I need advise on home recording

heafy2214

Guys

I need advise on home recording for my band(drums, bass, 2guitars & vocals). What I would like to know is the equipments needed to start & something affordable. At the same time maybe can just list down the possible equipments needed & also the PC requirements for recording(eg types of soundcard, PC speed).

To tell u guys frankly, I know nuts about home recording & Would really appreciate if any kind souls help me out here.

Thanks in advice.

I've been using N-Track for the past 7 years. You can get a lot out of just the evaluation version. Visit:

http://www.n-track.com/

My PC specs: WinXP, P4, 512MB RAM, Asus onboard integrated soundcard.
Get a mixer for hooking up mics to your drumset, and vocal mics.

Recording the Drum track:

[drums]->[1 mic for bass drum, 1 mic for snare, 1 mic around toms, 1 mic for hi-hats, 1 mic around cymbals]->[mixer]->[PC]

Bass and guitar can be recorded via those multi-effects:

[bass]->[effects]->[PC]

[guitar]->[effects]->[PC]

Keyboard can plug direct to PC:

[keyboard]->[PC]

Last but not least,

[vocals]->[mic]->[mixer]->[PC]

When all tracks are recorded, you can tweak the tracks' parameters: left-right panning, echo, reverb, lite effects.

Done. :)

Hope this helps. Cheap & easy way to do home recording.

well do you have your own drumset/amps? whats your budget for recording ? (or you intend to not spend anything at all?) and do you currently have any recording gear at all? it would help if you post all details like what amp/effects pedals/drumset and your PC specs and any mics etc.

I've got a steinberg cubase program for the recording program. At the same time, my effects which is a Zoom G2.1U can be connected to the PC via USB. As fot the drums, I'm using a beat track program. I do not have any drumsets at home.

Questions:
1. Can i use a drum program for recording? Will it sound betta?