Midi controller keyboards and audio interface

anonpersona

Hey guys, I am starting to learn about computer music and would need some advice here.

I am now looking for a decent Midi controller keyboard and I have kinda zoomed in on the Akai MPK49 as it looks like an all-in-one keyboard with 49keys, drum pads and knobs. I will be using DAWs like Propellerhead Reason and probably Cakewalk Sonar, my interest areas are on music arrangements, sequencing and some recording of vocals and wind instruments.

However, I am not a pianist nor keyboardist, and I am quite new to Midi. I would like something comprehensive so that I won't need to add additional controllers in the near future. So will this keyboard be an overkill for me? Are there other inexpensive alternatives?
I have seen the Korg Nano series but they look like toys to me, especially the keyboard :eek:

Also about audio interface, I already have the Zoom H4n and B2.1u which can double up as audio interfaces. Are these 2 devices good enough or I need a dedicated interface instead. Also, as I will most likely be recording 1 track at a time so I guess mixers are not necessary now, am I right?

Some pointers on what books to read would be nice too ;)

Thanks in advance

Last edited:
The mixer definitely not needed at all if just doing single track recording at anytime and later doing all arrangement within daw.

The mpk49, basically can be a one off controller you need. It has everything that you would prolly need for now and infact more than enough for most, using it to trigger vsti, control daw, drum pad triggering and parameter changing etc. There are other controllers from m audio or novation which also have similar configurations and slightly cheaper than the akai one. Novation ones has their own automap software which prolly make it much easier to setup the controller with various daws, vsti etc, so can consider that as well.