Intro: MichaelP

MichaelP

Hi, I am a newbie to SOFT ,

my relation to guitar :

12 years On and Off - self taught.. just simple open chords and some barre chords.

Cant read music scores...

And so when I do 'picking' or plucking' , I just do it by ear, that means listening over and over again to a song. For example...Richard Marx's Now and Forever... I had to listen to that song like more than 50x to get the intro just right..

Just bought an electric guitar a few weeks back - a Fender Strat (Made in America) and its great. And just now struggling to understand what all the dials and the combo of dials will give me what kind of sound...

Any help from you all will be deeply appreciated

Hi MichaelP and welcome to S.O.F.T!!!

I do believe you will enjoy your stay here =)

Hey, it's totally alright if you are self taught and that you can't read music scores. I can't read 'em to save my life even though I have been playing for 7 years straight. Sheer determination got me through a lot of difficult stuff like speed picking. It's all a matter of being patient and working on your goals one by one. You can do it man!

And congrats on your purchase of the MIA Fender Stratocaster. You just got yourself a very good and versatile instrument which you must really treasure and take care of since it must have cost a bomb. Do begin to explore your style and tone by fiddling and playing around with different settings on both your guitar and amp. If you don't have an idea of how to do that, do research up on google and youtube on how to get the tone you are looking for.

Oh, and by the way, I'm starting a series of gatherings for the guitar newbies in this forum, which happened before once, and plan to do it on every weekend, preferably a Saturday. The details of the upcoming one can be found here:

http://soft.com.sg/forum/music-kopi...lay-acoustic-guitar-gathering-numero-2-a.html

Cheers and good luck in your playing ;)