Wee Lee jamming place.

wee lee aljunied is generally better than the one at simei. simei, like someone said, is for last resort. and strictly own gear if we go there. bt i dun like both the uncles there. recently my band went to aljunied to jam. near the end of 1 hr, the uncle came there and stared at us. we were like, whats his problem man. and its those sort of dirty stare like we haf offended him somehow. its would haf been nicer if he would signal to us that times up like most places do.

nicest ppl ive met are at katong shopping center. they are very nice people. the eq there is also nt bad coz its quite new. only complain is that the place is small. so if ur claustrophobic then avoid it. the price quite reasonable too.

i dont get it why u ppl want to complain abt wee lee. it is good enough they set up a studio which is convenient for ppl to jam there. i agree with u guys that wee lee do suck. but if u know how to set up properly and get a good sound, marshall amps are not a must. i jam often at wee lee simei, its the nearest studio for me and cheap. the uncle there isnt that bad, he is a nice guy. no offence guys, but dont complain as if u are a superstar and everything must be perfect and expensive for u. if u are that good, just set the sound properly and u can have a fucking good jam.

flash_tay said:
erhh......don't me disgressing a bit......but does anyone know how i can contact mikemann? i think i may need his help on certain stuff.... :)

Hi,

Just PM me or you can also get to my other direct mail and links by the WWW icon in my profile. Sorry, I have a bit of internet starvation now, so reply could be a lil slow.

My view, just respect your jamming studio lah, its not easy to earn that $15/hr of yours you know. Cost is SG is high. Many open a studio due to their passion for music, not really able to make bucks from this business. Then there are those who open a studio as a business prospect, these guys should even be more respected, as they have to endure "music" that they themselve dont enjoy at all.

spitfire_121 said:
wee lee aljunied is generally better than the one at simei. simei, like someone said, is for last resort. and strictly own gear if we go there. bt i dun like both the uncles there. recently my band went to aljunied to jam. near the end of 1 hr, the uncle came there and stared at us. we were like, whats his problem man. and its those sort of dirty stare like we haf offended him somehow. its would haf been nicer if he would signal to us that times up like most places do.

nicest ppl ive met are at katong shopping center. they are very nice people. the eq there is also nt bad coz its quite new. only complain is that the place is small. so if ur claustrophobic then avoid it. the price quite reasonable too.
!!!! he did the same thing to my band too!! he stood at the glass panel n stared at us near the ending!! walao...this is seriously gay man..i dont even feel lyk looking at him for the second time...man...

uh, i really like the studio at yishun.. Lee Kuan Seng? Yeah the auntie is really really friendly... room 5 is rather big.. yamaha drums, laney bass amps and HUGE peavey guitar amps. :) 16/hr for room 5.

ironcross said:
i jam often at wee lee simei, its the nearest studio for me and cheap. the uncle there isnt that bad, he is a nice guy. no offence guys, but dont complain as if u are a superstar and everything must be perfect and expensive for u. if u are that good, just set the sound properly and u can have a loving good jam.

i second that.
and the uncles are nice whut.
they never fail to acknowledge me inna nice way everytime i step into that place..
but i still dont understand why they have that "no small romms after 8pm" policy.

i know quite a fair bit of pro and semi-pro musicians that jams at wee lee aljunied. If wee lee is that bad then why these people still jam there?

hmmm....

just some food for thought.

owning a studio is not about buying thousand dollars worth of equipment to let it be trashed by kids for $18 an hour.

wee lee simei is like abit ulu, not the location, but the fact its in an industrial building .. lol last time go there jam i lost my way ...

:D Sam from Wee Lee Aljunied is a cool and nice guy. Used to rent drums from him for recording when I was studying in SAE.

edder said:
i know quite a fair bit of pro and semi-pro musicians that jams at wee lee aljunied. If wee lee is that bad then why these people still jam there?

hmmm....

owning a studio is not about buying thousand dollars worth of equipment to let it be trashed by kids for $18 an hour.

Fwah... You! I like......

Also had bad experiences at wee lee before when I was a new jammer.

I would recommend mikemann studios. Mike is a great guy, the place is good, equipment are nice, etc. And best of all, cheap rates^^

edder said:

hmmm....

I agree with edder on this. One of our friends who owns his own jamming studio was telling us - all those black metal kids come to jam and don't know how to take care of his equipment. They periodically break his cymbals... and end up paying for it.

Sam told me a story about some American school punk rockers who came down to his place to jam. They ran off after that without paying. 2 months later, they came back thinking that Sam will not recognise them. He had to chase them off with a broom, refusing them entry.

M, if the drums are too loud, ask the fu cker to turn it down. You are rehearsing, not performing... Even if you are performing, you have to looking at the venue before deciding how much to crank it up. The softer you play, the better you can hear each other and listen out for mistakes and nuances to add... that goes for all genres...

wah so good ah?

Lucky him... at least they pay... or did u mean he paid for it?

One of the most ridiculously funny statments i ever heard was... I never break cymbals before....well hey we are all born virgins brother...

I just hope that when they grow old they dont be like that Who guitarist who cant hear properly now. Then again..maybe I do......hmmmmmm