what to look for when buying guitar?

Aviawind

Hey there~ I'm newbie here n currently been searching online on guitar issue, as i'm new to this instrument n interested in learning more, n wanna get one to learn b4 i go to learn in music school.

So what are the basic things that i hv to look out for when buying guitars? What type is more suitable for amateur like me? I know nothing about guitar, only that i know that thicker strings are better for plucking, n thinner for strumming. But normally what do u people use? I feel strumming is like more common used right?? Pls advise me~ GREATLY appreciated~! :D

This is tough qn man~

but one advice: get what you feel is right for you, that's one thing u can't go wrong.

other technical stuffs, i guess there's lotsa friendly ppl that will explain to ya soon.

price, feel, like, sound

get something cheap first then slowly upgrade. yup better than buying so expensive then u give up

when buying a guitar, it's good to check for:

*Construction
*Playability
*Tone

i wouldn't advice any beginners to grab the cheapest electric guitar on the racks because that guideline is too simplistic. if you are about to enbrace the electric, invest in something that propels you to play better.

it also helps to ask a friend who is in the know to help you check on the instrument itself before you part with cash 8)

do take note that if ur going the electric route u haf to get an amp too.. which is $$ AND a good amp can make a bad guitar sound great but a good guitar on a bad amp sounds totally lousy.

This said my advice if u wanna go electric and STICK TO IT is splurge on a good guitar first then save up for an amp and subsequently ur effects.

BUT if you are unsure, then don't splurge cash, get something decent first, J & Ds, Craftsmans, epiphones, and samicks are good starter guitars