Fretless Guitar

I want 12-string fretted violin! :p And who is this Rosli guy? Everytime I hear his name?

Cheers
RoRK

huh? word on the street(actually on soft lah from you) is that you've claim to have some positive input in influencing Rosli to get the album out...

dunno him meh? ;) :mrgreen:

Oh the one where when I found out at Soft through YOUR post, that he was looking for someone to mix his album and then I called my friend Noh Ghani and ask him if he knows this guitarist because got guitarist want to mix album. And Noh Ghani say donch know and no tiime and I say can lah, do slowly also better than nothing. And then I say got Bani Rahman playing and I tell Noh Ghani to give it a shot and to call Bani for contact etc etc etc.

Well, the rest as they say is history. Better donch say lidat bro, wait kenna flamed again. Sometimes Softies are an unforgiving lot.

Eh, I oso remember he got formula one right?

Cheers
RoRK

Oh the one where when I found out at Soft through YOUR post, that he was looking for someone to mix his album and then I called my friend Noh Ghani and ask him if he knows this guitarist because got guitarist want to mix album. And Noh Ghani say donch know and no tiime and I say can lah, do slowly also better than nothing. And then I say got Bani Rahman playing and I tell Noh Ghani to give it a shot and to call Bani for contact etc etc etc.

Well, the rest as they say is history. Better donch say lidat bro, wait kenna flamed again. Sometimes Softies are an unforgiving lot.

Eh, I oso remember he got formula one right?

Cheers
RoRK

So you actually know him! :mrgreen:

I'll like to dedicate this song to Rork...

YouTube - Dean Martin - Memories Are Made Of This

Fretless Project

Hi Guys,

As mentioned earlier... I was working on defretting a guitar... here is the outcome...

DSC00353.jpg

DSC00355.jpg

Originally a Ktone travel guitar.
1) Fretboard defretted
2) Dot Inlays sunk in
3) Slots and Holes filled with epoxy mix with wood filler
4) Sanded Down
5) Apply rosewood stain to darken the filled slots and holes
6) Sanded Again
7) Apply Oil finish

Saddles changed to Rollers
Nut changed to Graphtec

The Results:

Good sustain and clarity on wound strings, a little. A little thin on the high E (09). I'll be changing to a heavier gauged strings this weekend, maybe flatwounds if i can get my hands on them.

Will post a video soon.

Cheers!

COOL! Before you post the vids, which will be great, can you let us know what your aims are for this instrument and how you intent to use it from a music and band perspective? I think they will allow us to better appreciate the instrument.

Cheers
RoRK

Out of pure curiosity, has anyone ever played a fretless guitar before? (no, not bass guitar)

Mind telling us about your experience and thoughts?

I like it... It's got a very nice round fluid tone. Especially with flatwound strings. Not to be used for standard chord playing, but nice harmonic playing with sliding on doublestops is cool on a fretless.

But it's not a standard guitar replacement. It's the cherry on top of the cake.

hahaha ... loaded question...

Ok Music wise, I was helping out a friend with his album and was exploring some malay/indonesian and middle eastern ethnic melodies. When i saw the turkish guitarist with an ebow and fretless guitar... some tunes came to mind that cannot be produced on a fretted guitar. I'll probably be exploring this further for a while.

Band wise, playing bar chords on the fretless was an interesting experience... but as whitestrat said, it is not a replacement... A doube neck guitar with a fretless could make the combination useful, otherwise holding on to the fretless guitar for a continuous hour may limit my music options... (next project) hehehe...

COOL! Before you post the vids, which will be great, can you let us know what your aims are for this instrument and how you intent to use it from a music and band perspective? I think they will allow us to better appreciate the instrument.

Cheers
RoRK

Yup. To accomodate the circular string vibrations (not an exact description) when playing with the ebow.. from my earlier trial, normal tuneomatic saddles has a sharp pivot thus slows down the vibration.

I wanted to replace the nut with rollers too but need a bit more work and not really that necessary as I'm not doing vibratos with this guitar. My other ongoing project will be a fretless on a FR equipped guitar.

DANG! I HATE IT when marketing people have no product to show@!

EH Edder, where is your Ros M, kick butt, magic fingers, kick-ass songwriting formula video for all to see??? So much wanking from you and your likes but gotch no video.

How LIDAT!

Thanks for the reply, bro obzervr. It's always good to know how someone intends to take a new instrument and use it.

Cheers
RoRK