ESP guitars...

RaynerT

Where can we get them other than davies? Dun tell me they are the only store. Me and my friend went there today to test it out, ask the old uncle, he say too expensive, then hard to take from the display corner, so cannot test, then we sian, after a few seconds, we asked one of the malay staffs, he say ok can test, when take out already, want to use pick test, the old uncle chap ji-ki say cannot use pick, if not will scratch the guitar. Oh ya, the malay staff told is we were to first to touch the ESP KH guitar. :roll:

So where else can we get them? I love the inlays of the guitar and the design as well... :wink:

1st alternative: Buy budget air ticket to HK, try them out at Tom Lee

2nd alternative: Buy air ticket to Japan for holidays and take the chance to try ESP out at Ishibashi and various stores

Otherwise, the highest chance you would get your hands on an ESP locally is Davis only, exclusive dealer.

Well i agree but da least he cud do is say it nicely and y did he have say 2 em 2 expensive..... I mean cud have juz tell em da price rite.. Let da buyers say if its 2 expensive or not....

for all the complaints about davis and their no-touch policy, i have to add that their prices for esp guitars are one of the cheapeast everywhere.

i went to japan's custom shop and the prices were about 1.5x that of Singapore even though it was mij. ditto for online usa-based music stores.

i didnt have any issues when i got my kh with them though. in fact, it was david himself who took the guitar out for me to test with a pick and all.

if you are really serious about the guitar, do let him know that and im sure he will be happier to oblige

I've experienced an unpleasant situation with Davis too. One time, I asked the sales staff how much it would cost me to fix an humbucker. They told me it was 25 bucks. So one fine day, I came with my guitar to get the pickup fixed. I gave them a Dimarzio Paf Pro which I bought from a private owner and they immediately told me that it would cost me about 35 bucks. From 25 to 35. Funny, cos the rest of the shops around that vicinity only charge 25 bucks to fix an humbucker.

i kinda had a bad experience with davis too when i went there to buy my LTD.

i asked if i could try the explorer, and the shop uncle picked the guitar up and strummed away, and i had to chance to try it out.

my dad had to tell him i wanted to try the guitar and then he passed it to me, albeit with a hesitant look on his face.

maybe he scared drop lah..perhaps he's had guitars being dropped in his shop?even more so with the higher-priced 1s..

about the wae he phrased it,maybe he cud hav juz said "this is an expensive guitar, careful not to drop ah." anywei tt's how most shop assitants at other shops say tt right?or maybe as the buyer u can tell him something like "i've got $400,000(or watever amt tt is enough to get the guitar lah) n i'd like to try out this(point) guitar. if i like it maybe i'll buy it cuz i've been eyeing it for mnths."

tt old guy has always been cranky....

they taped the 'flanks' the strings where the strumming occurs when i was trying out a guit....in then end when he realised i'm a serious buyer he let me use my pick.

i dun blame him, i was holding 3.7k then :)

Honestly if a guitar is way beyond my price range and i don't intend to buy it, then i wouldn't ask to try it... that way, i don't get aggro from the shopkeeper (and i also wouldnt need to break my bank!!).. plus, the more people handle the guitar, the more worn it becomes. THe chrome on the pups would tarnish, the screws would rust, and the strings would go rusty and rough as well. This is one sure way to lower the appeal and value of an expensive guitar. It might be a really good PRS or a Gibson, but if the strings are rusty, i wouldnt even bother giving it a try cos the tone would be flat and it would be hard to play, plus it would signal that the shopkeeper doesnt bother to maintain his instruments.

i like the way davis handles his high end guitars. in fact he handles everything in his store that way. but the way he does it helps weed out all those pple who just wanna cop a feel of a prs but cant afford it. ive met tonnes of pple who just wanna get a feel of it knowing they might never be able to afford one. esp a certain kinda pple who do a certain style..

when i got my guitar it was in absolute mint condition. and when i let him know i was actually serious he personally took down the guitar for me to try (well abt that thing that pple who dress a certain way never really get service from him? well if u owned a shop dealing in high end guitars would u let that particular person touch the guitar? NO i wouldnt!)

I would never approach the uncle if I need anything at Davis, I would patiently wait for the other sale staff to be free. next time bring ur parent$ along, he seems to pay more attention and give better service for teenagers with parent$.

i just head over to guitar77.

but seriously, the girl there is quite nice. she answered all my questions abt seymours pickups even tho i'm a total noob.

"out of phase" wth? :lol:

anyway, i agree with insommiac - to a certain extent. although it takes time to clean and maintain, if the customer does buy it, you're like what, 4000 dollars richer?

customer number 1, but customer please be nice to the staff.

The old uncle can be a pain in the ass, now i try to avoid him and speak only to the young girl ( I think it's Janice or Janet), she's a smart cookie and is happy to help. Another tip is go when it's quiet not Saturday afternoon when it's full of people.

imagine if the old man did a mission impossible; pulled off his mask and voice thing and turned out to be

the nice lady in disguise

rofl

Ha...ya...i think I will go on those days which are quiet...i went on tues and i only saw the young girl and the old lady, should have inquired that time. damned. Anyway, after that unpleasant experience, we headed down to guitar77 to test out the omen-6 FR by schecters. The guy there was so willing to let us test it out. I think my friend is really considering buying from them now. :D

u can try ranking sports (opp sweelee beside blackwood guitars) they have an esp kh if you havent already gotten your hands on one=)
Where can we get them other than davies? Dun tell me they are the only store. Me and my friend went there today to test it out, ask the old uncle, he say too expensive, then hard to take from the display corner, so cannot test, then we sian, after a few seconds, we asked one of the malay staffs, he say ok can test, when take out already, want to use pick test, the old uncle chap ji-ki say cannot use pick, if not will scratch the guitar. Oh ya, the malay staff told is we were to first to touch the ESP KH guitar. :roll:

So where else can we get them? I love the inlays of the guitar and the design as well... :wink: