elongating a synth sound (fl studio 8)

madnessman

I'm new to the whole electronic music production thing so please go easy on me. i wrote up the melody using piano roll on the ts404. right now my sound is very staccato though. it sounds like "<beep>silence<beep>silence". it's supposed to be more legato. haha sorry but it's not very easy to describe what i want (and where I am right now). Do you get what I'm asking?

Easiest way is to invest in a simple midi controller keyboard. Sequencing using the mouse tends to end up like that. Increasing duration of the note via software is also difficult - you either fall short of the exact duration or go beyond it. Too much tweaking involved. Note by note notation is done during the final stage - final tweaking phase.

or another way if using the piano roll, extend the duration of the notes you wanna, rite into the next note and so on

Sorry... I guess I didn't make myself clear enough. I'm almost 100% certain that my note lengths in piano roll are correct. Let's say that my riff is 4 whole notes. Instead of holding the note over 4 beats, the synth just kinda beeps and there is silence until the next note. I tried to find the synths amplitude envelope but I'm having a little trouble. Are there any other common names it might be labeled as (I'm on FL Studio 8)?

Thanks!

EDIT: And I am looking for a midi keyboard controller. A USB one preferably. Any recommendations? I just need a controller as I'm trying to familiarize myself with FL's soft synths. I forgot what the common # of keys there are but I don't think I need the full size keyboard (88 keys?) but I want something bigger than the small ones (42 keys?) so I guess it'll have to be one of the mid sized ones (62 keys?)

Last edited:
beeps and silence aint too normal, expecially beeps, heh, for a while i was thinking whether is it a demo or trial version.

oh, any pic of the piano roll arrangement screen or sound clip of the problem?