Hi new here. some guitar noob questions

blindacolyte

Hi people, i have been fooling around with a classical guitar since bmt (6 months ago) and i have got myself an electric guitar, but theres so much more complications about electric than classical. Got few questions to ask the pros here

1. Do an electric guitar make terrible buzz noises when more than 1 string is being picked? sometimes when my finger plucked another string awful noises comes up and really spoils my mood for playing.
example: picking 3rd string 3rd fret -> 2nd string 3rd fret. somehow the previous string (3rd string) is still ringing while i picked the 2nd string and it sounds damn damn awful

should there be muting to be done? how sia? or issit juz my lousy beginner guitar (wasburn x10 and roland microcube)

2. Been listening to songs like iron maiden and children of bodom, but impossible to play their songs cos its too freaking fast (aces high). usually one take how long to play this kind of songs? and any other similar and simpler songs i shld start with? enter sandman im ok :D except for the solo part

anyway i will think of more qs to ask as i play along. anyway if i missed out on any forums traditions or rules pls inform me. im forum noob

1. Yes you need to mute.

2. No particular song, just play slowly with a metronome and watch out for ringing notes. It takes time to learn, how fast you learn depends how much you practise. Some are faster than others.

Guidelines? Check Kopitiam stickies and Guitar forum stickies before asking questions. Any case, I think you're probably asking the right questions as I don't need to answer incredible and multiple-faceted questions. :)

Cheers,
Raymond

IMO, the bestest way to learn and find out stuff is....

To watch.

Not on a screen, but in person, in front of you.

Thats the bestest way. Plus! Your queries pertain to some basic guitar techniques so its even easier to pick up! :D

What you can do is to find some guitar-ing buddies, and learn with them, just ask them for a casual jam session lah... then buy them a kopi later or something.

Do understand that is quite difficult to describe techniques to one via words...

:smt042 welcome fella .....don't worry it won't bite.
Go electric and please do simple stuff first ...you will get the drift !!

welcome 8)

an electric guitar isn't problematic, it's the player... your choice of starter units are cool. be sure the check out the Micro CUBE's adversary, VOX DA5.

one way to train up speed.

is wif a metronome. play the riffs really slowly. what speed you're comfortable with. then slowly increase the BPM.

but dun increase too much. maybe in increments of 4 or 8. increase only when you've achieved (near) perfect accuracy.

and of cos no need to increase until faster than the song la.

:D

ok this i have to confirm with the people here. i found out that the problem when i play is tat whenever i play eg. the 9th fret on the 4th string and lift it up again, there is a ringing sound not from the 4th string but from the 6th string. this also happens on the 3rd string and the 5th string. i had made sure that my hands are absolutely touching nothing else than the fret im testing. is this natural? other strings apart from the 4th and 3rd string seems fine

resonating frequency i guess.

one way to overcome that is to use either your fretting or plucking fingers to mute the string that you might not want it to ring out.

imho