplanade.

Cheers.

Anyway, as a testament and tribute to singapore music, Oddfellows, humpback oak, padres, ronin..whatever..bring them on! Let singapore music live on...critics or what...All u music makers of this sunny island..i salute u and just to share a tune from my then band from 1997- 2000 when we were still around...and played a few gigs here and there. did this on a 4- track machine and quite the best song we had written, well could have been recorded better though...cos heard comments like the vocals were too what? too this too that..the bass too what...too this too that! hahai hope u all enjoy...if is painful to your ears...my apologies! pls click on the link below to download =)

http://s4.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=3UK9IVT3JILTX1GM0QUH15VNJ4

Some short notes :

one of our band songs then called THE
RESURRECTION back in '99 when our band were still
around. there was a lot of talk about the coming of
Christ and all that soothsayer talk then about the
coming millenium so i was quite inspired to write a
song about all that. my lead was playing around with
a riff and instrumental back then so i tot i could
write something around it. sat down one afternoon and
wrote the lyrics to this soon after....

LYRICS :

The Resurrection - Overture

Don't you think the sky is telling a story
One that makes you cry, one that makes you happy
We wait a thousand years just for today
The day you will by judged and i pray it's ok

Stop telling lies cos they tell none
Go on tell your friends the one's coming
Close your eyes, shut the doors
Brace yourself for the Resurrection...

In the dead of the night and you woke up
You're drenched in cold sweat
and your heart's pounding fast
Ask your heart what have you done lately
Or have your sins caught up
but you're blinded completely

Stop telling lies cos they tell none
Go on tell your friends the one's coming
Close your eyes, shut the doors
Brace yourself for the Resurrection...

And when everythings gone will we still be here?
To live the human spirit that we hold so dear
Times when you feel lost and running out of time
Rest assured, love will keep us alive

Your frank comments appreciated! u can still find my good bassist MERVYN who is playing bass in a pub band now..called ALTEREGO...havent got the time to see him yet but try to...if u reading this MERVYN...all the best.go support him ok....as for me..am pretty much retired just playing bedroom music..haha..cheers everyone, apologies for writing soooo longgg =) CHEeRs

RUDRA is an awesome metal band from singapore. They play a genre of metal called vedic metal and i truly enjoy their music. I even know the guitarist Kannan personally and have arranged with him to take guitar lessons from him.cool.

U guys shud go to their website and check out ther mp3 samples. They will blow ur brains.

URL: http://www.rudraonline.org/

k ppl have fun rudra kicks everyones ass :P [/b]