Have I been conned?

lol.. there's no love at all for the bus drivers.. let me tell u of a "nice" bus driver.. back in my jc days.. used to encounter a bus driver on bus 74 i tink.. who would greet every person who boarded his bus with good morning etc.. and i do mean every person.. so during rush hour.. u can hear up to 10 good mornings at one time :wink:

about bus drivers you all also wanna complain?? god... if riding the bus suck then take a cab.. y u guys complain abt a few cents on busrides but yet never complain on some cd prices that u guys bought at hmv... LOTS of people have been "conned" at hmv...

You got conned bro.

Along plaza sing - bugis, a lot of these so called monks are there.

I see them, targeting eurasians/tourist etc, and just stuffing a piece of paper to them. I believe it is a talisman, as my parents are Buddhist.

Do NOT get it from them. They're complete bullshits.

nitrovo i don't know what his problem is/was... hmmm don't know how true this is with you guys but i noticed bus drivers are usually chirpier at the start of their shifts (greeting people, smiling and all) when they're looking all fresh and awake. it's the same with morning shift cab drivers... they tend to want to chat a whole lot more :?

by the way public transport is never just 'a few cents'... adult fares, it's easily a few hundred dollars monthly. comparing that and cd buying the amount is probably 10 times more. and i don't think we're ever dumb enough to be conned by hmv when there are many other alternatives out there

touche! :roll:

it reminds me too...
1999 @ world trade centre old interchange. was from ITE tt time n goin bck. usual bus 65
wen i board up the driver ask me help him to angle his side mirror. i did as he told me more to the left bla bla...end up,he got piss as i didnt manage to do it right. and i heard he said KNNBCCB to me... i was damn shock n approached him. he said notink much and ask me to fight him... lol tt was a funny fight :smt110 but i still can remember his face. saw him a few times when i took the 65 bus. wonder how many ppl he ask to fight him

Giving alms is a personal call. Sometime it's very difficult to differenciate between honest real cases or just outright sham.

Just know this, as long as you are the giver, you should be at peace with yourself when you give, cause you are not in the sin for doing so. If you give wholeheartedly, you shouldn't be thinking back on your actions. Thinking about it will mean you did not give wholeheartedly, thus by religious context, you will not gain any spiritual merit. So might as well not give, even if it's real cause.

So that said, it does not matter if the alms collector is real or fake. Cause the sin is on him if he not for real. Worst still under the pretence of religon, it seems to me like a very major sin.

On the bus drivers, they are only human. And their jobs these days are more demanding. Last time the driver only job is to drive, there is a conductor who will handle the passengers and collect fare. Now with the "advancement" of technology, not only does the driver have to drive, also have to handle passenger's query, operate an increasing number of electronic gadgets, and collect fares for coins paying passenger.

I have just one thing to say, anyone who bitch about bus drivers, become a bus driver, maybe for a week. See what tune you will be singing later.

By modern day's context, the familiar old saying that monks must distant themselves from the mundane materialistic world, actually cannot be literally be translated as so anymore.

Maybe you should approach them and ask them directly for an explaination. See if their reasoning is satisfactory to your own context.

I am sure we all heard about monks who drive around in lexus and benz.

Vaiyen said:
you were conned. real monks don't beg.

YUP thats right.Real monks DUN ask for money! at most they will ask for rice,but in Singapore they dun. If anyone wants to donate cash or cheques,they should go to the temple itself.ALL monks standing at the bridges or tunnels asking for $$ are all FAKE!!it's against the religion to ask for money.

Once I saw a monk in traditional costume at a coffeeshop.A guy donated him some cash,and upon seeing the guy's leaving, the damn monk went to 7-11 and bought CIGARETTES!!!!!wttfff LOL

Sometimes I really think the conmen all wear jeans underneath...Always on the run :lol: Also I go to coffeeshops and met those ppl asking me to donate to their charity cards.The man dressed so shabbily,wearing a porch like a kopi uncle,and he's not polite some more...How to believe him :lol:

my 2cent

mikemann said:
I have just one thing to say, anyone who bitch about bus drivers, become a bus driver, maybe for a week. See what tune you will be singing later.

hmmm bus drivers aren't the only ones progressing with technology are they? chill lah mikemann. i guess what we meant to be talking about was these 'weird' encounters with bus drivers who don't really have valid reasons to be rude. and complaining doesn't mean we see them being lesser than human...

Well, i have seen monks driving Lexus going to a italian restaurant.

Aren't they supposed to be vegetarian?

My own experience

Actually I had exactly the same experience as Novotro.. Those monks for me came in a pair at an alley near my block, and kept saying "omn mi to pho" and gave me a talisman too (I believe it's the picture of Kuan Yin). I gave one of them two bucks and he had the cheek to point to the other remaining two dollars in my wallet that was exposed in his view! I can't believe it now, but I was so shocked that I gave him the other two bucks :roll: ..he seemed quite aggressive bout getting the money, and I didn't have a good vibe after giving him the cash. So I called the neighbourhood police to keep a lookout for them. But think they probably flew off already.

Please be carefull about such conmen. I really hated it that they used the Buddha's name in vain, merits or no merits. THEY ARE NOT REAL MONKS!

mikemann: I'm not a religious person so I dont get anything out of giving money, i just do it becuase i feel oblidged, even homeless people. I could tell he wasnt happy when i wouldnt give him a $5 and he took the $2, shoved it in his pocket and quickly walked off.

And yeah, it was outside plaza sing. I'll remember next time.

I should have some bullshit money or something to give them next time and when im gone and they realise what it really is..muahahaha :D

Haha be careful of the sim lim square area too, lotsa fake monks there. Almost everytime I go there I see them asking for money, and i saw one of them smoking in clear view AND asking for money at the same time :lol:

Sadly. Society is getting more and more loved up.

Pass them monopoly money or something, and tell them it is some unknown country's currency.

I think the reason why they target eurasians more because they may think you guys have US cash or something, and easier target I guess.