Congrats Starbucks: One of the BIGGEST water wasters, ever...

subversion

you read yesterday's papers? well, Starbucks made news; they are one of the biggest water wasters ever (shame...). well, it seems that Straits Times wasn't the only media reporting this. snippets from Australia's Herald Sun:

STARBUCKS was blasted by environmental experts last night after Britain's Sun newspaper accused it of pouring millions of litres of precious water down the drain at its coffee shops.

The giant coffee chain allegedly has a policy of keeping a tap running non-stop at all its 10,000 outlets worldwide, wasting millions of litres a day.

That would provide enough daily water for the entire two million-strong population of drought-hit Namibia or fill an Olympic pool every 83 minutes.

Every Starbucks branch has a cold tap behind the counter providing water for a sink, called a dipper well, used for washing spoons and utensils.

is this the next coolest thing to have on your t-shirts? ---->
b-nostarbucks.gif

starbucks more like starsucks!! hurr hurr

seriously though, Starbucks is not the only one practicing the dipper well, and I really wouldn't trust The Sun much.

Yeah.. Read about it.. I hate those places lah..
CBTL or Starbucks.. Mainly due to the overpriced stuff they have..
Around 600% inflation?

yeah... heard tat there is a new law been laid down for 'water wasting'
fine 50k, jail 6-8mths i think...

theunknown: tats y wen we go starbucks, i feel liek not at home...

ok now ppl lets join me and go back to kopi tiam...
its cheaper u noe the coffees there...
got stout oso... weekends can watch soccer

heh, do we only see them wasting water and not the part bout maintaining hygiene and cleanliness level??

haha, its like paper writing bout car hitting my mother, i dont talk about whether is it the car fault or my mother fault, but i go on to say that the road is too narrow and no streetlight, so dangerous...
icon10.gif

I find it a little weak lah the reason.. The hygiene thingy.. Just hire someone to properly clean those stuff.. Well that's my opinion..
Although it has higher cost, it will keep them out of these kinda news.. Moreover, some of the staff simply have nothing to do at times..

heh, anyway, imho this is an open ended thread that doesnt have much impact on anything else other than us saying what we like and thats all(my favourite analogy... like jerking off to blank wall and feeling satisfied with image of naked bodies in mind while thinking that my hand is the best V in the world)

anyway, can we asked ourself, on knowing this piece of news, what can/will we do to make it better for starbuck, help save water?

Or simply, shout a slogan of piak starbuck, boycott starbuck, start a starbuck thread and after a while letting the thread drop into vast forum threads ocean?

I wonder how many 3rd world countries we can provide electricity for if we all stop surfing the net and only turn on the PC when we really need to.

I wonder how many 3rd world countries can we provide for if we finish all the food on our plates after every meal.

I wonder how much water we can provide for if we were to have shorter baths and less car washes.

I wonder...list goes on, everybody is guilty of something somewhere.