How do u change the chords fast

blade maiden

hi i'm a noob + newbie here lol i have some question regarding changing the chords...
how do u all actually change the chords fast enough so as not to break the rhythm?
and do u look at yr left hand which is holding the neck? or the right hand which is strumming/ picking?

Practice. As you keep practicing, changing chords will be faster. Also, as you practice more, you won't even have to look at either hand to change chord. Usually I look at my fretting hand (left hand holding the neck) when changing chords, though.

practice,practice,practice AND practice!
when you are practicing the changing of chords you gotta start with a slow tempo
then play 2 4/4 bars of example....G chord.
while you are playing the last few strums of G,think of the fingering of the next chord that you are going to play,
then switch to 2 4/4 bars of the next chord that u are playing
use a metronome
start slow,when you have already gotten the hang of the slow tempo,try moving it faster
and soon you should have got the hang of switching chords as you practice

if you are playing solo or have to jump from a upper fret to another lower fret or if you are still unsure of where all the fingerings are,i suggest that you look at what your left hand is playing

if you have not gotten used of the picking or strumming pattern,i suggest that u look at what your right hand is playing.
:D

Hmmm, practice seems like the obvious answer but playing songs that you like can help with your fingering and technique.
It helps to rid the monotony of mindless practice sessions easily, and presto you will be able to fret weird chord shapes easily.

Last edited:
Like what everyone says, practise. Close your eyes and change chords. Helps to improve muscle memory a lot.