Pearl Forum Series Help

war

Help! I got this Pearl Forum Series but the sound my drums make doesn't sound good. Is it because of the drum heads? I haven't changed a thing like the drum heads yet as I need some experts advice first on what to do. Please give some advise so I can fix the sound problem. Thanks.

i also got a pearl forum, the sound also don sound nice... compared to yamaha drums. I also wonder why. I change the head to evans G2 but still not much improvement.

I had a Pearl Forum which I used to teach with and I thought it sounded great for an entry level kit. I even brought it out for a show once when the church team I was supporting had no budget for a drum kit.

I think first you need to know exactly what kind of sound you are looking at and what you are comparing the kit to. Once you know the sound that you want, then get some advise as to what skins you should be choosing.

tuning makes a difference in the sound quality. Of cos, if u are comparing ur Pearl Forum to a kit like the Masterworks, of cos the Masterworks will sound nicer. The type of wood also makes alot of difference.

whenever i play the yamaha stage custom drumset ho, the snare super nice sia. The sound is more bassy and darker, you hit, "dong!" and thats it.

But my pearl forum snare, same head i think, the sound on pearl forum snare is much brighter, higher pitch and sharper sound, somemore got abit echo one leh, sound like "wonn~~~" after each beat, echo for a while. Dont really like it. Like the snare not serious about letting you play it.

I was thinking if it has got something to do with the snare(wire metal at the bottom) which cause the difference in sound, and the drum head underneath.

I tune many times liao, still same result. Now i always tune the upper head until very tight.

yes it HAS to do with the snare and the bottom head =X coz i juz repair my sch de snare drum recently and i had to refit the drum heads =X by tightening the snare wires, u get a tighter sound too =) but overtight will make the snare drum sound v dead =/

i have a forum series set too. my snare was sounding really bad. but after my teacher helped my tune it with the help of the rhythm watch, sound much much better.
even the won~~~ sound much lesser too

dark heart, we need to upgrade to a new kit i think. maybe that's why they call this an entry level kit because its cheaper but doesn't sound that nice.

If you are comparing with the stage custom, make sure the head combinations are the same, dimensions and depth are the same....and very importantly, the tuning characteristics and room acoustics are similar...if the room conditions are very different, the sound will differ for the same given kit.

Also, the stock heads that come with Yamaha drums are remos so they are better in quality as compared to the Pearl stock heads. Give your drums a head change according to the style of music you like and retune it.

hey for guys who you think your pearl forum snare sounds bad

try this

DSC00406.jpg

Just stick some paper or cardboard on your drums, saw this on yamaha snare also

it sounds more tamed and firm. Solid