Professional Home Recording.

jodev

Hi I would like to venture into home based recording. Currently I will be purchasing a pc with these specs.

Intel core 2 dual processor
MSI 945motherboard
160GB hard disk drive
DVD RW +/-
2GB RAM

My operating system will be windows XP professional. I will be using Nuendo as my recording software. Since I’m a newbie to recording, can anyone advice me what are the equipments I would need to get.

I will mainly be recording guitars and keyboards. I will not be recording drums anytime soon. Plus I want my guitars and keyboards to sound really awesome. Please advice me what I should get and where i can get them.

Thank you in advance!

hello jodev :) love how "venture","home","recording" and "pc" comes together in the same sentence. exact words i used 5 years ago.

here's what I'm using :

Intel C2D 6600 - 2.4ghz
Asus P5N (i think... or was it P5B)
err sata2 hdds no need to say la. 1.2 TB ... 320+320+320+320 actually you don't need that much. most of space used are for videos and archive.
2 GB DDR2 667mhz ram.
Antec Truepower 480Watt.

here's what I recommend.

at least 2.4ghz C2D

Gigabyte/ASUS mainboard! don't use MSI cos you'll find yourself going to
AMK Techplace 1 corbell often. (their service centre) , and you can believe me because my day job surrounds 4 PCs using MSI mainboard. and I've fixed at least 3 friends's pcs using MSI mainboard.

if possible get 2 hdds, 80gb + 80gb or 160+80gb. one of them used as a "scratch disk" (stores temporary audio editing files). and get SATA2 seagates. seagate are not a good brand but at least they got 5 years warranty. you can abuse those hdds big time.

XP + nuendo all good.

will catch up with you on MSN or something.
cheers

what makes you wanna get Nuendo?

* you will need to get an audio interface too. have you scout around?

I'm using nuendo coz i got the programme free from my friend. Thats the only reason why i'm using it.

did i seee freee? pirate! pirate! :twisted: