Counting 32 notes

penko

hello guys,

got a question here. XD

How do you guys count 32 notes?

like for 16th notes we count, 1 e n a etc, what about 32th notes? Or is it to fast to be counted -.-

i see some drums beats with 8 notes as the basic beat, but when it goes into fill, its 32th notes XD

personally i think it is too fast to be counted... but what you can think of is that one hand is playing 16s instead of 2... and count of from the leading hand...
1 e & a 2 e & a
16 notes: R L R L R L R L
32 notes: RLRLRLRLRLRLRLRL

hope this helps

verbally you count like 16:
1 e + a 2 e + a 3 e + a 4 e + a

but youre playing double. there is no recorded count for 32. unless you count the indian way i think. which is hell difficult!

well i guess if ur playing 32 notes at 200 bpm nobody should be able to count that much :D

just whack, but whack with skill? :D

When you do a 32nd Notes...you used Doubles...it is basically rrll,rrll (as 1) and the next rrll,rrll(as 2)...right?

So you Count using 1+,2+,3+,4+...where 1=rr & +=ll, 2=rr & +=ll, by the time you finish counting to 4+ - - You would have accurately finished and stop at 32nd notes.

When you do it at very very fast speed - just count 1234.

Hopes this helps......This is a correct way to count too.

RudimentalDrummer said:
When you do a 32nd Notes...you used Doubles...it is basically rrll,rrll (as 1) and the next rrll,rrll(as 2)...right?

So you Count using 1+,2+,3+,4+...where 1=rrll & +=rrll, 2=rrll & +=rrll, by the time you finish counting to 4+ - - You would have accurately finished and stop at 32nd notes.

When you do it at very very fast speed - just count 1234.

Hopes this helps......This is a correct way to count too.

Wow i didnt know there is this way too! :)

erm a question, will doubles be as fast as alternate strokes?

often in concrets, lives, i haven seen anyone do their fills or rolls in doubles, maybe i haven seen one XD

penko said:
Wow i didnt know there is this way too! :)

erm a question, will doubles be as fast as alternate strokes?

often in concrets, lives, i haven seen anyone do their fills or rolls in doubles, maybe i haven seen one XD

Depending.....but both can be equally as fast as each other......

In real-life, in most situation.....I believed that maybe because Single Strokes can be played more cleanly or even more Dynamically on an entire Kit- Most Drummers prefer to use Singles. Dennis Chamber uses Singles in most of all his Solos.

My personal opinion is that - Both Singles and Doubles are very very important and if we can play it clean.....I think our Drumming could be Dynamical......

You know - My Sifu show me playing both Doubles & Singles altogether in Accenting the snare...wah...it so nice.....I tried but sucks like hell...cause my Doubles are not good (probably I lack in Stick-Control)....

An example...Playing a Normal 16th Note Accent eg.

1 e t a would be RLRL (where BOLD WORDING is Accenting on Rim-Shot)...in normal situation.

you can Accenting on the Singles and Double-up on Ghosting - on all your accenting Practice in a manner...

Of course (I wonder if they call this Linear - Ooops I forgot ) - But you can likewise practice above - playing using all Ghost notes on (snare only) with your Left-Hand...and you right hand (which is all the Accent)...play it anywhere you want around the Kit (Crash, Toms...anywhere)...

It's really fun.......it goes to say - there are many many ways a drummer can play Accenting creatively...looking at just a single Bar of notes.

PS: - - - But to do all this well - We must practice our Basic Singles & Doubles well......as this are useful for Rudiments......However I find - Accenting on Rim-Shot using Singles are slightly different in expediting and in practicing - - - to get a beautiful even fast and dynamical Rim-Shots...

I LOVE RIM SHOTS....really :lol:

thanks for all the help man! u even gave me tips on accecnting! sorry if i replied slow, dun get to use net often XD

got a question here.. what would be the sticking like for this fill? the tempo is like 120

clipboard01wz6.jpg

thanks man!

yea both singles and doubles are important. singles can go very far as long as you practice hard. as for doubles it takes a lot more practice to hear good distinct double strokes. single rolls will take you very far, so will doubles. ultimately its down to practice. make sure they are superb clean sounding strokes.

er...that one i'll say u'd be playin by feeling already if u are that skilled..coz there ought to be a tempo for that..so like u play 1 2 3 4 is very standard one..but wad if u play while u are talkin..so u cant count..u would be playin by feeling already..going on n on..and for 32notes..mayb i goes by set? like u play 8 beats, u dont need to count wad right? so jus count 4 sets for 32 notes? and actually ah..32 notes will be like rolling le.. -_- jus a suggestion..haha :wink:

For beginners...must count the 32nd note lah...or have to count. Then when more experience already after playing it for a while..yes you are correct - must learn to play the Rudiments whether Singles, Doubles, Parididdles in the pocket - eg watching TV, talking also can expedite the stroke cleanly...that's the way !...cheers ! :lol:

just count out 1 2 3 4 instead of 1 e n a, and your mind count the upbeat(&), so is: 1(&)2(&)3(&)4(&),

i replace 1 e n a 2 e n a 3 e n a 4 e n a, to 4 sets of 1 2 3 4, or u can do this way: 1 2 3 4, 2 2 3 4, 3 2 3 4, 4 2 3 4
and accent on each quater note, or very bar, up to you, but dun lost direction, hehe
i feel nothing wrong with that no matter how you count, as long as u feel the 32th, and u feel comfort with it.

it comes naturally when u used to it.

My conductor in school band taught me 1 e & a & e & a 2 e & a & e & a 3 e & a & e & a 4 e & a & e & a

Mostly happens when the band is playing a slow piece like at 80bpm and the clarinets pull a complitated running note feature.

But counting 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8, 2 2 3 4 5 6 7 8.... is fine... just that pronouncing 7 might confuse you and make you count an extra beat.
So maybe "one two three four five six sev eight..." will do...

All up to you.