Christian/Catholic rockers come in!

Hee

Guys, don't miss out on Lifehouse & Relient K, 2 other good christian bands.

For people who dig christian rock (with secular lyrics), check me out on msn :) I wrote quite a few originals. Take care all my braders & sistaz in Christ.

Peace be with you :D

guitarman78 said:
i usually go last service .... depends on how my saturday night is .. hehe sorry ah i'm not the guai guai christian guy .... i drink every saturday. Roomful of blues usually.

PM me and maybe can exchange numbers. :)

u go to ROB? wats ur name? i go there too

nak said:
haha i dont like sat services. i dont know but sunday 1st svc is the svc for me, at least it's been that way for 5 years or so. im 17 btw

17 also can go roomful of blues, i brought a 12 yr old kid there b4, jus no alcholic drinks man

Redname: I go on Saturdays nights ... my name is Glenn Fong.

Nak: I am christian, i play guitar, i don't mind metal. Though i dun play metal, but i respect the musicality. I like Rock, Blues and Jazz.

wow

wow.. didnt know there was a christian thread here.. well hmmm how have life been for all of u guys.. ?? nak? gd.. well all i can say is this.. i'be been to the pit shit of life before.. whatever u think of .. i've done.. except sex and drugs la hah .. well.. but all i can say is still this " tho life is bad..God is Good.. " anyway i'm from FCBC.. 17 this year.. anyone here wanna jam togther soon?? :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Praetorian said:
I read somewhere that As I Lay Dying claims to be a Christian Metal Band. ANybody know anything about that?
i read it in the revoler magazine my friend bought. she's like... URGH.

Yeah! I love disciples and jars of clay.

DoubleBlade said:
Then what about a musician who enjoys playing death (since metal is often associated with death) music?

Understand DEATH and you will decide whether to play death or not to play. As for me and my household, we celebrate LIFE and glorify DEATH OF JESUS whose death gives LIFE ETERNAL.

Actually the concept of death was never associated with evil , the grim reaper , devils etc

Death was considered more as a passing phrase in a human's existance. He leaves this world and goes to another world. Yes the bible has stories of devils and demons but as far as I know , those evil beings were never associated directly with death. If you die a good person you go to heaven , if you die a very evil person , you go to hell. If this is the case , then shouldn't be angels be associated with death as well?

I don't know how come death can be associated with evil beings. I guess it's more of a human thing being passed on from generations from generations and sometimes the kinda way human beings react towards associating certain objects/events with the forces of evil can really surprise me.

My mom was clearing my closet a couple of days ago and she found my warcraft 3 battlechest box and then she that said the gory picture (picture of an Orc) brings bad luck and causes a lot of trouble in the household. Being a little rebellious kid I told her that it will not cause any trouble in the household if you would be a little bit more open minded enough. The next thing I knew it , she was at my altar asking Jesus (I'm Catholic) to bless the picture and yeah case closed....

hmmmm .. thought KopiTiam is supposed to allow people to discuss about anything under the sun isn't it? So if you have an opinion, just shoot la.

Birthout: yup we can jam someday .... i like to jam with different people.

WEiht: Roomful is still fun ... music's great ... :D Come join me on Sat lah.

Personally, i have my convictions too .... but i believe everyone has their own opinions and i dun wish to interfere by shovelling down my opinions down their throats. It's VERY IRRITATING!!

Yes, i don't listen to death metal and stuff because i am pro-life. But music is an expresssion ... just like art. Many artists like Van Gogh and Salvador Dali paints pictures that depicts Depression and death. So shall we say that they are satanic?? What is art? It's a language. What is music? It's a language of expression. As human beings, we always have our ups and downs. Gothic art existed because the Goths were living in the dark ages which is depressing. And the darkness portrayed is merely an expression .... it's like trying to tell people that they are sad ... a channel of expression ... just like how you need a shoulder to cry on when you are sad ... people paint and sing sad songs! Anything wrong?!

When you look at an art piece ... it's merely telling you how an artist feels and the story behind the painting. There is no right or wrong bro! Looking at a Van Gogh masterpiece doesn't mean that you have to be petrified like him .... just as the same way listening to a Megadeth song doesn't mean you have to be violent as they are.

Although i dun deny the effect the music has on people. Hence i don't really listen to some black metal bands like Carcass. Some metal bands write lyrics merely for the sake of writing ... or for the sake of mocking the church ... which is totally childish and nonsensical. I will never endorse these as a piece of art!!

You might be surprised that some Metallica an megadeth songs can be pretty well written. It's merely an expression of how sad or how angry they might be.

If that's the case, then there really isn't a difference whether it's Metal or Pop or Blues or Jazz. Alanis morisette writes angry songs too? She had an "F" word on her first album. So does Joan Obsbourne ... Green day advocates sex .... Kylie Minougue is like a sex symbol .... check out RnB artists ... Ciara, Nelly, Usher, Beyonce, etc ... almost every song and every MTV they make are almost erotic. But if you look deeply, there is a message behind and it's not about sex all the time.

Don't just brisk the surface and draw a conclusion when you don't know the whole story. When i hear people who listen to stuff i don't like ... i don't go like "I don't like the stuff you listen to because of @#$%^&*(*&^%$#@#$%^&*(*&^%$$% reasons." Be a little more open ... a little more reception and learn ! Life doesn't just revolve around you.[/b]

HeartRockSingapore said:
Understand DEATH and you will decide whether to play death or not to play. As for me and my household, we celebrate LIFE and glorify DEATH OF JESUS whose death gives LIFE ETERNAL.
to bro double blade, heres something i posted earlier on in this thread, it probably got drowned out...
"My stand is, those black metal or whatever rotten/die/death whatever metal isn't what we should condone, cos some of them take an obvious stand of giving glory to satan, or to death. Death itself was a curse to mankind, that was what satan wanted to acheive. The original plan of God was never for man to die, man only needed to face death after his downfall. So, im not for those music as well, nor anything that takes our focus off Jesus, and to death or satan."

Hmm

I'm in the adult worship team & they alway either play blues or jazz...

It is quite an eye opener for me . . .