Need help on choice of Noise Suppression pedals

Leong

Hi Guys,

I'm currently new to this so would need input from you guys so I can learn better and have a better understanding on such a subject. I'm deciding between different noise suppression pedals but can't seem to decide which would be more suitable for my set-up.

Here are my choices for the Noise Suppression pedals:
1) MXR M-135 Smart Gate
2) MXR M-195 Noise Clamp
3) Electro Harmonix Hum Debugger

Here is my setup:

Using a Sterling Silo 30(Guitar) --> Vox Big Ben Overdrive --> ProCo RAT 2 Distortion --> Boss FRV-1 Fender Reverb --> Boss DD-7 with Boss FS-5U Footswitch --> Usually a tube amp(Location Dependent)

I'm currently planning to get a JHS Mini Foot Fuzz and an MXR Phase 90 for additional pedals in the future

I play songs that are usually from Switchfoot, FOB and Foo Fighters - Just to give you a general feel or understanding on where my gain settings would usually be at for my setup. I'm hardly a metal person.

Would wish to hear the advices from you guys on which pedals would be suitable and even versatile for me to play on both high, medium and low gain settings. I usually straddle between low and even medium gain settings when I play different songs, but it would be good if I can cover high gain settings too! I would not mind other recommendations of Noise Suppression pedals also, so long as I receive input from you, I appreciate it!

Thanks! :D

Hey there,

I hope you don't mind if I use the terms "noise gate" and "noise suppression" interchangeably. Noise in guitar rigs is always a tricky thing to get around because of the multiplicity of contributing factors. In my experience, the two sources of noise that are within your control are the guitar and the pedals used.