warmoth

you can try the POT in guitar77. think they accept custom order also. can give them a call.

custom guitars are never cheap. quality stuffs come with a price.

but...do you really need to custom make?

theres really none out there that suits your need and taste?

think about it first..i used to gas over custom..but got enlightenments form fellow softies :)

I've had good experiences from Warmoth but I've heard that US Custom Guitars is a lot better in terms of their fret and neck work. I can't really compare for sure but like I said I've had good experiences with Warmoth (built a couple of guitars off them before).

To add on to what PinkSpId3r said, you should only go for a custom if you know exactly what you want in your guitar, from the wood combinations to the measurements of the neck. Otherwise, there's a big danger of ending up with something that you won't like at all, and be a couple thousand bucks poorer in the process. Besides, you won't know exactly what it'll sound like until it's put together and finished.

hahahaha. i think u should stay off custom guitars totally, cos if ure one to gripe about cost, cutting corners would mean that u might end up with something u dont want. oh wells just my2 cents.

www.usacustomguitars.com - great stuff but they are a little slow, so u can save. Heh.

My USACG neck came in today. Its stellar - but what do I know? Gotta let Malcolm look at it and do a proper setup.

Has G77's POT allow for neck customisation? Coz, the last time, I don't recall they do - what's the point of a custom if you can't specify neck dimensions?!

most importantly...

whats the point of customisation when you don't even know the dimensions... :wink:

oh edder bro, you are soo wrong man. I remember i went to this shop, and told them i wanted to do a custom and i had all specs ready.

Upon hearing me listing out the neck dimensions and requirements, the boss just tell me that no one specs the neck "so detail one". Just tell him what guitar am i mimicking and the neck should be around the same, he probably didn't figure that it was really my specification and continue to "smoke" me and insinuated that i didn't look rich and wasn't worth his time.

Oh wait, which shop does custom guitars ah? :roll:

:lol:

Oh well!

So much for "customisation".

If a newbie wants to custom something, he wouldn't know specs, fine... but usually when one is willing to spend the $ on a custom job - he knows. Or least he is willing to give his best ideals and work on it should it not turn out so fine.

bro edo bro... i feel your pain.

now I have a bit of $$$ to spend but can't afford a Veillette 12 string baritone.

Dl'ed the usacustom neck specs sheet and wow... I can actually do a baritone scale 12 string. Sibeh happy.

Emailed Tommy and got a reply... sorry no can do. Tiuuuu....

Now waiting for an answer if I'm willing to pay more $$$. Can do?

Sian ah....

warmoth - have bought / made several bodies & neck - good stuff - even the offer items...

USACG - I've seen their site ... looks impressive but never tried - mite wanna order soon to see their quality..I'm especially interested in their "Super Jumbo- Railroad tracks" frets...

current web specials have VERY tasty bodies and necks.... too bad they're not suitable for my project.

Hahaha.. there is a maple neck with pau ferro board on web specials necks... it was supposed to be mine. USACG forgot to cut the platform for the locking nut.. its going @ US100 LESS than what its spec-ed for.

If anyone wanna buy that, can pm me, I can describe my specs to you in greater detail.

bro edder bro, i dare say they're more dodgy than we can imagine. In any case, if there wasn't such a service i didn't think there should be any discrimination on younger players owning quality gear....more so if it's their own hard-earned money.

As so, even my Suhr pickups order is gonna go the states way rather than going local. Support my ..|.. when i'm not getting any support :roll:

Its also quite... amusing? That when trying out the "custom" guitars, I was wondering - Why SOOOO heavy?

Reply? Better tone.

8O

This would be a SWELL project.

$$$ ohhh $$$$ ohhh priorities...

neck4f.jpg

neck4b.jpg

Headstock - US-1
Woods - Pau Ferro/Pau Ferro
Scale Length - 28-5/8" conversion
Nut Width - 1-11/16"
Frets - 24, 6150
Contour - The '63, 0.830"
FB Radius - 12"
Headstock Ream - Schaller/Sperzel
FD/SD - /White
Truss Rod Adjust - Top
Exotic Pau Ferro 28-5/8" scale Baritone conversion neck
$250.00

body9f.jpg

body9b.jpg

Style : T Hollow Rout : Rear
Backing Wood : 1 pc Quilt Maple Jack : 7/8"
Top Wood : Figured Redwood Controls :
Bridge : Standard T Weight : 3lb 8oz
Pickups (N-M-B) : T Neck--T Bridge Color :

Hollow T body with Redwood Top and 1 piece Quilt Maple Back
$279.00

Ok this is a warmoth thread right... damn... :twisted:

Scale Length - 28-5/8" conversion

Edder, u like to detune huh? Drop E chug!!!!!

Eh, pau ferro is reallly nice leh. Like rosewood but with closed grain.. very nice.

The grain is killa!

1 pc Quilt Maple Jack

8O

Actually the body is going for a ridiculous price... ordering a 1 piece body costs a lot more...