The Gender Issue

well I'd have to agree with whitestrat.. I am easily impressed by girls who can play guitar/drums/bass etc; seriously, not all men are chauvinistic.. haha

well.. you can look at that way round too.. haha

rephrase!

"you mean you can play the guitar?!?"

vs.

"cool, you can play and you play it well"

hahaha.. :D

Reason why some of my girl friends don't like playing musical instruments, they say
- Too difficult.
- The guitar will make their fingers hard and it hurts.
- Drumming is so unfeminine. (FTW)
- Waste money. (Another FTW!)
And lots of other reasons which kinda make my blood boil. And the more I type, the more my blood will boil.

Maybe that explains why i don't have many girl friends. I'm scared man. LOL

For me, I think playing music is way more cooler those manicures. That is then a waste of money and time.

SOOO TRUE! lolol. they scared later their fingers pain and all that. playing music rocks!

skill-wise i doubt there's a difference between girls and guys. it's just in the nature of the diff genders to be interested in different things! hence, fewer female guitarists, bassists, drummers, etc...

in the end it boils down to passion and practice.

i agree with this.

For me, I think playing music is way more cooler those manicures. That is then a waste of money and time.

I agree! I had a girl friend whom I told that she'll need to sacrifice her longass fingernails to play the guitar and she give me this stupid face as if I just told her the most epic tragic news on earth.

ROFL ikiru. i also had a friend....who wanted to learn the guitar. and when i told her she has to like sacrifice those long fingernails and have those hard-feeling fingers....she kinda gave me a sad face and she never got around to learning the guitar. lolols.

SOOO TRUE! lolol. they scared later their fingers pain and all that. playing music rocks!

I think female musicians should meet up and have a good laugh about it.

And I thought I was weird. I'm like the only one among my girl friends who don't fancy manicures and shopping etc.
Shopping tiring leh! Might as well jam!

Shopping for guitar gear is never tiring though, hahaha. I think if they give us the money for their manicures, extended eyelashes, tan, waxing, makeup, and all that, we can each buy a new rig already.

haha must have money then fun lah. if not like go there see then cannot buy.... D: but its aweessoommee to shop for gear and stuff like that. ^^

MUAHAHA! ME TOO! if you go gear shopping pm ME!! LOL. i wana follow. for fun. LOL. as if my mom allow >.< i alrdy got scolded for buying a bass

Haha.. i get scolded for just spending hours on the guitar practicing and neglecting school, let alone buying gears, accessories and guitars >_> sian la. No money lor, shop what? Lol... I now GASsing for guitar until wanna go into depression.

Some of the best guitar players in the world are women.

Check out Xuifei Yang..she's better than at least 99.99% of guitar players

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ai2Ci3q7wHo

erm good but nothing exceptional. u talk abt best but it isnt just abt being good, its being above the rest. i dont see her anywhere near ballpark of tommy emmanuel, andy timmons, martin taylor, paco de lucia, robben ford, jason becker or malmsteen ( i know most pple dont agree to malmsteen but just think abt how he played echo etude using his vol knob for volume swells). im not biased, ill call it when i see it, but there just isnt anything exceptional abt her, nothing to put her above the rest.

hell i think she doesnt even come close to paul ponnudorai, if u wanna look locally. but that said, i do believe there are some good female guitarists out there, just dont tell me the Great Kat is one of them, she aint got nothing on me.

but just to input i think chelsea constable is damned good. heres a vid of her: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QF4A-C-Kios

Which is one reason why i don't really like trying guitars/basses in stores. Puts a lot more pressure if you're a girl. Really. And cause most girls are pretty much self conscious. Duh!

Well, i won't speak for myself but look at Wendy Phua and Tal Wilkenfield. Hahaha. Their skillz are ownagexzxzxz compared to my peanuts.

Haha.. i get scolded for just spending hours on the guitar practicing and neglecting school, let alone buying gears, accessories and guitars >_> sian la. No money lor, shop what? Lol... I now GASsing for guitar until wanna go into depression.

woah. same siah. play bass then kena scold. last year o level year more worse seh. get scolded everyday cause play guitar a lot and go to school band a lot. LOL. so stupid maaanns. at least i play music better than my bro lololol. and she doesnt see that. but wana buy electric for my bro just cause he wants it. D: