Keep the interest going !

Eleora

Hi there,

How to keep the interest of playing keyboard going ?

How much time should one spend on practicing the keyboard each day ?

Should one practice one or a few pieces of music on each practice session ?

I feel discouraged when I encounter new chords and rhythms, how to have that breakthrough naturally ?

Cheers :p

just as anything you do in life. you must be fueled by the passion. there's no point forcing yourself. before i started playing the drums, i knew nothing about drumming. but the first time i got on the kit, i felt..different. it felt like home, and i was extremely comfortable behind the kit.

certain techniques, of course, didn't come naturally. it's all hard work and practice. listen to various keyboardists and pianists. find a good teacher. and keep practicing. it might get boring at first due to having to learn technique and chords and all the boring stuff. but once those become second nature to you, you tend to concentrate more on the MUSIC and less of the technique. and the technique is only the tool for you express yourself musically.

have a structured practice routine, and practice EVERYDAY, ANY CHANCE you have. practice scales, finger dexterity, ear training, chord voicings and of course songs. i don't know how to play the piano. but that's what i do for drums. i practice rudiments, independence exercises, etc, etc. just spend at least 15 minutes on each section and move on. don't do the same thing for more than 20 minutes. your mind will get tired and you'll get bored of it. just 15 minutes and move on and come back after a cycle.

of course, practice your coordination and stuff. unless you're mozart, hiromi or emily bear, it's very seldom you'll naturally be a genius on the keyboard. there are no shortcuts.

Get a teacher to help you. That will help your technique limitations.