to do simple recording at home

snuffleupagus

Hi guys,

This may sound really irritating,but I really have no clue as to what to get to do simple recording at home.

I play the guitars, bass and drums, and I have them all at home.However my drumset is the Yamaha DTX kind, meaning, digital.

My budget is anything as long as its simple and good, and I would not mind recording thru headphones, so basically soundproofing can be ignored.

My PC is a P4, 3 GHZ, and 160GB , and I have no idea whether I should get an additional or better soundcard or what-not.

Basically, I'll need to buy a good software, and some kinda recording input thingie, which I have no clue as in whats good in the market now.

I sing too, so I may need advise on standard mics, or that behringer thing that cost 60 bucks which I ve read about here.

I'm thinking of getting the POD XTLIVE or POD 2.0 to help in this recording set-up.

But basically, Im a newbie to all this new technology, I only know how to use n-trak since 1998,

So please help me.

minimum budget SGD 100, Maximum budget SGD 3,000.(but better if not so expensive lah)

Thanks guys , would really appreciate your help. :cry: :cry:

snuffleupagus, you have a powerful computer system. you just need the hardware and software to make it work nicely.

there are 2 things you will need to consider here.

1. choice of hardware
this will depends on the number of inputs and the kind of inputs you need. since you are doing recording mainly for yourself and not a live band, would you be contended with being able to record 1 instrument at 1 time?

the cost of these audio interface depends largely on the number of inputs it has and the quality of it.

at the higher side of your budget, you can consider a Digidesign Digi 002 Rack http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Digi002R/
this come complete with the hardware and software. just plug in and you are ready to go.